We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and full of luxurious touches!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 113 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and full of luxurious touches!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I've never written a Trip Advisor review before (I blame post-holiday laziness!) but felt so compelled to recommend Casa Leone after our stay there that I had to!
I travelled to Crete with my boyfriend and stayed in Chania for three nights at the beginning of our trip - we knew we wanted to stay near the old venetian harbour area, but didn't quite realise just how good the location of Casa Leone was - the harbour itself is relatively small but the hotel itself is located at the west end of the harbour, which is ideal as there is a smaller amount of 'tourist traffic' outside, meaning it's a little quieter and perfect for panoramic views of the harbour that you wouldn't necessary have if you stayed in the middle of it.
We were greeted by a gentleman who didn't speak particularly great English - not a problem though - he showed us to our room no problem! - and were greeted with the most beautifully decorated room, in an old venetian style. Everything was spotless and the welcome pack with two bottles of wine was a lovely touch. We even had some towel art in the shape of a swan on our bed! The room has a small balcony overlooking the harbour, which we used most nights for a drink and people watching! It was really relaxing.

To address a couple of issues which some reviewers have mentioned, I would say the following:
- Most of the rooms are off the main reception area, which is also where breakfast is served. Whilst some reviewers have said there was noise coming from this main area, I personally didn't hear anything. The bedroom doors are large and heavy, and unless you are an exceptionally light sleeper, it won't be a problem. Also, as the hotel is a boutique hotel, there are never many guests there anyway, so there is never much noise being made at any one time!

- The bathrooms are a little small, but pristinely clean and for me was never a problem. The shower was powerful too, which is a huge plus.

Some particular highlights of Casa Leone:

- Antonia and her team were always so warm and friendly - be it in the morning at breakfast, when service always came with a smile, or the offer of carrying our suitcase down the steps at the end of our stay. They even gave us a parting gift of Cretan olive oil soap, which was really touching!

- Breakfast is delicious - it always included a pot of tea or coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh bread, fresh fruit, INCREDIBLE Greek yoghurt (!) and a Greek speciality, which changed each day (a Cretan cheese pie for example, or a selection of cheeses). All this whilst looking out over the stunning view of the harbour with the blue water twinkling in the morning sun.

- The hotel itself is so full of charm and character, whilst at the same time being so clean and fresh feeling. It was so wonderful to come back each day, when the bedroom had been freshly tidied and the bed made, to then be able to have a drink on the balcony and watch the world of the old harbour go by.

- One evening, my boyfriend and I fancied an iced coffee at the hotel, and given there's a sort of small bar area there, asked the lady in the hotel (I feel terrible as we didn't catch her name) if she would be able to serve one, which she did gladly. When we gave her the money to pay she looked shocked and insisted it was free of charge - it was a really generous touch. Whilst we were enjoying the coffee on the main balcony which is attached to the main dining/reception area, she brought over two bowls of ice cream for us too! We were hugely touched by this gesture.

- Antonia has a huge knowledge of everything about Crete, and helped us one morning to organise a trip to a national park in the south of the island, even insisting on printing out the ferry times to help us. She also called our car hire company with a query on our behalf.

At every stage the team at Casa Leone went the extra mile to help us settle in and enjoy our stay, not only at the hotel itself but in Crete in general. I was so touched by the many generous things they did to help us, and wouldn't hesitate in recommending the hotel to anyone who is planning a trip to Chania!

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for a room with a balcony, though if you don't you can still of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chsrlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    58
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
431
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

With beautiful views over Hania harbour and a lovely old Venetian feel, this is certainly a pretty and well located hotel. Our room was beautiful, although it had only a high window looking onto a wall. There are three major problems: firstly, four of the bedrooms are off of the main dining/reception room, and so you can hear everything that goes on.there. There was also noise from the street, and I could hear whoever was above me stomping around from a very early time. So overall my sleep quality was pretty poor. Secondly, this hotel is totally unattended before 8am and after about 6pm (although there was a scruffily dressed man watching football in the reception/breakfast room who may have been a guard?! He wasn't there in the morning though). So if you want advice or help, there's no one to give it. Consequently there's also no bar. Last problem: breakfast isn't served until 8.30am, so if you like to get out early or want to walk the Samaria gorge (as we did, it's great!), youj'll go hungry. This should have been a really great hotel, but those things really spoiled the experience for me.

Room Tip: We had room 4 - avoid it. It's pretty but has no view, is off the breakfast/reception room so is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lpitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed at Casa Leone for 3 nights with a friend and had a wonderful experience. The room was just beautiful! Breakfast was delicious and generous and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was perfect! The hotel has a very homely feel about it, very calm and an amazing view of the harbour from the breakfast room. The entrance of the hotel is very charming with a lovely little courtyard. I cannot fault this hotel. It was simply great!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey_Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

this lovely accomodation, is set a few levels up from the end of the Old Harbour in Chania town. It feels like you are staying in someones lovely, serene home rather than staying in a place with a "hotel feel". Our room was very, very spacious and absolutely spotless with a cute courtyard view. The bed was hard but somehow, very comfortable ! I agree with other reviewers that the bathrooms are very small - however its not a big issue in the grand scheme of things ! Antonia is a fabulous woman, she is very knowledgable and very helpful. I will most definitely return to this little haven. Im still dreaming of the little, sunny venetian balcony with the fabulous harbour views !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We can't say enough positive things about Casa Leone hotel. From the moment we arrived the owners and staff where warm and inviting. We had the honeymoon room for 8 nights which we cannot fault, absolutely perfect. We picked this room for its view, it has it's own private terrace which overlooks the old port of Chania. Breakfast every morning was a delight and always slightly different. This hotel is a must stay.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite for the view from your own private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I came to Crete to spend two days during my honeymoon. Our travel agency booked this hotel for us. When we tried to call ahead of time to ask for suggestions and try to book activities in advance the front desk was not very helpful because some people that works at the hotel does not speak very good English. However, when we arrived at the hotel they were very welcoming. The staff is super friendly and even without speaking much English they try to help. There is one of their employees that speaks perfect English and she works from 8:30 am to 3 pm so if you have any question about anything ask her. She was very helpful and friendly. One word of advice if you decide to rent a car do not ask the hotel to reserve it for you or don't use the company they recommend. They charge almost double of the price - just go to out to the town like 5-10 min walk and find plenty of rental car companies with lower rates. Overall, the hotel is clean, in a great location. The only negative was that the shower was very tiny.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly_D20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I can't say enough positive things about Casa Leone. The villa is stunning and the view from the common area and the rooms with a harbor view is unbelievable. Breakfast is wonderful and Antonia has an encyclopedic knowledge of every road and attraction on the island and is a wealth of information. The hospitality was warm; this is everything a small hotel should be. We would never stay anywhere else in Chania.

Room Tip: Room 2 was fabulous: loft style was nice and unique and the terrace with a harbor view was incredibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 110 in Chania Town
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
#1 of 113 in Chania Town
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Leone Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Address: 18 1st Side Street Theotokopoulou | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Leone Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Casa Leone" Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Hania. The entrance to the hotel is from number 18 Theotokopoulou the first side street you meet. The building, erected 600 years ago, has been restored in order to regain its original Venetian look with impressive results. The romantic atmosphere which prevails everywhere transports you far back in time. The Casa Leone Hotel is available the whole year. The rooms, double, triple and suites, are comfortable and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Leone Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Leone Hotel Chania Town
Casa Leone Chania
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing