We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay”
Review of Casa di Pietra

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chania Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa di Pietra
Ranked #47 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best place to stay”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We were looking for accommodation in Chania(we hadn't pre-booked based on a tip in wiki travel) and had shortlisted a few hotels in Chania..Casa di pietra was no 4 on my list because the first 3 had a view of the sea..we went hunting for the first 3 with the city map and to our surprise found Casa di Pietra when we took a turn on one of the roads..we met Joseph at the reception and told him we were looking for accommodation..he said I have 4 rooms in total out of which 2 are vacant..he offered for me to have a look and select the room before I could decide..my husband waited in the lobby with the bags and I went to see the rooms..I was so surprised with the cleanliness and the beautiful room that I instantly agreed..Joseph is the best host and gives you all the information you need..Lula cleaned the room every morning, changed the towels and even neatly folded the clothes we left on the bed..they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine, fruits, walnuts and delicious cake..it is the best place to stay in Chania..and believe me when leaving you are sure to promise yourself that you will return and stay in casa di pietra....thank you Joseph and Lula...

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jatin_n_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

This 4 rooms hotel is a really great hotel in the hart of the old town. Rooms respect the venetian architecture as the whole building used to be a venetian home, the owners are really friendly and helpful. The feeling while staying in this hotel is amazing. Not suggested to families or old people as there is no elevator and the stairs are realy small and high.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polyvios P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hosts at this small family run hotel. Spotlessly clean. Fresh fruit. Fresh flowers. Helpful staff. Charming area. Joseph and Spiradoula so friendly. Lovely to sit and chat with them. What an awesome place!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank portou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Joseph and Lula are the perfect hosts. On our arrival we were given a bowl of fresh fruit and a bottle of wine and the next day Lula brought a plate of delicious home baking. They were both extremely helpful with directions and advice. The hotel is in a wonderful historic area, close to downtown with great shopping along the way and several good restaurants. Our room was large, very clean and comfortable and we had a great view of the surrounding neighbourhood from our balcony. On our departure, it felt like we were leaving good friends. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We loved our room overlooking the street in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJets0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Huge, clean, comfortable rooms full of character in a beautiful building full of history. The location is great, near restaurants, cafes, shops and minimarket. The owners are kind and generous people. And so very honest, it has been my experience that owners may show you the least desirable room and see if you will take it, but at Casa di Pietra she show me both rooms they have available for the same price and one was definitely better than other. Also the lady of the house is a wonderful baker. The price is a bargain for the size and quality of the accommodations.I would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonkeyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed there because the host of our last hotel recommended this place to us. It turned out as excellent choice. Located in the center of Chania, very close to the beautiful harbour, it was an ideal spot to discover the town and the nearby beaches. Owners are very, very friendly, rooms clean and spacious. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Good Location, Charming Facilities, Fine Management. Friendly and helpful couple manage this historic and culturally maintained guesthouse within the Chania castle walls. Room and facilities were clean, in good condition, and secure.

While quiet for sleeping, shopping and restaurants are nearby. Chania has a beautiful harbor-front tourist area. The picturesque Samaria Gorge hike is easily accessible from Chania (bus and boat connections are routine).

Hotel was competitively priced. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hera
Hotel Hera
#98 of 110 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#32 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pandora Suites Hotel
Pandora Suites Hotel
#37 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo
Hotel Palazzo
#55 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#63 of 110 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa di Pietra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa di Pietra

Property: Casa di Pietra
Address: 37 Theotokopoulou str | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Casa Di Pietra Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing