We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pace to stay in Chania, Crete”
Review of Hotel Belmondo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Belmondo
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pace to stay in Chania, Crete”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Belmondo is a really great little hotel right down by the water in the old harbor of Chania. It's literally steps from a host of restaurants and shops in the heart of the town. The staff is excellent, very helpful and friendly in every way and really makes you feel at home. They have a leisurely home made breakfast every morning out on the front porch that is very nice. The rooms are quite large and very comfortable and everything is super clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will most certainly stay here again! Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    62
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
117
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boulder co
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friends were in a room with an ocean view, which was fabulous. I was in the back, which was quieter. The view of the street was nice enough, but I would have traded the relative quiet for the view. There is no lift. The breakfast is quite nice, and it is served in your room. The staff is wonderful. The location is terrific. We walked everywhere and had a great time. The wi-fi was a bit iffy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were arriving late from Kithira and via email the staff arranged a cab for us a godsend. When we arrived we thought the hotel was in a perfect location, our only gripe was that we could not stay longer

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robmary765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I recommend this hotel as it is in the centre of the old town of Chania and one step from the old harbour. Whatever you need is near.The ladies at the reception were very gentle and ready to serve any information i needed. The room was spacious with great choice of old furnitures, whereas the bathroom was so modern i enjoyed my breakfast near the flowers at the garden. I am looking forward to travel again at Chania and stay at Belmondo hotel:a paradise in the centre of old town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angeliki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel that appears quite small but has a good choice of rooms with courtyard views or sea views and is very friendly towards customers. I had my breakfast out on the balcony by the front door of the hotel and the breakfast was large and good and was an absolute pleasant experience. The room was large, quiet , substantially better than my previous hotels room and was less than a third of the price that I had paid the night before. I wish I had found this place earlier.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are a lot more money but have exceptionally good views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelleraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Belmondo is in a terrific location. It's not only the view, but also the convenience of being right in the centre of the picturesque Venetian harbour. There is easy access to almost everything you could need a short distance away: boat trips; cafes; restaurants; the excellent Maritime Museum. You name it, it's near. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. There is a pleasant, homely atmosphere to this hotel that makes you feel good about choosing it. Maria is one of the hardest-working hotel managers you will find in Chania, performing at least three jobs at the same time in this charming boutique hotel. Bravo, Maria! The rest of the staff are fabulous, too. With such a central location there is a tiny amount of background noise, but it did not disturb our sleep. The breakfast is large, can be brought to your room and the staff can tailor it to your requirements. Other aspects of the hotel such as the daily cleaning were good. Getting there is simple: email Maria to call you a taxi from the airport or port. The driver will park as close as possible to the pedestrianised street and help you with your luggage. If you have a car, you need very precise information about parking in advance - it's complicated. Don't expect a huge dining area, lift, or swimming pool or parking lot - it's not that kind of place, and all the better for it. The variable wi-fi didn't bother me, given the range of nearby places that provided the service. Finally, one interesting point. At the time of writing there are several hotels towards the top of the Trip Advisor 'Chania Town' rankings which are located some distance from Chania Town. In fact, they are not in the actual town at all! However, Hotel Belmondo does exactly what it says.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnieBussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The best thing about this hotel was the location near the Venetian port. Everything we wanted was near.
There were some problems, mainly the Wi-Fi which didn't work almost at all, but the management and the receptionists were trying to fix it and were very helpful.
The room was ok, but sometimes the sounds from the outside and from the inside (other guests walking and talking near our room) bothered a bit.
Our room didn't have such a lovely view as the better rooms, but that was expected due to the low price we got for the room.
And it was nice to get our breakfast to our room every morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catmint2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 109 in Chania Town
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 109 in Chania Town
1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 109 in Chania Town
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#6 of 109 in Chania Town
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#28 of 109 in Chania Town
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#30 of 109 in Chania Town
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmondo

Property: Hotel Belmondo
Address: 10 Zampeliou Str, Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belmondo 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belmondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmondo Hotel Chania
Hotel Belmondo Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing