We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not as great service”
Review of Amphora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amphora Hotel
Ranked #40 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The Amphora is located in a beautiful alley in Old Chania town. It has wonderful views, a great rooftop lounge area and the building is from the 14th century. That said, the rooms might remind you that the word Spartan comes from Greece. Our bed had no blankets and when we asked they told us the thin top sheet was the blanket. The bathroom was quite small and the shower was broken and mildewed. Sigh, even still it is a little quaint hotel and since we only stayed one night it was not a huge deal. It just has a B&B feel. Far more annoying than that was how unaccommodating and curt the staff was.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in room #7 (the largest one). The price was very reasonable. The location is great - right on the old harbour with lovely roof terrace views - albeit slightly tricky from a parking perspective. The lobby area has pleasant decor and the room itself is huge and looks lovely. The bathroom needed renovating and was a bit on the small side. Also, the AC unit was fine but not hugely effective (unsurprising given the size of the room). Overall an enjoyable stay in a well-located hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londoner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We travelled to Greece from Athens to Santorini to finally complete our trip in Chania. We stayed at the Amphora for 4 nights and our stay was great. This hotel is perfectly located right on the Old Harbour, centrally to all the great restaurants and boutiques (the more beautiful part of Chania). Public parking was available free of charge within a 3 minute walk. The hotel offered wireless internet access, restaurant and continental breakfast. The hotel is an old rustic looking building, very pretty and very well maintained. Rooms and restaurants were clean. the food at the restaurant was excellent. The continental breakfast could need a bit more variety but the food was fresh.
We would go back anytime.
Make sure that you ask for a room where there is not to much noise above you. We had room #4 which is located right under the reception and we could hear people walking about at about 8am, so if you like to sleep in, choose another room. Other than this, the room was very large, 1 king bed and 1 single bed and it had lots and lots room for more furniture. Ceilings were at least 12ft high, overall very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Texxas360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The Amphora Hotel in Chania Town is located directly in prime location for the perfect stay in Chania. Amphora is ideally situated in the heart of the beautiful harbor where the attractions are beautiful by day- but even more stunning at night. The hotel emanates a coziness and friendliness that is second to none . The experience at the Amphora from the moment you walk in is one you shall remember always with it's quiet grandeur and authentic greek charm. The rooms are warm and inviting and when you take a moment to open the windows- the ambiance of the harbor immediately beckons to you! It is truly that special.
The hotel staff is friendly and helpful with the smallest of details and the restaurant is charming with a perfect view of the lighthouse and a large variety on the menu to satisfy any whim!
We cannot say enough about this perfect hideaway...only that you have to see it for yourself! We will be returning one day...without a doubt!

Room Tip: Harbor front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed in room 22 of the Amphora for a week and can't say enough about this gem. The first attraction has got to be the location. Located in the port , our room had a spectacular view. There is a free public parking within 3 minutes walk from the hotel, which gets full but there is parking in the ajoining street nearby.

Once you get there you notice the unique charm of the hotel, each room as it's own personal touch. We had a room with two twin beds which were very comfortable. The room was regular size for Europe, with a fridge, bath and shower and flat screen tv.

The hotel has a room for internet, to place your luggage and even to take a shower. The staff if very helpful and the breakfast is very nice will help you start your day with a full stomach.

We also had the chance to eat at their restaurant on 2 occasions and it is very good value for the port. Stelio at the restaurant is very helpful.

A great stay in a great city

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The position of this hotel couldn't be better: right on the old port of Chania with a fabulous view over the delightful port, the coast and the high mountains of central Crete. We had the top floor room with a delightful balcony from which to watch the goings-on, day and night. The room was large, well maintained and very comfortable. The German receptionist (sorry we can't remember your name!) was extremely nice, incredibly helpful and made us feel very welcome and at home. We ate at all the restaurants she advised and they all came up to our (high) expectations. We'd booked for 3 nights, but loved it so much we stayed for 5. Really good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

I have never been before in Chania, but afther my stay in Amphora hotel i definitily will come again. The hotel lays between the little streets and stairs, and from our room we had a nice romantic view. We saw the harbour with the boulevard, the lighthouse and the sea. And when the wind wasgood we coul hear and smell the sea....very nice!
The services in the hotel are really great. Every day a woman cleaned our room, and made up our beds. There is a possibility to eat dinner or breakfast at the terrace on top of the hotel.They bring the food and drinks upstairs!
I already recommend this hotel to friends, family and colleagues.......

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MariekeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandora Suites Hotel
Pandora Suites Hotel
#39 of 111 in Chania Town
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scala de Faro
Scala de Faro
#61 of 111 in Chania Town
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bozzali
Bozzali
#55 of 111 in Chania Town
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel

Address: 2nd Passage of Theotokopoulou str | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £85 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amphora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphora Hotel Chania
Amphora Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing