We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third stay”
Review of Amphora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amphora Hotel
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
1,401 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,689 helpful votes
“Our third stay”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is the third time we stayed at this hotel. The first time was decades ago and it keeps getting better.

We were on the top floor - room 20 - which has a small balcony overlooking the harbor The room is nice size and there is free Wi-Fi - with good reception even on the top floor.

There are two large terraces where you can choose to have breakfast - or you can eat breakfast in the ground floor breakfast room. The morning choices are extensive, home made and VERY tasty. There were panna cotta with fresh strawberry sauce, egg custard, boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, home made jams, honey, fresh rolls, cheese, ham, fresh baked cakes, fresh squeezed orange juice, toasted bread with extra virgin olive oil and your choice of coffee (Greek or American) or tea. Everything was freshly prepared and delicious.

The hotel is located right on the harbor and free public parking (can be hard to find a spot) is a five minte walk away. A word of caution, this is not a place for those with limited mobility. There are many steps and no elevator.

Room Tip: Room 20 on top floor - quiet - nice harbor view - small terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    83
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
173
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston Spa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The hotel is in a superb location on the waterfront. There are roof terraces where you can have breakfast or other meals and drinks. The restaurant offers good food at reasonable prices and good local wine. The staff are helpful and the service was first class. Good breakfast included in our package.
Chania is a good base to explore the northern part of the island.

Room Tip: There is a problem with noise from an adjacent music bar which starts at midnight and goes through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapjackBostonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Thank you to everyone at Amphora who made our stay so wonderful. It is our fourth visit, which probably is recommendation enough. It has a beautiful location, wonderful rooms and a terrace to die for. Lovely breakfast and the restaurant downstairs is the best restaurant on the harbour front - by far.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Charming boutique hotel with an amazing location. Rm 11 is a winner, huge and beautiful in its simplicity. The thumping bass did go on for the majority of the night and it was fine. Loved this entire town. Make certain you do not park in the residents section by the ocean. Everything was really nice. Daytrip to Elafonisi beach, I thought it would be a long drive for one day but I want to do it again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovemousakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Good, clean and tidy boutique hotel at a very reasonable rate. Friendly and competent service. Decent gin and tonics !! Still here at the end of October. Best part of Chania to stay, overlooking the harbour itself. The restaurant recommendations have been very good. Would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike140366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Beautiful old building with breathtaking views over the Venetian harbour. Huge room, four poster bed with beautiful wooden floors and ceilings. Great balcony that in October was really hot and sunny.
Breakfast at 10 euros was disappointing with very little choice and poor quality ingredients like cheap ham and supermarket cake. Not a problem though as the area is full of cafes. We had no problems with the noise as the double glazing was good and we had 2 quiet people upstairs. Anita in reception was very helpful and well informed.-

Room Tip: We had room 6, it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, Ca
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We arrived early in the morning by overnight ferry from Piraeus and having picked up a car, we went to the hotel. They could not have been more helpful, giving us the choice of available rooms. We chose one with a partiak view of the harbour. While simple, it was very comfortable and we slept very well. We were lucky and found parking fairly close. I can see that in high season, it would be difficult to get parking nearby, but that would be true for every hotel in Chania.

We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Crete.
For more views, see my wife's blog (http://gallivantingisadora.blogspot.fr/2012/09/arrival-in-crete.html)

Room Tip: We did not find noise from the restaurants in front to be a problem, so go for the best view availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#20 of 109 in Chania Town
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#32 of 109 in Chania Town
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#29 of 109 in Chania Town
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 109 in Chania Town
1,180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandora Suites Hotel
Pandora Suites Hotel
#37 of 109 in Chania Town
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel

Property: Amphora Hotel
Address: 2nd Passage of Theotokopoulou str | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Amphora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphora Hotel Chania
Amphora Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing