We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Texas visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Belmondo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belmondo
Ranked #21 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Texas visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Friendly, courteous, helpful and hard working staff! They go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay. We stayed in the Belmondo room on the upper floor from Sept. 9-20, 2013. Actually, we are in our last day here.
It is more like staying in villa than a hotel. The building is beautiful and full of character. Our room has a huge rooftop terrace that directly overlooks the Old Town Harbor and lighthouse. We had a large breakfast each morning on the terrace and spent any downtime we had out there enjoying a drink. The hotel walls are 2' thick so all noises are muffled. We never heard our neighbors! Likewise with the noise on the harbor below. Close your windows and you have silence. It is okay with the windows open.
You cannot have a better location for a hotel. All of the shops and restaurants are outside your door. The beach is a 10 minute walk. The desk can arrange tours for you or buses and travel agents are minutes away. Tour boats are at the harbor. I really cannot say enough about this place.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    61
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
112
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

A great place to stay. Best location possible in Chania. Loved our room and the view to the old harbour. The hotel staff are all sweet and warm, particularly Maria who's been fantastic and took good care of my family from the time we booked till the time we checked out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJGeorgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

if you go to Chania, stay at the Belmondo (in the Belmondo Room) and you will never want to leave. It was absolute paradise, amazing views, breakfast is brought to your door every morning. My husband and I stayed there for a week and never even had to rent a car to go anywhere else. Everything is within walking distance. I can't wait to go back! It was totally out of this world. Located right in the middle of the village.

Room Tip: Choose the Belmondo Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

A really beautiful, little hotel, in a great location, overlooking the old port of Chania. We stayed for a week, having booked the Belmondo Suite. The room was very well designed and furnished, and had a very large balcony which overlooked the bay. The view was wonderful, and it was really nice to have breakfast on the balcony whilst watching the town come to life. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and seemed to take great pleasure in ensuring that guests enjoyed their stay. The location of the hotel is a real plus point, a short walk to the old town with its many restaurants and bars, 5 minutes to the cathedral, and a 15 minute walk to the beach. We really enjoyed our staff and find it very difficult to fault the Belmondo experience.

Room Tip: Try to book the Belmondo Suite or one of the other rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had the belmondo hotel experience one week ago when we went there for some vacations.The staff was really amazing and friendly we had what we wanted, the breakfast was really good and also huge with a different taste of products almost everyday,the satff was there any time we wanted given us many informations of what to do and what to visit, the hotel is really nice and also every room is different, everything was so clear and nice!!
I recoment this hotel to everyone!!!Its a gem in the Chania town.

Room Tip: The suites are big with amazing view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariachania75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Like other reviewers have said, what makes this small hotel special is its position. Our extremely large, clean room opened onto a small balcony (just big enough for 2 people to sit and eat breakfast) overlooking Chania Harbour. Really wonderful view. And while restaurants were just 2 floors below our window, at night, with our windows closed, we could hardly hear any noise at all. Staff very friendly and helpful and breakfast excellent. But I do have to agree with a previous reviewer about the beds, but I will also add the pillows ... both extremely hard and uncomfortable. The room was also quite expensive, compared to other hotels we have stayed in ... but we knew we were paying for that view: and it was worth it. Wi Fi was also erratic, which was a little frustrating; and be warned ... even staying on the 1st floor there were 2 sets of steep steps to climb, with no assistance offered to help with bags. But would we stay here again? Yes!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizandMikeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We walked into our room at this hotel and it was so beautiful it took my breath away. And that was before we opened the windows. There were two french windows that opened up onto a narrow veranda that ran the length of the very large room and was smack in the middle of the old harbor with a view over the water. Eating breakfast on that balcony was a wonderful experience and it almost made up for the bed. I could not get enough of the view. The staff was friendly and helpful, giving very good tips for day trips. The breakfast was very generous and tasty. Shame about the bed -- it was awful -- something like lying in the road with the pavement as your pillow. That is the only reason I didn't give this wonderful hotel a top rating and don't know if I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Pandora Suites Hotel
Pandora Suites Hotel
#43 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#25 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#30 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#13 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmondo

Property: Hotel Belmondo
Address: 10 Zampeliou Str, Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belmondo 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belmondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmondo Hotel Chania
Hotel Belmondo Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing