We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and convenient”
Review of Mme Bassia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mme Bassia
Ranked #68 of 103 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and convenient”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and found the rooms charming and the staff warm and helpful. I injured my foot and was on crutches and they made an extra effort to make sure I had everything I needed. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollyd570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    20
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
43
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

In the middle of the tourist shopping streets. You have many similar places = narrow house, lots of difficult staircases, small rooms (some without a window). Been to many of these and this one is definitely from the better end. Clean, basic, good value for your money. A small table in the room would have been an asset, now there was no real place for your small items.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a window - all the rooms don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsKlimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dány, Pest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The owner and the staff very friendly and professional. There was a problem with the reception. if you arrive with the morning ship you will have to wait for a few hours with the luggage outside of the the door because there is practically no reception. The two shops on the ground floor belong to the same owner and only when these shops open you will have access to the hote. I suggest that you hang around the town (the old Venetian port with great cafeterias are just a short walk away) and enjoy some breakfast before you go to the hotel. Also prepare yourself for steep and old style staircase in this hotel. If all above does not disappoint you then this is a nice old style hotel.

Room Tip: Lots of steps whichever room you choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mery R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Have been at mme Bassia in April 2013 with family and friends. This little hotel is simple but nice in a great location. Clean, welcoming, simple but charming, and very affordable. Loved our balcony. It has a real plus. The owner. A young brilliant guy named Nektarios. He made our holiday in Crete a fantastic one by directing us, instructing us, informing us and basically.... telling us what to do during our week in Crete. And it turned out that all the suggestions Nektarios gave us very very right and extremely helpful. From restaurants to places to see all infos ware perfect.
If I go back to Crete I'll go back to Mme Bassia for sure. Thanks to Nektarios and his nice Mme Bassia!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mktgcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomsk, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

It's a wonderful place - clean, cosy, right in the centre of Old Chania. The owner is a really helpful and caring person, always ready to find a compromise, if you have some issues. No problems with hot water, air conditioner or wi-fi. There is a small kitchen with everything that can be needed - fridge, kettle, tea, coffee If you're looking for a cheap, pleasant place in the most beautiful part of the city - don't hesitate to book it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastassia_Sokovets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The room we stayed in was spotless, spacious and had its own private balcony. Nektarios and Dina really made us feel right at home from the very first moment we arrived. They are always there (they run a store downstairs that has amazing local products) and available for anything you might need.The hotel is situated right in old city in close proximity to the port and all the sights. It is a 2 minute walk to the old port where all the action is. It's an excellent value for the money, in a great location and run by incredible people! Give it a try and you will never go anywhere else when you visit Chania. I know I will be staying there every time I visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank despina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyprus
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

At first i have to say a few word for a person Totoro M. who left a full of wrong comments! Shame on you!!
This is my last night at the Mme Bassia and i can easily say that you will find more than you pay! And the most important for me the hospitality is priceless! Nectarios and his wife has the hospitality that we ve never seen in all over europe! İ ve travelled xania with my 3.5 years old daughter and everything was more than we expected! Perfect locatiob, clean, comfortable beds, bath with hot water, A/C and the smiling faces every morning saying kalimera! Totoro needs go to hilton or marriot and pay 100s of €s! But believe me you will be happy here more than staying a 5 star hotel! İf you go to Xania on a limited budget and find a room here; dont think about it, just book it!
Thanx for your interest and your hospitality Nectarios, his wife and the stuff!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halilCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Helena Hotel
Helena Hotel
#17 of 103 in Chania Town
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nikolas Rooms
Nikolas Rooms
#22 of 103 in Chania Town
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room HoneyMoon
Room HoneyMoon
#45 of 103 in Chania Town
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Diporto
Diporto
#57 of 137 in Chania Town
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vilelmine
Vilelmine
#16 of 103 in Chania Town
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dream Art Studios
Dream Art Studios
#23 of 103 in Chania Town
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mme Bassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mme Bassia

Property: Mme Bassia
Address: 45-51 Betolo | Old Harbour, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mme Bassia 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are equipped with air-condition, TV, private refrigerator, and they are close to the harbor. All the frontal rooms have a balcony with view to Mpetolo paved street. Several rooms have windows viewing to the paved courtyard with the flowers. In this courtyard with the flowers and in the single kitchen as well, the guest might enjoy a cup of coffee or tea, which we offer throughout the day, or even a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mme Bassia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mme Bassia Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing