We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome, good location and loads of space”
Review of Casa Veneta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Veneta
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome, good location and loads of space”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I took our two year old boy to Chania for a week's break in April 2012. Casa Veneta was a great choice. We got a large room, with a good kitchenette to sort out a hungry boy, a balcony to sit out on and enjoy the street scene below, which felt we were going out after he went to bed. The 3 level apartment was very clean and well equipped - loads of room. Our bed was firm but really comfortable.

Chania was a great town for us, with the Old Town to explore, and trips to the city beach. What made it really special though, was the welcome that the owner's son George gave us. Our son and him got on so well, and he was unbelievably helpful - endlessly phoning the bus station and helping us with ideas about places to go, all of them excellent. We were really sad to go, but will be back, I hope. We will certainly recommend Chania and Casa Veneta to our friends.

Thanks, George!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JamesAnnaIvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    55
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
233
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We had a very warm welcome to this central little hotel. I am fussy and I thought this clean with a simple uncluttered character, certainly not plush but lovely. Our room was smashing, on three levels with sofas, and basic kitchen. A lovely balcony to watch people pass by, with part sea view, and very central to the main sightseeing areas and not far from the beach. We paid 60 euros and thought that good value. It was September so it was not noisy, but I don't think you could go wrong staying here. Thanks to Vrissis for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank greathols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2008

I'm not sure I agree with the first reviewer. We stayed for 4 nights in October. We felt the price was pretty high - 60 euros - and while it is admirable that the former derelict house has been totally rebuilt to form a small hotel, some of the adaptations were not that imaginative. House-keeping I would term OK rather than superb - we did not get clean towels even though we were there for 4 nights. The manager seems almost over-anxious to please - a good fault . The owner is a very practical person and can be capable of ad hominem room pricing, we felt.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — The fussy conversion into a hotel with some awkward rooms that could do with re-thinking
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Snurdbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

Casa Veneta is a nice little hotel, centrally located in a beautiful road in the old town of Chania, 1 minute walk from the venetian port. The building is renovated, something which is not always the rule in the old part of the town. Our room was specious, it has aircontitioning with an extra cost and it was also very clean.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank manasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaveneta, owner at Casa Veneta, responded to this review, 5 June 2009
The apartments are open-plan and on three levels linked by wooden stairs, with the kitchenette below, a living area in the middle and a twin-bedded sleeping gallery above. All possess tv and air-condition and private bathroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 108 in Chania Town
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#6 of 108 in Chania Town
1,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 108 in Chania Town
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#9 of 108 in Chania Town
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 108 in Chania Town
243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#13 of 108 in Chania Town
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Veneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Veneta

Property: Casa Veneta
Address: 57 Theotokopoulou, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Veneta 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a narrow side street in the old quarter of Chania, Casa Veneta has plenty of olde worlde charm.It is a new, four storey building which we have sympathetically reconstructed from an old Venetian facade. For your convenience we have a television lounge on the ground floor. We have kept the atmosphere of the Grand Venetian period by using stripped polished wood for our interiors, and giving some studios a gallery bedroom.A friendly, most charming base in an excellent location from which to explore this historic and atmospheric town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Veneta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Veneta Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing