We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison Ottomane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Maison Ottomane
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

La Maison Ottomane is the most beautiful hotel we have ever seen, it is absolutely perfect! Words are not enough to describe this hotel, you have to experience it. It has three rooms (suites), and we fell completely in love with ours. We stayed in the pink mini suite on the ground floor, which immediately became our little pice of heaven. The decoration is exquisite, the bed was wonderful to sleep in - the best bed I have ever slept in, actually! The only thing that made us want to get out of the bed in the morning, was the lovely breakfast - fresh fruit, toast with jam, greek yoghurt with honey, pastries and fresh orange juice. We could also order eggs, bacon, omelettes and so on, from a menu. We highly recommend the french toast with cinnamon syrup!

The hotel is right by the old town and the harbour, which in my opinion is the best location in Chania. Andreas and Alexandra, who run the hotel, are very nice people, and they did everything they could to make our stay perfect. La Maison Ottomane was the highlight of our vacation, and I highly recommend a visit. We stayed for five days, but we wish we could stay much, much longer. We will definitely come back to this hotel the next time we visit Crete!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaninaLauritsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guests

As you were fairly quiet during your stay we wondered whether we were doing and had done all that we could to make your stay a happy one... It is so good to hear that you were simply (and quietly) enjoying la Maison. Alexandra and I will be delighted to see you here again.

Best regards, Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
170
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

La Maison Ottomane is the kind of place you always hope to stumble across on holiday, but very rarely find. It combines the standards of a five-star hotel with the warmth and personality of a stay with kindly, knowledgeable and extremely tasteful friends.

The hotel is based in the old part of town, conveniently near the old harbour, but away from the most touristed parts. The excavated remains of the old Minoan city are just on the doorstep.

There are just three rooms in this tiny gem of a hotel. We stayed in the Constantinople suite, exquisitely decorated in late Ottoman style with Turkish and Moroccan antiques, rugs and paintings. It's like a photoshoot from World of Interiors. There are many delightful touches, from the camel tea set in the 'minibar' to the use of an iPad with ultra-fast wifi.

The (Cretan-made) bed is the most comfortable we've ever slept in, but we were enticed to drag ourselves out of it each day by the thought of breakfast on the terrace - a feast of fresh cherries, nectarines and melons, honey-drizzled Greek yoghurt, freshly baked pastries, and the most delectable Cretan omelettes imaginable.

Andreas and Alexandra, who run the hotel, provided the most solicitous and kindly hospitality throughout our stay, offering plentiful local recommendations for restaurants and activities, and researching trip ideas for us. They were kindness itself.

Chania is a lovely and intriguing city, but a stay at La Maison Ottomane alone would be worth making the trip there. Exceptional in every way.

Room Tip: The Constantinople Suite is a duplex apartment with a separate living space - ideal for longer stays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sockrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
It has taken a little while to respond to a review which simply left us speechless. If la Maison Ottomane is "...the kind of place you always hope to stumble across..." then perhaps yours is the kind of review that kind of place aspires to... There is little to say that can mean more than a thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

Thank you.

Alexandra and Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a wonderful time a La Maison Ottomane! The room was beautiful and the decor great! Andreas and Alexandra were extremely accommodating and very helpful. Breakfast was delicious and Chania was a charming town!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Very glad you liked the room and hoping you will return to try out the other two. Best regards from both of us... A&A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is just perfect to the last detail. Beautiful rooms in a very quite neighborhood right in the middle of the old town.The owner and the staff are beyond polite and make everything possible for you to enjoy your stay. Very nice breakfast. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NewPlacesLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
"One of the best hotels..." is high praise indeed from a well-travelled guest and gives us a lot to live up to. Please be assured we will do our best. Thank you for your visit, thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a fabulous experience. We had heard about the hotel from the UK papers and chose a week long stay in June based on that - great choice! The hotel is in the centre of the old town of Chania and conveniently placed for excellent restaurants on the harbour or in the back streets. The hotel comprises three very different rooms or suites which are beautifully decorated and furnished with a Ottoman influence and with an incredible attention to detail that can only come from the heart. One of the rooms has its own terrace which has a sea view, otherwise there is a secluded courtyard where guests take an delicious breakfast and use throughout the day. The welcome and service overall just wonderful. Andreas and Alexandra, our hosts, provided a 'guide to everything' and were enthusiastic in their recommendations on restaurants, beaches, trips etc. We will return and wish them every success. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
So glad you liked what you saw but most of all we like your comment "we will return" which we take as a promise from your side. From our side we promise to build on what we already have in place to make you next visit even better. Thank you for your lovely words. A & A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed only one night at La Maison Ottomane, but it was unforgettable! We just loved everything, starting from the very nice welcome, the beautiful room with every detail it has, the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, the delicious breakfast and ending with a goodbye photo to forever remember!
Thank you Andreas and Alexandra for everything you did to make our night a time to remember.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoulouK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
We very much enjoyed your visit as did our other guests with whom you were so friendly over breakfast. It is a pity you did not stay longer - but Cyprus and Crete are neighbours so we hope you will visit us again soon.

Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Before going, I had read many favourable reviews and have to admit it's damn good! Andreas and Alex were perfect hosts, their charm, courtesy and attention to detail is second to none and was felt with sincerity. The suites are beautifully and thoughtfully appointed and presented in the Turkish style. We stayed in the Aisha suite which was a welcome oasis from the heat of Chania in June. The toilet flush required a degree of cerebral anticipation and manual dexterity, but was mastered after two attempts and made for an amusing challenge. The bed and furnishings, outside patio seating, toiletries, complementary fruit and water were all provided with professionalism and their personal touch.
La Maison is highly recommended and we wish Andreas and Alex every success.

Room Tip: All three rooms have their own individual attractions, one has an interesting sunken bath another is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
I regret to advise we (and more to the point, our guests) are still; challenged by our toilet pulls. They do of course work (the proof being we remain open) but a more immediate and efficient solution would be better and is under discussion... So glad you enjoyed your stay in spite of this. We enjoyed having you here and hope you will soon come to stay a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0.2 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
31.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Ottomane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Ottomane

Property: La Maison Ottomane
Address: 32 Parodos Kanevaro, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Ottomane 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison Ottomane combines the comforts of an elegant boutique hotel with the relaxed informality of a luxury guest house. Inspired by the opulence of Ottoman rule, it is filled with fine antiques, paintings, carpets and porcelain, scents from Marrakech, silks and sweet delicacies from Istanbul.. High-speed wifi, complimentary use of tablet computers, wireless printing and that rare Chania asset of private parking, help us support the business and leisure traveller to a high level of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your La Maison Ottomane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Ottomane Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing