We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and wonderful location”
Review of Danaos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Danaos Hotel
Ranked #44 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We travelled from Stalis (via Heraklion) to the beautiful Chania (2 1/2 hours bus journey from Heraklion). This hotel is a 15 min walk from the bus station, very easy to find, past the harbour and continue on to the beach. Chania is such a beautiful spot. Our room was lovely, very clean, beautiful sea view, free wifi and air conditioning in each room. The staff were wonderful very helpful and the breakfast was great which you can also take outside for the beach view. Nice pace of life for anyone looking to escape the typical touist traps. A quiet hotel in a fantastic location. A tip: theres a great open market Thursday morning just near the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Nice small hotel close to the beach and Chania town centre.Perfect location to suits all your needs .If you want to to have a nice relaxing day on the beach or to explore Chania old harbour. Rooms get cleaned regurarly and towels are changed every day or two .
I enjoyed my stay here-hope you will too.

Room Tip: Defenitly choose a room with sea view-worth every penny .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sremac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This hotel is a perfect one for a stay in Chania, it's directly to the sea and only a 10-15 minute walk to the center. It has free airconditioning and TV which is a big plus. The personell is also very hospitable and helps you whenever you need it, their English isn't where it should be though. Rooms get cleaned everyday although the floor could be wiped off better. Towels every two days like it should. The only downside is that some things were broken, for instance our shower was leaking and some lamps didn't work. But this is Greece so it didn't bother me that much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aranka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I had a very pleasant stay here in an area of Chania called Nea Chora. be it only for 3 nights. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Breakfast/Buffet was good, Rooms cleaned everyday, Beach just across the road. Plenty of Restraunts, cafes close by. Only 15 minute walk to the old harbour or new town. I will definitly be coming back here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Danaos Hotel is a little gem on the beach approx 2km from the centre of Hania.

We stayed in a Seaview Room which was quite standard, and had a balcony overlooking the beach across the road... Bliss! Breakfast is included and is in an area downstairs - or choose to eat on the patio overlooking the beach. A small restaurant is at the front. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Chania is a lovely 2km stroll along the beach and headland - there are generally lots of people around even late at night, so as two single ladies travelling together, we felt safe walking late into the night.

The Danaos lies on a little stretch of beach with a row of seafood restaurants to choose from. The beach is a lovely place to relax, and you can also hire paddle skis to travel out to the islands off shore. The hotel has a tour desk with a lot of options to choose from.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Seaview room - they're great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perthyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

we are just back from a week staying at this hotel and cannot praise it enough. Staff are great and very helpful. Literally across the road from a clean beach with beds to hire (only 5 euros a day for 2 beds and an umbrella). Rooms are cleaned every day, small bathroom - shower (with curtain), sink and toilet, towels changed regularly. Book a room with a seaview. Good breakfast buffet (boiled eggs, ham, cheese, yoghurt, cereal, bread, jams) with nice coffee too. Great tavernas just along the street with seaviews. A short walk into Chania town (about 15mins).
We were planning to stay near the old harbour but are SO glad we booked this hotel instead!

Room Tip: Book a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bertiewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Frini Hotel
Frini Hotel
#60 of 111 in Chania Town
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#82 of 111 in Chania Town
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ideon Hotel
Ideon Hotel
#52 of 111 in Chania Town
99 reviews
1.6 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danaos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danaos Hotel

Address: Akti Papanikoli Str. 23 | Nea Chora beach, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £38 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Danaos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Danaos offers a friendly and relaxed base in the heart of Chania, just a short walk from Chania's Venetian harbour and right next to the beautiful sandy beach of Nea Chora. There are various room sizes available, to suit the needs of solos, couples and groups or families. 31 Of the rooms have a spacious balcony with views of Chania Town or the Cretan Sea. Guest can enjoy a good start to the day with a continental breakfast in Danaos' charming breakfast room. The owners of Danaos are available for any requests or sightseeing tips needed and will also arrange car or bike rentals. Many restaurants and taverns can be found in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Danaos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danaos Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing