We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”
Review of La Maison Ottomane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison Ottomane
Ranked #2 of 108 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I arrived very late in the evening, however I was received very promptly and efficiently. I stayed in the Constantinople suite. I found the room to be very well appointed with various antiques which were also accompanied by modern convinces. The room had a flat screen TV up stairs as well as the lower level of the suite. The room also came equipped with it on tablet for the in room with WiFi.
The location is very close to center of old Chania. Some really good restaurants and boutiques.

There were only a few slight inconveniences during the stay. The first was a small issue with the WiFi password. The other was the party that ran late a couple nights during the stay. The party was in the next building so the noise was manageable.
I was there during the height of the summer season so imagine that this is to be expected.

Andreas removed a nights accommodation from the bill for these issues. I felt that this demonstrated fantastic customer service and business acumen.

Andreas, was extremely accommodating host. The breakfast was fantastic each day. I was absolutely amazed that breakfast was still prepared for me at 430am on the day of my departure on an early flight. This was a highlight of the stay. Having breakfast on a patio under a palm tree on a lamp lit white table cloth really provided a wonderful kick start to my long travel day to the west coast of the United States.







Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobePlodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
The wifi passwords are sorted and the neighbours have been like mice since your visit! Sorry you had to experience either issue, thank you for your politeness and patience and we are glad the lamplit breakfast had you leaving with positive thoughts.

Hoping to see you again, Alexandra and Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
195
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mbbedu
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

La Maison Ottoman is truly heavenly. Attention to EVERY detail, experienced and caring owners and all the small touches that make travel a marvelous adventure are what you will delight in during your stay at La Maison Ottoman. Thank you, Andreas, for the laughter and fine care.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Constantinople and Andreas was kind enough to show my husband the other 2 units. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbbedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank YOU both for bringing your lively interest to la Maison and for the laughter that we shared. It was a joy having you here. Please come again!

Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

E x c e p t i o n a l !!! The rooms are cured with taste in every little detail. design and comfort are going hand by hand bringing up these rooms from nice and cute to exceptional.
But what makes all the difference and makes it a unique corner of paradise is Andrea and Alexandra...and you can only find out how by going to La Maison Ottomane! Don't miss the opportunity!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zafiris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
It is difficult to respond to your praise. Please be assured that the warmth that you may feel at la Maison is to the greatest extent brought here by our guests, by you. We would have nothing but a pretty house without your participation. Thank you for visiting us and bringing life to our dream.

Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely in every way. Our first stop on our honeymoon, and we couldn't be happier. Alex and Andreas make you feel at home, and nurture you from the moment you arrive. Our room is so comfortable, and designed so beautifully with a gorgeous bathroom that makes you feel like you are in a spa. We love our terrace and wish we could stay longer. Stay here! We will be back....perhaps even later this trip!
Christine & Sebastiano

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Christine, There can be few professional activities more gratifying than successfully supporting, even in a very small way, a couple taking their early steps together. Thanks for letting us know we did OK. Alexandra and I wish you every joy in your life together and hope that some of it is regularly spent at la Maison...

Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haugesund, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

La Maison Ottomane is a new boutique hotel in the old town of Chania. The suites are very tastefully decorated (we have stayed in two of them; The Constantinople and The Aisa) in authentic style, yet with all the modern facilities anyone would need. Also, the hotel is ideally located just a two minute walk from the Venetian Harbour. We were both times warmly welcomed by the charming and observant staff (Andreas and Alexander) who fulfilled our every need. The well–prepared breakfast, the cleaning service and the fruit also added to the overall experience. We strongly recommend this hotel to everyone staying in the lovely city of Chania. We’ ll be back once again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torfinn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
As you know, seeing you here again meant a great deal to us and seeing you here enjoying yourselves again meant even more. You risk soon becoming what in England is called "an insitution" at la Maison Ottomane, a distinction that I hope will not disturb you - it will certainly make Alexandra and me happy. Hoping to see you in 2015...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

La Maison Ottomane is the most beautiful hotel we have ever seen, it is absolutely perfect! Words are not enough to describe this hotel, you have to experience it. It has three rooms (suites), and we fell completely in love with ours. We stayed in the pink mini suite on the ground floor, which immediately became our little pice of heaven. The decoration is exquisite, the bed was wonderful to sleep in - the best bed I have ever slept in, actually! The only thing that made us want to get out of the bed in the morning, was the lovely breakfast - fresh fruit, toast with jam, greek yoghurt with honey, pastries and fresh orange juice. We could also order eggs, bacon, omelettes and so on, from a menu. We highly recommend the french toast with cinnamon syrup!

The hotel is right by the old town and the harbour, which in my opinion is the best location in Chania. Andreas and Alexandra, who run the hotel, are very nice people, and they did everything they could to make our stay perfect. La Maison Ottomane was the highlight of our vacation, and I highly recommend a visit. We stayed for five days, but we wish we could stay much, much longer. We will definitely come back to this hotel the next time we visit Crete!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaninaLauritsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guests

As you were fairly quiet during your stay we wondered whether we were doing and had done all that we could to make your stay a happy one... It is so good to hear that you were simply (and quietly) enjoying la Maison. Alexandra and I will be delighted to see you here again.

Best regards, Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

La Maison Ottomane is the kind of place you always hope to stumble across on holiday, but very rarely find. It combines the standards of a five-star hotel with the warmth and personality of a stay with kindly, knowledgeable and extremely tasteful friends.

The hotel is based in the old part of town, conveniently near the old harbour, but away from the most touristed parts. The excavated remains of the old Minoan city are just on the doorstep.

There are just three rooms in this tiny gem of a hotel. We stayed in the Constantinople suite, exquisitely decorated in late Ottoman style with Turkish and Moroccan antiques, rugs and paintings. It's like a photoshoot from World of Interiors. There are many delightful touches, from the camel tea set in the 'minibar' to the use of an iPad with ultra-fast wifi.

The (Cretan-made) bed is the most comfortable we've ever slept in, but we were enticed to drag ourselves out of it each day by the thought of breakfast on the terrace - a feast of fresh cherries, nectarines and melons, honey-drizzled Greek yoghurt, freshly baked pastries, and the most delectable Cretan omelettes imaginable.

Andreas and Alexandra, who run the hotel, provided the most solicitous and kindly hospitality throughout our stay, offering plentiful local recommendations for restaurants and activities, and researching trip ideas for us. They were kindness itself.

Chania is a lovely and intriguing city, but a stay at La Maison Ottomane alone would be worth making the trip there. Exceptional in every way.

Room Tip: The Constantinople Suite is a duplex apartment with a separate living space - ideal for longer stays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sockrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
It has taken a little while to respond to a review which simply left us speechless. If la Maison Ottomane is "...the kind of place you always hope to stumble across..." then perhaps yours is the kind of review that kind of place aspires to... There is little to say that can mean more than a thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

Thank you.

Alexandra and Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0.2 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 108 in Chania Town
848 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 108 in Chania Town
473 reviews
27.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 108 in Chania Town
1,214 reviews
31.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
97.4 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Ottomane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Ottomane

Property: La Maison Ottomane
Address: 32 Parodos Kanevaro, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Ottomane 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison Ottomane combines the comforts of an elegant boutique hotel with the relaxed informality of a luxury guest house. Inspired by the opulence of Ottoman rule, it is filled with fine antiques, paintings, carpets and porcelain, scents from Marrakech, silks and sweet delicacies from Istanbul.. High-speed wifi, complimentary use of tablet computers, wireless printing and that rare Chania asset of private parking, help us support the business and leisure traveller to a high level of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Maison Ottomane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Ottomane Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing