We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel, good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danaos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Danaos Hotel
Ranked #38 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Basic hotel, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

In September/October 2012 my wife and I spent 2 weeks at this hotel. Its location is pretty ideal, right on the Nea Chora beach, in fact so close that you can surf on the hotel's WiFi while you are basking in the sun. Very good.
The hotel istelf is very basic. The rooms have shower and toilet, a bed or two, a couple of wooden chairs and little table. Luckily we had booked a room with a balcony. It was tiny, but a fine place to enjoy the view of the beach. The room itself, however, is hardly more than a place to sleep, and there is really no other place to lounge inside the hotel, apart from a sofa and a couple of chairs in the reception area. In addition there are some tables and chairs on the patio in front of the hotel. Here you can enjoy tea, coffee and other drinks at a good price and at almost all hours. We often preferred to have our breakfast there.
Breakfast was the only meal that was served during our stay there. Every day it was exactly the same, only the bread might be slightly different sometimes. Finding brown bread made from whole grain is a great plus in our opinion, and so are Greek yoghurt ande honey. Otherwise breakfast was typically "continental"; very basic food, but all you really need (see photos). The woman who was in charge of breakfast, was very kind and helpful. The rest of the staff were just normally polite and OK people.
Cleaning of common areas as well as our room was of good hotel standard.

In short: Situated virtually on the beach with central Chania within walking distance, this is a good place to stay, if you stay out and the weather is good. If you are looking for a place to enjoy being at a hotel, you should look elsewhere. That's what we'll do, being 60+ and expecting quite a bit more of a hotel. For those who go for this hotel, it might be and idea to bring a portable smoke alarm. At least we could not see any such thing anywhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ove Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    74
    28
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
87
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

This hotel is at nice location : next to the beach, 15 mins from town center, 15 mins from bus station, 10 mins from bank and super market..
The employees are friendly and helpful, one of the employee don't speak English much.. but he is always there to help.
The buffet breakfast is good and have many choice, it's possible to eat outside with a nice view on the beach. With a prior arrangement, we can have our breakfast earlier, when we went to Samaria Gorge.
The room was clean. The shower was really tiny, only 2 square of ceramic, and no curtain.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kipotlov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed at Danaos Hotel for a week, and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is small, not to fancy, but clean and very friendly. The location is perfect, just by the beach in a nice part of Chania. Only 1 km to the center, and with some nice restaurants nearby. A perfect combination and not in the big resort areas with lots of hotels. A relatively small beach that also is visited by the locals.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keda001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissonerga, Paphos
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is a lovely small family run hotel. We had a sea-view room overlooking the beautiful beach at Neo Chorio - the room was spotlessly clean and had a lovely balcony with a fridge in the room for your cold drinks. Very friendly staff, particularly Meeta on reception and Mike the night porter who were always more than willing to help with local knowledge and advise. Lovely continental breakfast, which could be eaten in the very pleasant modern dining room or out on the front terrace overlooking the beach. We loved Chania and will definately return to this lovely hotel. Excellent value for money and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Request a sea-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 786Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We travelled from Stalis (via Heraklion) to the beautiful Chania (2 1/2 hours bus journey from Heraklion). This hotel is a 15 min walk from the bus station, very easy to find, past the harbour and continue on to the beach. Chania is such a beautiful spot. Our room was lovely, very clean, beautiful sea view, free wifi and air conditioning in each room. The staff were wonderful very helpful and the breakfast was great which you can also take outside for the beach view. Nice pace of life for anyone looking to escape the typical touist traps. A quiet hotel in a fantastic location. A tip: theres a great open market Thursday morning just near the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Nice small hotel close to the beach and Chania town centre.Perfect location to suits all your needs .If you want to to have a nice relaxing day on the beach or to explore Chania old harbour. Rooms get cleaned regurarly and towels are changed every day or two .
I enjoyed my stay here-hope you will too.

Room Tip: Defenitly choose a room with sea view-worth every penny .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sremac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This hotel is a perfect one for a stay in Chania, it's directly to the sea and only a 10-15 minute walk to the center. It has free airconditioning and TV which is a big plus. The personell is also very hospitable and helps you whenever you need it, their English isn't where it should be though. Rooms get cleaned everyday although the floor could be wiped off better. Towels every two days like it should. The only downside is that some things were broken, for instance our shower was leaking and some lamps didn't work. But this is Greece so it didn't bother me that much.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aranka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Frini Hotel
Frini Hotel
#52 of 111 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Candia
Hotel Candia
#48 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.3 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alexis Hotel
Alexis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ideon Hotel
Ideon Hotel
#46 of 111 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.8 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danaos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danaos Hotel

Property: Danaos Hotel
Address: 23 Akti Papanikoli Str. | Nea Chora beach, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Danaos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Danaos offers a friendly and relaxed base in the heart of Chania, just a short walk from Chania's Venetian harbour and right next to the beautiful sandy beach of Nea Chora. There are various room sizes available, to suit the needs of solos, couples and groups or families. 31 Of the rooms have a spacious balcony with views of Chania Town or the Cretan Sea. Guest can enjoy a good start to the day with a continental breakfast in Danaos' charming breakfast room. The owners of Danaos are available for any requests or sightseeing tips needed and will also arrange car or bike rentals. Many restaurants and taverns can be found in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Danaos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danaos Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing