We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 91 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

This is the best boutiqe hotel. the location is most romantic, the rooms are spacious and pretty with beauty in the small details. Breakfast is tasty and fresh, and Antonia is the perfect hostess and friend. A great little treasure that will make your trip memorable. Go to Casa Leone.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuyTlv_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    55
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
421
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The hotel occupies a beautifully restored Venetian building right on the old harbour. The location was ideal for us as we did not bother hiring a car for our short stay in Crete and everything we needed was accessible on foot. The shops and restaurants of the picturesque old town are all close and the beach at Nea Hora is a 10 minute walk away. We stayed in the Oval Room which was clean, comfortable and had a fantastic view of the Venetian Harbour. The only downside was some noise from motorbikes but this should not be an issue in the summer months as the roads in the old town are closed to traffic at this time.

The highlight of our stay in the hotel were the delicious breakfasts prepared by the friendly Antonia who was able to give us some excellent advice on restaurants and places to visit. We were made to feel welcome and would certainly recommend this hotel to couples looking for a relaxing get-away.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastend_paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2009

Casa Leone was an exquisite introduction to Crete. Sitting at the entrance to Chania's old Venetian harbor, it provides a magnificent view of today's life and yesterday's waterfront architecture. Picturesque historic buildings spill down the opposite side of the harbor, and looking either direction from our bedroom balcony we saw the buildings of Chania's waterfront gracefully array like elegant great great great aunts posing for our pictures. This boutique hotel has been masterfully refurbished from an historic Venetian mansion into a comfortable, clean and modern facility. An overlay of warmth and comfort greeted us as we walked in the door, and we immediately felt at home. The proprietor, Nicholas, was genial and attentive to all our questions and needs. He went out of his way to make us feel like we belonged there and were honored guests. We arrived late evening, and needed to find a pharmacy. It was not enough to just tell us how to find it, he took us on a personal tour of the confusing maze of old town’s cobbled streets, while attentively showing us the way to the pharmacy. He pointed out places to eat and historic landmarks. Our room was everything we dreamed of. Cozy, immaculately clean, comfortable and plush bedding all conspired to make us feel like sybarites. Antique furnishings made us feel like we had finally found historic Greece. The next morning, like a magician, Nicholas pulled a sumptuous and tasty breakfast from his minuscule bar and treated us to a fortifying meal which readied us for the coming day’s adventures. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank numbercruncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

A beautiful Hotel right on the old harbor, with fantastic, individual rooms, run by friendly people. This is a small boutique hotel in a 600 year old villa, so while it is very well appointed and furnished, don't expect modern style room with a jacuzzi and trouser press. The Junior suite rooms with the bed above the suite on a splitt level mezzanine floor are great, and the honeymoon room has a very big terrace on the harbour. This hotel only has five rooms, all different, so try to get one of the 3 with a harbour view, although there is a balcony on the harbour in the lobby that you can use too. We didn't get any bottles of wine or towels folded like swans, but went in January when the place was empty and Antonia wasn't there, so that might explain it. Loved the place anyway. The breakfast is good and very large too! Excellent value for money. There is a free laptop you can use in the lobby for internet as well.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_Bestione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2008

Antonia, if you are reading this, Penny and I apologize for waiting so late to write this review.....but we did promise to write something if we felt that Casa Leone was a remarkable experience......and since I'm writing you can come to your own conclusions.....so here we go.

Before choosing a hotel, like many others, we went by the reviews in Trip Advisor and certainly had no regrets. I could get into all of the details but if you read the string of reviews, you could get that info there. I have to say that Casa Leone has everything- nice rooms (small bathrooms- but that's typical- I put this in here for people who may not know this), character (c'mon...15th century renovated hotel), a fantastic hotel hostess, internet access via a laptop set up in the main entrance way, great breakfasts, and execellent hospitality. We spent a few days in one of the rooms facing the water, and then the last two days were spent in the honeymoon suite with the large terrace. Just lovely! Antonia made us feel right at home...you know when you can tell when someone is in a job that they love? Well Antonia is the perfect fit and is so friendly and helpful and courteous and smiley and warm and I hope never leaves Casa Leone because she certainly was a big part of the allure and experience of Casa Leone! Nikos (the owner) was also very nice.....on our last day he booked a cab for us and while we were waiting for the cab (it didn't come for a while) he saw us while riding his motorcycle and was surprised a cab hadn't picked us up yet. He then stopped, called them again to check up on the delay, and waited until he made sure our cab arrived. His English was limited which made him a little shy...but his actions spoke louder than any words he could say at the time....my wife and I appreciated that very much. One of the housekeepers that was there during our stay (I can't remember her name) was also very sweet! On our last day she took on e of our luggage cases and led us to the place where we were to wait for our taxi (3 minute walk). She then gave us a hug (or maybe we hugged her) and we thanked her. It wasn't like we couldn't handle our luggage...but it was the fact that she made that extra effort to do what she did. You know what I mean? Again, actions speak louder than words...and we were quite moved. We appreciate the little things and certainly were appreciative of her hospitality and consideration.

So yes I'd highly recommend going (especially when we went- beginning of June before the crazy tourist season). Here's something to consider: DON'T come in with such high expectations.....it can be difficult to meet the ever increasing bar that is being set so high by all of us who have been there and sometimes one may unrealistically expect ultra supreme this and that.......and potentially RUIN it for themselves by being this way....just expect that you will be treated well and appreciate the little things and the fact that you are blessed enough to be one of the fortunate few to experience Casa Leone and Chania! We certainly are thankful and grateful for such a wondeful experience! Cheers from Calgary, AB Canada!!! :-) Mark and Penny

  • Liked — Hospitality, location, the character, Antonia
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything...
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MarkieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

We stayed at this hotel because of the glowing reviews. How NO ONE mentioned the fact that you will not sleep on any Friday or Saturday night astounds me. The location, staff, rooms as everyone states are charming. However, Friday and Saturday night on Chania Harbor are rocking. The bar directly underneath the hotel rooms starts the music at 11p.m. and if lucky ends at 4 a.m. Our bed was actually vibrating from the bass and the evening ended with Born to Be Wild accompanied by motorcycles revving directly beneath our window. Just thought someone ought to tell the whole story since I was told this occurs every weekend.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Weekend Night Noise Level
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank BigTrip20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naramata British Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2008

Two tips if you decide to go to Crete: go in October or November (when we went although many places are closed then) to avoid the hordes of tourists. Visit Chania and stay at the Casa Leone hotel. Nikos, the owner, put his heart and soul into the creation of this 5 room boutique hotel looking over the old harbour in Chania. It is beautifully decorated and has many personal touches. Antonia, the charming hostess who serves breakfast in the bright airy lobby, can help you with travel tips. Hope that Lola the kitten, who gives Antonia competition on the charm front is still there when you go!

  • Liked — location and ambience
  • Disliked — the tiny bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C0H0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#22 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Leone Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Address: 18 1st Side Street Theotokopoulou | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Leone Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Casa Leone" Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Hania. The entrance to the hotel is from number 18 Theotokopoulou the first side street you meet. The building, erected 600 years ago, has been restored in order to regain its original Venetian look with impressive results. The romantic atmosphere which prevails everywhere transports you far back in time. The Casa Leone Hotel is available the whole year. The rooms, double, triple and suites, are comfortable and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Leone Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Leone Hotel Chania Town
Casa Leone Chania
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing