We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best year yet!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplanade Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Esplanade Hotel Apartments
Ranked #40 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best year yet!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

This is our third time at Esplanade and again everything was perfect. A lovely clean, one bedroom apartment. clean pool and deck chairs. Beach and fantastic taverna in walking distance and a co-op supermarket selling local products. Kalathas is also and nice little town with lovely villas and wide roads.

Unfortunately, my mother broke her foot this year in Crete and Yianni the owner did as much as he could to help! Helped us with bags, suitcases, called the hospitals for her and much more.

I would really recommend this place for its cleanliness, clean and soft towels every 2/3days. But it is Yianni and his love for his hotels that makes it a perfect stay.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank smusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The thing you will undoubtedly take away from your stay at Esplanade Apartments is how wonderful, warm and welcoming the owner Yiannis is.

A late flight, a broken rental car and a GPS that took us to the suburbs of Chania instead of the hotel meant we had to make a rather sheepish call to Yiannis... At 1am. He was so kind, he came out on his moped to find us, then drove us back to the apartments and settled us in with all the info we needed.

Yiannis absolutely makes the place what it is. He clearly puts so much love into his business and he genuinely wants all his guests to have a brilliant time! When we asked for his recommendation on where to buy good olive oil, he hooked us up. He knows all the good places to eat and visit and it's fair to say his energy and positivity set the tone for our entire trip in Crete!

The rooms are spotlessly clean and new towels were provided more frequently than expected. It was amazing value for money to stay here and getting a new friend in the bargain was a great, unexpected bonus! We will definitely be back another year, and highly recommend Esplanade as a great budget conscious choice for seeing Western Crete.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank melonfawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Unfortunately, we could only stay one night in this hotel. But it was one of the best hotels of all our stay in Greece. The room was so clean that we could have eaten on the floor. It contained a small kitchen with all the necessary equipment to cook. From the pool, and from our 2 balconies, we could admire the sea and the sunset. There is a grocery store and a lovely beach at a walking distance, but it is preferable to have a car to go to the beach. The owner was so nice with us, he even offered to pick us up from the airport, but we had a car.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Simhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent four nights in one of Esplanade's apartments and it was great. The rooms were large and clean, and included a kitchenette, pool, a/c, and free wifi. The apartments are about 15 minutes outside of Chania, but are within walking distance of a beach and two grocery stores. There are no sidewalks in the area though, so renting a car is probably a good idea. The apartments are an incredibly good deal, we only paid 60 euro per night. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and had lots of suggestions for day trips and sightseeing around Crete. We had a wonderful time at Espanade, and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Claire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel last year after finding it accidentally. But what an amazing find! Yianni the hotel owner was overjoyed when I emailed him to tell him that we were coming back.

Lovely clean apartment, very big room, nice clean bathroom with a bath and shower. From the swimming pool there is an amazing view of the sea and mountains. So close to two of my favourite beaches in Crete.

Yianni was helpful and chatty and would do anything to help. A nice personal touch that you do not get in many hotels.

I was very sad to leave but I hope to go again next year!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank smusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

It is the second year in a row I stay in this hotel which I found accidentally last year. It is great value for money. Cheaper than any other hotel in the area, it provides all basic comforts (a/c in all rooms, kitchenette, pool), it is very clean and quiet and Iannis is very very helpful. I will probably choose it every year. It is very close to the beach of Kalathas. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank c0rrupted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We have been in Crete 5 times and it goes without saying that we choose Esplanade every year. The hotel is situated 10 min by car from the centre of Chania and 9 km from the airport which is the ideal location to be used like a base to explore the beautiful west side of the island.

Renting a car is a must since the rooms at Esplanade are all self catering apartments, there is no restaurant, pub or shop on the premises. Esplanade is not really in the centre of any action but the surroundings are nice and calm and you get a feeling that you pay a visit to Yiannis (the hotel owner) at his private place far away from the impersonal tourist industry.

The nearby sandy beach of Kalathas (a few minutes from the hotel) offers you a good standard with stools, umbrellas, toilets, change cabin, showers and lifeguard and it is situated in a little bay with shallow crystal-clear water perfect for young children.
The rooms are spacious and simply but tastefully and robustly furnished with telephone, wireless network connection and TV set. The blinds and curtains are very good and keep the room dark enough for sleeping late! The remote controlled air conditioning is excellent, rooms are cleaned every day and sheets and towels are changed every third day. Beds and bedding feel nice and fresh, kitchen facilities are very good with pots, pans, plates, glasses, cups, cutlery, coffee machine, bowls and toaster. The stove is a two ring cooker without oven, but serves well for simple cooking. All rooms have spacious balconies with tables and chairs and the view facing the pool is breathtaking with the sea and the sunset in the background.

The hotel has a small but wonderful pool with lighting appliance, loungers and tables and a beautiful surrounding garden with a wide array of different flowering bushes and trees.

Only a few minutes from Esplanade there is two supermarkets where you can buy everything you need and freshly baked bread in the mornings. You can phone from the room for pizzas or gyros (phone number is in Yiannis' excellent information binder)
If you get really hungry and don't feel like cooking, we can recommend the Bouraki Taverna five minutes from Esplanade on the way to Chania with excellent Cretan specialities exclusively using Cretan virgin olive oil in all their meals including stews or fried dishes.

But remember one thing: your absolutely best experience will be Yiannis himself. People on Crete are generally very friendly and helpful, but Yiannis’ friendliness and warmth really helps you to feel comfortable in every way... really something to remember!

Stayed a couple of weeks June-July 2011 with my family

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank LuckyLuciano53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
2.4 mi away
Monte Vardia
Monte Vardia
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lena Beach Hotel
Lena Beach Hotel
#66 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
7.1 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
SunCity Hotel Studios
SunCity Hotel Studios
#24 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#17 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.7 mi away
Akrotiri
Akrotiri
#43 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Apartments

Property: Esplanade Hotel Apartments
Address: Kalathas | Akrotiri, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade hotel-apartments is located in Kalathas, 9 klm from the center of Chania in Crete and only 850 meters from the sandy beach of Kalathas. All 13 apartments are comfortable and have all amenities that tourists will need while their holidays. Private bathroom, swimming pool, children's pool, Free WIFI INTERNET, AC, TV, fridge, kitchenette, telephone, etc. There are big apartments with 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, 3 balconies, about 110m2/each one, which are suitable for big families or a group of 4-5-6 friends! Of course, there are smaller apartments for families with 1 or 2 small children and studios for couples. We can ensure our clients that we offer very clean and confortable apartments and an enjoyable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Apartments Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing