We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of Amphora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amphora Hotel
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Amphora Hotel. The staff couldn't do enough for us, very friendly & polite.
We had a 3rd floor room overlooking the harbor, which was beautiful. It doesn't have an elevator, so you might want a room on another floor. It has a nice little breakfast buffet every morning, and the Amphora restaurant had great food and an awesome waitstaff!
I would definitely go back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel has the most enviable position. There is so much to do in Crete, however one thing is an absolute must is visit Old Town, Chania. When staying at Amphora hotel, you are literally in Old Town. The cobblestone laneways, with little boutique shops are just outside your door.

We remember on a number of occasions debating whether to go left or right from the hotel. Left, walk 10 meters and your walking along the port with the lighthouse and mosque creating an incredible visual atmosphere. Right, you’re walking back in time with small boutique shops and small eatery’s that take your breath away.

The Honeymoon Suite was big and spacious (the hilarious porter there will make you believe you booked the smallest room). It has a very homely feel and a grand fireplace. It’s two levels; first level is where you have the lounge and bedroom. The bottom level is where the toilet and shower is located.

We decided to book direct on the hotel website, as it all seems the same now days with the Amphora website offering the same price as booking.com. I feel much more safer booking direct as they have more packages to choose from.

Highly recommend for those who enjoy a rustic room with the greatest location.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank evanhinrichsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Travelled in April and it was approx 30 minutes in taxi from the airport, which the hotel had kindly arranged for us.
Given that Chania is an old city, there was no direct access to the hotel with the taxi (our flight arrived at night) but Mr Agustin from the hotel came to meet us and bring our bags to the hotel - which was just as well, as it was a few minutes walk down cobbled streets, and we would have been lost.
Our room was a twin room - would also be suitable for couple as had a large four-poster bed and another single bed in it.
Hot water wasn't quite hot - and you have to remember to switch it on about 30 minutes before you need it too! It was the start of the season and I think this was updated after we left.
Room had air conditioning, bliss!
As we had a room on the front overlooking the old harbour, we were above and facing lots of restaurants and bars. Mr Agustin mentioned the hotel had upgraded their sound-proofing to help with the noise of the harbour - it wasn't bad - but if you're a light sleeper, you might want a room away from the harbour. I would imagine it could get a lot louder in the height of the season.
No elevators - stairs everywhere. If you have mobility issues, Chania might not be the place for you. This is an old building - so it's not like going to a chain of hotels - it's a bit quirky, but we loved it.
Breakfast was served in a little room off one of the back streets, almost under the hotel, but would be brought up to the rooftop terrace if you wanted. Continental breakfast only - but super selection of treats available. Rooftop terrace definitely worth a visit - a good book, a cold drink and the best view in the city.
Restaurant at the front of the hotel served lunch and dinner, overlooking the harbour - we only ate there the first night and had some light-bites and lovely wine.
Staff and location make this hotel well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room on the first floor at the front of the hotel - it had a teeny-tiny balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KatB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Decent hotel, great location in Old Town, rooms have high ceilings and AC. Flat screen TV a bit small (but there's nothing to watch anyway). Bathroom a bit small. Very helpful and friendly service, got help to call our airline (had to know a bit Greek) when there was a delay. Internet was a bit unstable. Might be a bit noisy at night because it's so close to the bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from the bars and restaurants at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank superlaxative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated at the ancient harbour of Chania in an old Venetian house. The staff makes you feel very welcome. Rooms are great and clean. A good choice if you like a lively place to stay. The restaurant under the hotel has terrific food and service.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maaikejous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

You Will Not Want to Leave

In planning our short, week-long stay on the island of Crete, we had originally planned to stay in Chania for 3 nights, Rethymnon for 3 and Iraklio for 1 before moving on to Santorini. Less than one hour after we got to Chania and walked into the Amphora Hotel we cancelled our stay in Rethymnon. Not only did Chania and the surrounding areas possess far more interesting sights than we ever knew, but the Amphora was one place we did not want to leave.

It began with the taxi ride, when Mr. Yannis, a long-time affiliate of the hotel, picked us up promptly at the airport even though our flight was a hefty hour late. We knew the hotel was in a pedestrian-only area of Chania harbor, so we were prepared to get dropped off and drag our luggage through unknown alleys to get to the hotel – but that never happened, because as we were pulling up to the curb, Augusten (aka “Hercules”), the hotel’s resident night watchman, jack-of-all-trades and lifter of very heavy things, appeared out of nowhere with a luggage dolly, threw all of our bags on it and lead us luggage-free to the hotel.

The hotel itself was in a delightful section of Chania. Around several corners, over brick and cobblestones, we reached its big blue doors, which open into a gorgeous interior courtyard. An enormous vine reaches through the middle and up into the sky, kind of like Jack’s beanstalk. Another door and you are in the hotel – which reminded me of a very large, antique, very well-cared-for vintage summer house. Lots of windows and white painted wood, with stairs and doors and light and glimpses of the harbor everywhere. Hercules threw our bags over his shoulders and carried them up the several flights of stairs to the reception desk which is in a large, airy lobby area. Anita, the hotel manager, greeted us warmly, with a huge smile and great energy, helped us check in and immediately advised us that when we were settled in our rooms we should come back down and she would help us create a “very nice programme” for our time in Chania.

We had a room at the top of the main stairs, I think #14. It opened up to reveal three enormous open windows with sheer white drapes blowing in the breeze and blinding blue, a view of the sparkling harbor and lighthouse. When we approached the windows you could see the harbor and a grand terrace on the same level as our room. When we finally turned around, we saw the room had a queen-sized bed, large wardrobe, writing desk, several night stands and a refrigerator. The bathroom was small but completely adequate, with a corner shower, toilet and pedestal sink. There was air conditioning, but we never used it and instead kept the windows open. There was noise at night, from the many people in the harbor’s restaurants directly below us, but it was not very loud and was a wonderful buzz of energy. If it was too much we could close the windows at any time and shut it out.

The terrace was a stunning feature of the hotel. Open all night, it is a large terrace directly overlooking the entire harbor. We spent many a night there, with a bottle of wine, listening to the music or the tourist hum below. There is a side terrace as well, with a gorgeous grape arbor, and we realized that the giant vine in the lobby lead to it.

Once we had spent an hour with Anita, then in our room and on the terrace, we immediately decided to cancel our 3 nights in Rethymnon and extend our stay in Chania. Fortunately, Anita was somehow able to figure out a way to accommodate us. Our first 4 nights were in the first room I described above, then we had to switch to a second room (number 16, I believe, an ample corner room with two very large beds and a private balcony overlooking the harbor), and finally a third for our last night (room 19, a stunning dark wood suite with a queen-sized canopy bed and a separate twin sized bed, with an entire wall of windows overlooking a long private terrace and the entire harbor. Note that the terrace is directly over the Amphora restaurant terrace, so when the restaurant is open you are very close to the diners below you. They never looked up or seemed to notice, though.) The moving was completely worth it as we got to experience three rooms in this gorgeous hotel, and Augusten simply moved all our belongings while we were out gallivanting around Chania and the surrounding area every day.

As for the surrounding area, Anita did help us come up with an excellent “programme” – based on our time available, what we were interested in and our budget. Anita is one of the greatest “features” of the hotel Amphora. Exceptionally personable, very sharp and with great energy, she treats you as if family at her house. She arranged our Samara Gorge hike, our rental car, recommended a gorgeous driving tour of local towns and gorges and places to lunch, several local beaches to walk to, restaurants to dine at, but went far above and beyond the call of duty. After my sister injured her neck laughing ( yes, laughing), Anita even gave us her appointment with her chiropractor for the next day! And then provided daily ice packs from the hotel freezer for the injury. She handles all of the hotel activities with friendliness, humor and grace, all the while caring for the baby birds which hotel guests find around the property that have dropped from their nests. (“Lulu” was the current guest resident at the time. ) An unbelievable asset to the hotel, we loved the Amphora but it was really the staff that made the stay there and in Chania just exceptional. An extremely memorable stay in very special place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsygirl1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Like most hotels in Chania old town, the Amphora is in a converted charming old period building, with a range of very different rooms, some with glorious views over the harbour but others darker and opening onto an internal courtyard or backstreets, so make sure you know what you want and book accordingly. Having said that, I lived in Chania old town for a couple of years and this was perhaps the 4th time I've stayed in the Amphora on return visits, so I can strongly recommend it. We had a room with lovely views over the harbour, no private terrace/balcony but easy access to the extensive roof terraces of the hotel which were never crowded. Anita, the receptionist was really good, with some excellent recommendations, even for someone like me who knows the town and surrounding area well. The breakfast is pretty good and can be taken on the roof terraces. The hotel restaurant is also pretty good, the best harbourside restaurant on this side of the harbour.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what you want as rooms are very variable: some cool and dark, opening onto the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TopTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 110 in Chania Town
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandora Suites Hotel
Pandora Suites Hotel
#33 of 110 in Chania Town
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scala de Faro
Scala de Faro
#61 of 110 in Chania Town
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#28 of 110 in Chania Town
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel

Address: 2nd Passage of Theotokopoulou str | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £86 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amphora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphora Hotel Chania
Amphora Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing