We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful traditionally Greek hotel”
Review of Amphora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amphora Hotel
Ranked #42 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is a lovely traditional hotel situated on the harbour in Chania. There is a large selection of rooms, all of which are very different, some better than others. We stayed here in a large group and got to see a lot of different rooms. The standards of furnishing and cleanliness was the same in all the rooms, but the shape size and view in all the rooms is very different.
The staff were amazing and could not have been more helpful. Better than any hotel I have ever stayed in and really made the stay. They could just not have done more to help. The hotel in situated right on the habour and while not loud it was not a peaceful location, but this did not present a problem. The rooms are fully airconditioned and the windows double glazed. The hotel has a roof terrace which was a great place to meet up at the end of the day.
Chania is a really lovely place! Way better than I was expecting and I would deffinatly go back to both the hotel and town.

Room Tip: Room 20 is amazing!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaffyBrightonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Amphora Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here for a family party, 26 people from all over the world and we absolutely loved the hotel. The rooms were comfortable the setting overlooking Chania harbour was magnificent and the staff were very helpful especially Augustine! I highly recommend this hotel. Patrick Mitchell.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We have been to Chania so many times and this has been the best hotel in our opinion. The rooms with seaview are fantastic and the balcony upstairs is wonderful to have dinner. Perfect situation and very kind personnel! We enjoyed a lot!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cozalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We have now stayed here twice and it has been fatastic both times. The staff are great, rooms good and the views are wonderful. The staff make you feel very welcome and the laid back feel and attitute makes for the most relaxing and romantic of stays.

Room Tip: book one with a view. Higher up are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bax_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The Amphora hotel is beautifully located on the idyllic Chania harbour front. We stayed here as part of a group of 27 to celebrate a family birthday. The group varied ages from 3-77. The hotel and the staff there could not have been more accommodating. The rooms were all beautiful and all had their own quirkiness which added to the uniqueness of the place.
The roof terrace was a fantastic setting for breakfast or drinks, and was a superb location for our birthday celebrations. The staff were all incredibly friendly and full of ideas and recommendations for places to eat and beaches to visit. Nothing was a problem, and we were all made to feel incredibly welcome. Car parking is a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and though busy during the height of summer, was never too much of a problem. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The location i central part of the Chania harbor is just great! The hotel was very nice, but pretty loud. I had the room almost at the reception area and you could hear them when they speak. And the stairs next to the room I guarantee you will hear and the wireless internet connection was not good at all. But I would like to come back and stay at an other room at the hotel. The staff was very nice

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferencz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We also had been to the peacful Southern village of Paleochora (see review below) and came to spend our last two nights in Chania. The location is perfect (not so good for car but then nowhere in the old port would be). The views are stunning and the roof garden where one can ask for breakfast to be brought up -or take a drink up there at night is a unique chance to see the port.
Our room (8) was perfect and even though it overlooks the port was suprisingly quiet (air con menas windows are closed). Staff were friendly and helpful- If we go back to Chania we will defnitely book the Amphora again .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#45 of 111 in Chania Town
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#40 of 111 in Chania Town
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel

Address: 2nd Passage of Theotokopoulou str | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £75 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amphora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphora Hotel Chania
Amphora Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing