We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monte Vardia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monte Vardia
Ranked #28 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Wonderful, warm experience. Eleni and family made us feel right at home. Breakfasts were excellent. Location is a real plus - away from the crowded city but only minutes away by car. The airport is also just ten minutes away. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was so helpful and caring. Rarely have we had a member of staff waving good-bye to us as we drove away. Monte Vardia is a special find.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan34000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    33
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
60
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

One night stand! Fabulous owner, gorgeous pool and breathtaking views!

This was booked site unseen, read several reviews through hotels.com and decided to give it a try, excellent choice, lovely little place. It's family owned and operated and everyone pitches in.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Can't comment on the value as I didn't pay. The staff were happy friendly and helpfull. Which is great especially after travelling all night. Breakfast was good the room was clean. Overall a good 3 stars

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

After arriving in the early hours of the morning(late flight arrival) it was lovely to be greeted
By a smiling face. Comfortable clean room and good breakfast. Great if you arrive in Chania before setting off to explore the island. Helpful staff and good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Both times I've stayed at the Monte Vardia, I have been very happy with my room and the atmosphere it provides. They have a nice pool with a outdoor bar. All of the upstairs rooms have a good view of the ocean with balconies to sit out on. The hotel is in a great location there is a good place to eat right next door and a mini market to buy snacks from. If you want to go downtown you can just take a left out of the parking lot and its a straight shot to downtown Chania it will take about 8 minutes. You'll be hard pressed to find a better staff and price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We are a couple in our 60's who have been travelling for 9 months. so have stayed in a lot of hotels.
We booked here for 4 days and stayed 6.
This hotel is older but is very clean and well maintained.
The shower had tons of hot water at an excellent pressure.
The large double bed was very comfortable.
The Air Con kept the room toasty warm on the odd cool winter day with help from the double glazing.
The room was large.
WiFi was available throughout the building. On arrival we had a few glitches but the owners were quick to sort it out, even bringing in a technician.
The breakfast was quite adequate with eggs cooked to order.
We appreciated the availability of tea and coffee throughout the day.
Eleni (receptionist) was an absolute gem. I wasn't allowed to take her home with me.
As mentioned in other reviews she could not do enough for us and helped us with directions to restaurants, onward bookings, advice on sightseeing trips and so on.
She has become a real friend.
The hotel is in a lovely quiet location between the city and the airport with tons of room for parking. You would need your own vehicle.
There are a host of restaurants and a well stocked supermarket all within 5 minutes driving.
If we return to Crete we will certainly stay at this accommodation which is centrally located for a lot of sightseeing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Excellent family run hotel offering a truly personal service. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful but a special thanks to Eleni and Christina who were exceptional. Eleni's local knowledge of the best beaches, restaurants and places to see ensured we got the most from our holiday. The hotel has a beautiful pool and wonderful views over Chania harbour. We stayed for a week bed and breakfast which offered exceptional value with lovely food. Nothing was too much trouble and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to others. We hope to return one day as we enjoyed our stay so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FearandLoathing48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
4.4 mi away
SunCity Hotel Studios
SunCity Hotel Studios
#27 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.4 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Apartments
Esplanade Hotel Apartments
#39 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#17 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
4.8 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.4 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#18 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Vardia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Vardia

Property: Monte Vardia
Address: 2 Akrotiriou & Odyssea Elyti, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Vardia 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Monte Vardia is run by our family and therefore we, as a team, make it our priority to give immediate, faster attention and service to our guests in order that their stay with us is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Our strong commitment and loyalty provides determination to help keep our business successful and our customers happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monte Vardia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Vardia Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing