We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD FOOD NICE ROOM”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Amphora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amphora Hotel
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD NICE ROOM”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

BESIDES THE "SPECIAL HOT WATER BUTTON" to have a shower AND the small shower stall great food nice staff awsome location We had a great time a fun town! the location was awsome right in the center of the harbour the resturant was harbour front excellent fresh food All the locals eat here authentic fresh food

Room Tip: get a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCAZMOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    80
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
172
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is a couple of blocks from the city center, on the blue seafront. If you are coming with the airoplane you will have to take a cab though. But once we arrived, check-in was quick and easy. Within two minutes of walking through the lobby, we were in our room. The hotel is great and clean and the area is great! We had a great summer holiday thanks to this.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kostas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gronau, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

In one word great i can recommend this hotel to everybody who want to stay in Chania :) Especially the roof garden with the view over the old Venetian harbor.: Great food in the restaurant with breakfast, lunch and dinner. Staff at the reception is allays very helpful.:)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hotel Amphora brings you back in time with its rustic accommodations and amazing views of the Old Harbor. The night watchman, Mr. Agustin treated us like family even as we arrived close to midnight from the airport. He was easy to reach via cellphone and met us with a trolley for our luggage where our taxi dropped us off. He was so excited and pleasant, it made my wife and I feel very welcome. Mr. Agustin then gave us recommendations for what to see and do that made our trip better than we could've imagined.

We originally opted for a stay without breakfast, but at Mr. Agustin's suggestion we decided to try it the first morning and we are so glad we did. The breakfast is made daily downstairs and for 10 euros a person, was an incredible value. You must try their fresh greek yogurt and homemade jams! We ended up having breakfast there every morning overlooking the harbor from the hotel's private balcony.

There are many hotel's in Chania Town, but Amphora truly sets itself apart with its incredible service and location. We will definitely be staying here again upon our return to Crete. Thank you Mr. Agustin!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 11 - probably the best room in terms of views of the harbor. As long as you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathanedelgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREECE
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Amphora Hotel is a traditional hotel in the harbor! The room has sea view which were clean!
The decoration is simple but elegant and the breakfast was so delicious with cretian recipes.
The service was excellent with love and care for their guests!
http://www.amphora.gr/

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MERISA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Amphora hotel is really beautifully designed, stylish, chic and spacious in the heart of the Venetian harbour, an excellent location to the port and shops.
We had a wonderful elegant room really nice and clean. The towels were of high quality and the bed was very comfortable. Our room had the most amazing view of the Venetian lighthouse, the city’s dominating symbol. Great homemade breakfast, well presented and varied with as much as you would want to eat

The staff were beyond amazing, sharing restaurant, sights and transportation tips which made our trip much easier, they warned us against the poor value tourist hot-spots and gave suggestions for better places to eat and drink.

We had a great time in this hotel as well as in Chania! Thank you so much, we'd like to come again!
Check out the hotel's website on www.amphora.gr to get more up to date info about the hotel’s accommodation, contact information, photos, online reservation and directions for locating it.
Really informative site it helped me a lot!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay-Matz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Hotel Amphora is right on the harbour so the location is just lovely. We enjoyed walks along the waterfront day and night for restaurants, bars etc. there are little alleyways with markets near the hotel too. The building is old Venetian style and has a couple of roof gardens with great views. The wifi is free and fairly fast. There is a restaurant on the other side of the hotel but we didn't get to try it.

I have a gripe with breakfast. When we checked in, the guy told us breakfast is between 7:30 and 10. No mention of cost. When we went down to find the breakfast room in the morning, a different lady showed us and didn't mention price either. We just popped in and literally had a tiny bowl of oats eat with some juice that was brought out and a sip of coffee. At check out, we were told the breakfast was 10 euros each. If we had known that we wouldn't have gone down... We had a food tour booked that morning and only went to the breakfast room for a quite bite and some caffeine. The staff were otherwise very friendly but I wish they were more clear with the cost. 20 euros can get a lot of excellent food in Chania; definitely not worth it for some boring oats.

I was going to rate Amphora 3 stars only based on the bad feeling that gave me but we left our luggage there and went snorkelling before our flight and there was a nice bathroom area we could use even after we had checked out. That was handy so I changed my opinion to 4 stars. More good than bad!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#19 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandora Suites Hotel
Pandora Suites Hotel
#43 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#26 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#13 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel

Property: Amphora Hotel
Address: 2nd Passage of Theotokopoulou str | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amphora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphora Hotel Chania
Amphora Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing