We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location with great views”
Review of Amphora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amphora Hotel
Ranked #42 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Excellent hotel in the most beautiful of places. Our room was on the top floor, with a small balcony overlooking Chania - sheer bliss - it was worth the climb up 3 flights of stairs.
The hotel has loads of charm and has all you need.
The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.
We were travelling in Europe for 5 weeks and it was the only place where we actually had freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast! What a joy! We were given the option of having breakfast on the terrace overlooking the view - a most pleasurable way to start the day.
Would recommend.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with balcony on top floor - magnificent view - worth the climb!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Amphora Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here when we visited crete. We had been to a few places but none were as comfortable and relaxing in the midday heat as room 20 at The Amphora. Situated on the harbour front, I was worried that it would be noisy but the bustle was comfortable and calming. The hotel is stunning and just a lovely place to hide away from the heat. Room 20 had a beautiful balcony. The staff were wonderful!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ilovemasters87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We knew this hotel was going to be a special place to spend Christmas 2013 and so booked 3 days to celebrate. We didn't plan for it to be so good that we would spend all 9 days of our holiday here! Leaving the rain-blasted shores of the UK, we arrived in bright sunshine and were welcomed by the outstanding team of Augustin and Anita. Every morning we would wake up to sunshine after weeks of waking up in the dark at home and would chat with Anita to plan our day's activities: would it be a mountain drive to an eco-restaurant, a walk through the wonderful-smelling botanical gardens or a hair-raising drive to a remote turquoise beach? We were introduced to places through the people that run them and Anita's hospitality reached to all the places we visited. It was a truly amazing holiday, made special by the Amphora hotel and we will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Lovely room right on the harbor, outside the room was a large terrace where you could sit for hours and feel like you are in heaven with the blue of the sea and sky. The lighthouse and the harbor also make for nice people watching.
The hotel is a restored Venetian/ Ottoman era house, place had loads of charm, original details, comfortable room and facilities.
No complaints, really really enjoyed my stay- would come again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lambNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

What a treat! This hotel was certainly one of the best that I have ever stayed in on my extensive global travels. From the very first "Kalimera" this place was enchanting. The staff were superb, rooms, location and views superb. What else can I add?....Superb!

Room Tip: Rooms 19 and 20 are the quietest it seems. Both have balconies overlooking the old port. We chose 19...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicomondiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Everything was great about this hotel. The staff, the views from the room and roof terrace, the breakfast, the harbour front restaurant below, the room we had (it was massive, great price/quality, was like living in a castle), name it. We loved it and regretted to have booked only 3 nights here. Chania is a fantastic place and the most beautiful town on Crete by far. Walking around the old town and having lunch/dinner here is like being on a film set. Amphora was probably the best choice we made staying here. The view from the roof terrace is probably the best you can imagine in Chania. The Amphora restaurant (you get 10% discount when staying in the hotel) is probably the best on the harbour front (we tested a view for lunch and dinner during our stay). As I said the room we got was massive with a big fire place and a lovely 4 poster bed with a view on the harbour and alley on the other side.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different because its a very old building. Double check what you get regarding vie...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed i Amphora for a week with a couple of friends. Location is superb, in an old, well maintained building facing the old harbor. The rooms are lovely, and there are a couple of roof top terraces good for relaxation as well. The staff is very friendly, and there is a relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast is superb, everything fresh and delicate. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#26 of 111 in Chania Town
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#45 of 111 in Chania Town
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#40 of 111 in Chania Town
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel

Address: 2nd Passage of Theotokopoulou str | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £75 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amphora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphora Hotel Chania
Amphora Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing