We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economic Hotel in the Venetian Old Town of Chania”
Review of Helena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Helena Hotel
Ranked #17 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We booked the hotel some months before, and asked for a room on the highest floor with sea view (it is clear: in the narrow lanes of Old Chania it can be dark and noisy). All informations requested we got at once by mail in advance. So the room we got was quiet and bright, the internet was in best function. The manager of the Hotel, Mr. Patsourakis, is very helpful, carries the luggage in the upper floors, and brings it for the departure through the lanes to the point, were you can arrive with the car. He speaks a nice and for foreigners easily understandable Greek. It is a great advantage that he does not impose English to every foreigner (like many of his compatriots in the town), he appreciates efforts to speak Greek and helps, when it is necessary, with some English words. We thank him so much for his Greek lessons!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the highest floor with view to the Old Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guenther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel owner made us feel more welcome than anyone else on our trip so far. The rooms are excellent value for money, and the location is perfect if you want to be in the 'old town' but with minimal noise.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauliecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a written email confirmation for two rooms for two couples and they asked that we contact them a couple of days before which we did. This was only hours before leaving our home and we now had no place to stay in the old city of Hania. Rooms were full hotel after hotel and we made these reservations early specifically to stay within the old city. Wee were advised that they did not know anything about our written confirmation. And when we told them in frustration that we would post this on the internet they hung up. Post this Helena Hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed just one night in the top room of the hotel. Well equipped and had a nice breeze from the see going trough. The owner was very nice to talk too and extreme relaxed. For no reason he gave us a discount on the room. One minus for some people might be the narrow staircase.
During the night we wanted to sleep with open windows. This was a bit hard, as the nightlife at the close by port went on and on until the early morning hours. This is not the hotels fault, but keep this in mind if you don't want to sleep with A/C and are looking for a quite night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinPape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here just one night, before we went to Heraklion to catch a ferry super early the next morning. It was Good Friday, so the town was bustling with activity and celebration. This accounted for our night of the WORST sleep ever. There were some rowdy young people who stayed outside our hotel ALL night long LOUDLY having fun, and it was super annoying. But, that's not the hotel's fault, and to be fair we were there during a holiday so I'm sure it's not usually like that. The bed was the only small complaint I had, it was very firm. Other than that, the room was nice, the bathrooms were really nice, and the place is in a great location. The hotel owner is sooo nice! ANd his son was very nice, too. We loved the hotel owner. We talked to him several times at length, and one evening after heading back to our hotel we saw him out at a local bar. He insisted we sit with him and his friend for some drinks, so we did. He also insisted on paying for our drinks, which was quite hospitable, especially considering their crisis right now. I was so glad we stayed here, and I would definitely return in the future. The place is great! And it's a fantastic deal you won't be able to find elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This hotel has a wonderful staff, both the owner and his son. Always willing to help, and providing great service. We have stayed here twice, but only for a very short period of time. The room we had was not the greatest, but as we only asked for a place to stay for a very short time we didn't ask for more. Next time we might stay for a bit longer, and ask for one of the rooms with great views of the old harbor. Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Nordkvinnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We booked 2 nights in September, and unfortunately were not able to make the first night as the Megajet from Santorini arrived late into Iraklio meaning we missed the last bus to Chania. The next day the owner put us in a large triple room as we had wanted a double bed. Whilst we didn't have a view the room was spacious with fridge, kettle and 2 chair/lounges opposite a coffee table. We also breakfasted at the little cafe he recommended which was great. To top it off he then only charged us for 1 night even though we hadn't cancelled until very late the night before. Very much appreciated and will definitely stay again.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank tjncj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
2.1 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel
Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel
#3 of 115 in Chania Town
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alena  Apartments
Alena Apartments
#16 of 115 in Chania Town
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vranas Studios
Vranas Studios
#14 of 115 in Chania Town
189 reviews
2.7 mi away
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
624 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helena Hotel

Address: 1 A, Parodos Theotokopoulou, Chania Town, Crete 15731, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: £38 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Helena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic, traditional house in the Old graphic Venetian port of Chania. Located in a narrow side street of Theotokopoulou. The decor of the rooms is traditional and simple and gives a feeling of warmth and hospitality to our guests from the first moment of their arrival. Most of our rooms have a magnificent view to the Old Venetian port. Helena hotel provides 7 comfortable rooms providing all modern conveniences (WC, TV, frige, Air-conditioning). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Helena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helena Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing