We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a Venetian”
Review of Amphora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amphora Hotel
Ranked #40 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2012

When you step into the quiet realms of Amphora Hotel, you will leave everything behind. Walking up the stairs to the reception, located in a spaceious room with high ceilings, you will be warmly greeted by the friendly staff - making you feel like a family member immediately.

Luckily, the biggest room faing the Venetian Harbour (room No. 11) was available. So we spent two perfect days in this wonderful place.

In fact, this room is designed to house three persons with one double bed on the main level and a third bed, which we used as a sofa, being located one level above. You can decut from this, that the room is extremely spacious. Just right for a Venetian nobleman, who in fact had lived there some 600 years ago.

The whole room is furnished in deliquate antiques and vintage maps of Crete grace the walls. The bathroom is modern but a bit tiny - but absolutely not cursing any inconvenience for my 196 cm companion.

Apart from all this loveliness, the view from the balcony is the real highlight. From up here, you can overlook the whole Venecian Harbour, including all the people strolling around and the waiters trying to get them into their restaurants. Funny thing to watch - night and day!

All the staff is extremely helpful, especially Anita, the owner, who did help us in any possible way. For people who are not as fortunate as we were and stay in a room with no view above the harbour - just relax on one of the three roof gardens belonging to the hotel with a perfect view.

As others have already pointed out, the rooms facing the Venetian Port are not exactly to be considered as quiet. But this is the price for a breathtaking view and applicable to all of the hotels in Venetian Harbour of Chania! Closing the windows will fence out the noise immediately.

We will definitely return to this little gem in Chania and hopefully stay again in room No. 11.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dk_worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Amphora Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

Great location on the basis of what we were looking for and Chania is a nice city. Hotel Amphora offered us room 19, which was large and clean and with a balcony with great view. The staff was incredibly helpful and sweet. Hip hip for Anita, Evy, Augostin and all the others. Miss you all. Priority number one was central city location for easy access to evening amusements and dining. Going around the island by car, bus or taxi is easy and close up beaches like Kalami, Stavros and Kalathas is highly recommended. A bit further away are the beach Falasarna which is easily reached by bus. Otherwise, a trip to Loutro on the south side of the island is highly recommendable. Going back to Crete, which definitely is on the to-do list, we most likely will return to hotel Amphora based on our experience and especially due to the staff running this boutique hotel.

Room Tip: No experience of other rooms than nr. 19 and this is highly recommendable. And I would guess also ne...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thoroperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have just spent a couple of nights at the Amphora and rate it highly for a) the room views over this gorgeous port city; b) the genuine professionalism, friendliness and consideration of the staff. It is a delight waking up to the sun rising over Chania's charming port, and while the hotel is at the centre of night-life at the port, it's location is so central and delightful that we slept well... We came back to Chania en route to the airport, and the Amphora team offered us dinner, a shower to freshen up, and arranged our taxi to the airport. We felt cared for....Perfect end to a holiday...

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the port, if the view is important. If getting a good night's sleep m...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We loved room 20 -- spacious, gorgeous view in charming chania. the staff were super kind and friendly. it's a delightful hotel. breakfast was tasty and full of authentic local flavors including organic olives -- but costs extra. this hotel was one of my favorite hotel experiences ever

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is a lovely traditional hotel situated on the harbour in Chania. There is a large selection of rooms, all of which are very different, some better than others. We stayed here in a large group and got to see a lot of different rooms. The standards of furnishing and cleanliness was the same in all the rooms, but the shape size and view in all the rooms is very different.
The staff were amazing and could not have been more helpful. Better than any hotel I have ever stayed in and really made the stay. They could just not have done more to help. The hotel in situated right on the habour and while not loud it was not a peaceful location, but this did not present a problem. The rooms are fully airconditioned and the windows double glazed. The hotel has a roof terrace which was a great place to meet up at the end of the day.
Chania is a really lovely place! Way better than I was expecting and I would deffinatly go back to both the hotel and town.

Room Tip: Room 20 is amazing!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaffyBrightonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here for a family party, 26 people from all over the world and we absolutely loved the hotel. The rooms were comfortable the setting overlooking Chania harbour was magnificent and the staff were very helpful especially Augustine! I highly recommend this hotel. Patrick Mitchell.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We have been to Chania so many times and this has been the best hotel in our opinion. The rooms with seaview are fantastic and the balcony upstairs is wonderful to have dinner. Perfect situation and very kind personnel! We enjoyed a lot!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cozalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#46 of 111 in Chania Town
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#42 of 111 in Chania Town
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel

Address: 2nd Passage of Theotokopoulou str | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £75 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amphora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphora Hotel Chania
Amphora Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing