We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay at Casa Leone on a weekend night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2008

We stayed at this hotel because of the glowing reviews. How NO ONE mentioned the fact that you will not sleep on any Friday or Saturday night astounds me. The location, staff, rooms as everyone states are charming. However, Friday and Saturday night on Chania Harbor are rocking. The bar directly underneath the hotel rooms starts the music at 11p.m. and if lucky ends at 4 a.m. Our bed was actually vibrating from the bass and the evening ended with Born to Be Wild accompanied by motorcycles revving directly beneath our window. Just thought someone ought to tell the whole story since I was told this occurs every weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank BigTrip20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2008

Two tips if you decide to go to Crete: go in October or November (when we went although many places are closed then) to avoid the hordes of tourists. Visit Chania and stay at the Casa Leone hotel. Nikos, the owner, put his heart and soul into the creation of this 5 room boutique hotel looking over the old harbour in Chania. It is beautifully decorated and has many personal touches. Antonia, the charming hostess who serves breakfast in the bright airy lobby, can help you with travel tips. Hope that Lola the kitten, who gives Antonia competition on the charm front is still there when you go!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C0H0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

If you are looking for something out of the ordinary, this is the place. It was built over 600 years ago but it's not lacking any modern amenities. It has great balconies overlooking the harbour with great views of the entire harbour. The staff is great. On our last day there, we had an early flight out. They arranged for a cab to meet us to get us to the airport and then, because we wouldn't be there for breakfast, they prepared a meal for us and left it in the fridge in the room. They looked after us in every way.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Teslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

We just came back from our second honeymoon. We went to Greece and one of the highlights was this wonderful hotel Casa Leone in Chania, Crete. We arrived at night and Nikos (the owner) received us with entusiasthm and warmth. We booked the honeymoon suite in the first level of this small hotel. The room was nicely decorated and had a terrace with a wonderful view of the old harbor and pharos. It had a complintary bottle of wine and water and the towels were decorated like swans.
Antonia prepared us the most delicious breakfast the next morning, including omelette, coffee, juice, breads, cake, greek yogurt and much more. She gave us advice as what to do during the day and how to get there providing us with maps and even helping us to rent a car. We spent a wonderful day in a white and pink sand beach (Elofonisi) which we'll never forget. We really liked the service and we fully recommend this place for couples who want to have a romantic time in Crete.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gabydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Casa Leone is a fabulous hotel, wonderful situation overlooking the venetian harbour. Beautifully furnished bedrooms, welcome gift basket of wine and chocs! great breakfasts served by the lovely Antonia who looked after us so well! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank dugnsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

My stay at Casa Leone was almost like a visit to the home of an old friend. Located in a historic Venetian home directly on the port, the hotel has been lovingly restored and furnished with tasteful antiques and natural fabrics. Special touches like antique maritime prints and old photos of the hotel add to the comfort and charm. The manager and hostess Antonia goes the extra mile to ensure her guest's stay is as pleasant as possible. Each morning a hot and tasty breakfast is served with delicious fruit juice and piping hot coffee by Antonia herself - always with a genuine and cheerful smile. Following breakfast, she will arrange day tours, car rental, and inquire about your personal interests so that your time spent at Casa Leone is both unique and memorable. But most importantly, you are treated with courtesy and trust, with freedom to come and go at your leisure. Guests are provided with keys to the courtyard gate and front door at their request, so they are free to visit nearby villages or simply pass the time with a beer or glass of wine at one of the many seaside cafes until the wee hours. Casa Leone awaits with loving arms.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Italicizeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at Casa Leone from the 17th to 24th October 2008 and enjoyed our stay immensely. The hotel is on the upper floors of a Venetian style building overlooking the old harbour at Chania. We booked the “Private “ room which has its own patio style balcony (complete with table and chairs) overlooking the harbour. The room was spotlessly clean and furnished with period style furniture and fitting. The bathroom is compact with shower, sink and toilet. Towels and sheets were changed every other day. All the rooms are located off a central reception/dining area which is used for breakfast . There is a nice little balcony here also with a view over the harbour. Antonia and her staff make all guests feel welcome and serve an imaginative breakfast every morning with greek yoghurt, eggs and fruit and much more. The hotel entrance is at the back of the building tucked away off the narrow streets of the old town so make sure that you get a map from the hotel. The hotel has great charm and is perfect for a relaxing break and as a base for the West Crete area. I am sure that we will be back again soon. Once again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Kartoffelgeliebter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Leone Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Address: 18 1st Side Street Theotokopoulou | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: £70 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Leone Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Casa Leone" Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Hania. The entrance to the hotel is from number 18 Theotokopoulou the first side street you meet. The building, erected 600 years ago, has been restored in order to regain its original Venetian look with impressive results. The romantic atmosphere which prevails everywhere transports you far back in time. The Casa Leone Hotel is available the whole year. The rooms, double, triple and suites, are comfortable and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Leone Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Leone Hotel Chania Town
Casa Leone Chania
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing