We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house but at luxury hotel prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 114 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Lovely guest house but at luxury hotel prices. While can appreciate the basis for the rave reviews for this establishment, we feel that the reviews do not distinguish between the location (which is superb, but which is shared by a range of other similar guest houses) and the 'hotel'. If you are used to top end hotels and real boutique hotels in tourist locations with similar or lower prices (150 euros per night in early april when many gorges, boat trips are not yet open for the season) and your expectations may well be higher than this smallish and very charming guest house can meet. Only one actual criticism, other than the orice: Service was very friendly and willing but often we returned mid-afternoon to rooms not yet cleaned or in the process of cleaning. As for the rooms the one with the largish terrace is worth having.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathrynBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

You couldn't ask for a better view,nicer rooms or more amiable service. If you want your own private balcony room 4 doesnt have one, though you can use the main one. That didn't detract from our stay though and as for the breakfasts,they're second to none. Perfection.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The other reviewers do not exaggerate when they say how beautiful this hotel is -- it is the perfect size for a boutique and is exceptionally well-done. The hotel was been renovated beautifully and they have really thought about every modern convenience you would like -- from satellite television (which I did not watch) to wireless to air conditioning. I have not seen a lot of description about the service, so, I am going to talk about that here.

I arrived after getting lost on my way from the bus station (i.e., I did not want to drive from Heraklion) and trundling through town with my suitcase rolling behind me. The hotel does overlook the Venetian Harbor, but, the entrance is in the warren of narrow streets back behind. Adding to the difficulty in finding it, at least for me, was that the narrow streets were being torn up and replaced, so it was hard to believe that the hotel was down a dirt path (but, it was).

I showed up around 1PM, hungry, tired and dirty and feeling quite put out. But, they put me right into my room and offered to make me tea or coffee after I got myself settled a bit. I came out to the main room for the coffee and found that the coffee was accompanied by cookies and cake and wonderful fruit salad. This was so welcome, and I sat right at the windows and looked down at the harbor and felt much more human almost instantly. That kind of service and attention was evident throughout my stay. I will dream about my time there and will absolutely go and stay there again, should I ever return to Chania.

BTW -- I rated the sleep quality as "very good" because there was a rooster that crowed incessantly in the 7AM hour. Not much they can do about that, I realize, but all the same.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimpleScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

beautiful rooms. Great service. Perfect location on the old venetian port. Our room had a small roof terrace with table and chairs overlooking the port. Rooms are exquiisitely restored. No cars are allowed in the old town. Park at the north west corner of the old town near the maritime museum and walk from there.

Room Tip: we had the double bed room upstairs
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We LOVED staying in Chania. This is a well overdue review. We had the room that had two stories and opened up into a balcony that looks over the bay. It was beautiful sitting there every night listening to music, watching tourists walk by and just enjoying the ocean air. Antonia was helpful in planning some activities we did there and also gave us a great greek breakfast every morning. Nikolas, the owner, was also very hospitable, always giving us coffees and icecream whenever he was around. It truly felt like we were a guest in their home. Could not recommend this place any more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Small Staff – Fantastic Service
Great rooms – each decorated in a different style
Fantastic antique furniture in each room
Quiet - Walk to everything
Special requirements honored – (early breakfast)
Lobby made me feel like I was at home
I will stay again – I recommend it

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite has a large fantastic, private balcony
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Maria, that welcomed us, is a delight. Nothing a problem and although there was a lot of road reconstruction outside it didn't spoil our trip at all. Breakfast could have fed a hungry family of 4 all day and the views were wonderful. Location just a short stroll from shops, cafes and restaurants. We stayed in the suite upstairs, the bed was huge and very very comfortable and the balcony view beautiful. I am already planning a trip back in the spring.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
869 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Leone Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Address: 18 1st Side Street Theotokopoulou | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: £71 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Leone Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Casa Leone" Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Hania. The entrance to the hotel is from number 18 Theotokopoulou the first side street you meet. The building, erected 600 years ago, has been restored in order to regain its original Venetian look with impressive results. The romantic atmosphere which prevails everywhere transports you far back in time. The Casa Leone Hotel is available the whole year. The rooms, double, triple and suites, are comfortable and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Leone Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Leone Hotel Chania Town
Casa Leone Chania
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing