We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 great days at Frida's”
Review of Frida Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Frida Apartments
Ranked #4 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Just returned from a great stay at Frida, with my wife and two kids (6 and 9).
An excellent place to relax and a great base to explore chania and surrounding areas.
Staff are the best I have had, really friendly and helpful ion any way the can. Special mention to Joanna - she really helped us, suggesting trips and activites.
This is a place we will visit again in the future!
It is a a great place to stay both with kids and if you want quiet days/nights.
We loved the pool area, the short way to both the beach and chania/the old city.
This give you the feeling of the real greece, not just any charter trip.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms at the upper level. The lower level rooms did not have the same good view, but m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arvidf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

Enjoyed a five night stay at Frida in September. George and the rest of the staff were very helpful and always on hand for advice. We moved rooms after our first night (through no fault of the hotel, we just spied a room that suited our needs better!) and the staff did everything they could to make it easy! Rooms are basically decorated but perfectly suited to purpose and very spacious. If you plan on eating in a lot you may find the kitchen a bit basically stocked but it was fine for us preparing breakfast. There’s also the option to take breakfast on the fabulous terraced area around the pool, with plenty of choice. Later in the day the bar serves a good selection of bar snacks, has options for dinner and was a nice place to enjoy a cocktail before heading out. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk into Chania, but it’s a really pleasant walk along the coast in the day with the option to stop off for refreshment at one of the many good restaurants which line the city beach. We did find the walk back after dark tricky, especially as a short cut over a foot bridge is not lit, meaning a longer walk on the main road – so we tended to opt for a taxi for around 5 or 6 euro. Chania itself has plenty of facilities for tourists whilst maintaining a “lived-in” feeling which maybe lacking from some of the resorts further west along the coast. For a decent beech you will need to travel a bit, either by local bus or hire car. Elafonisi beach is beautiful and well worth the trip. No major negatives but the linen \ towels were not changed on a daily basis and the location may not suit those wanting to be in the thick of things, but a great base for exploring the west of the island.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elnds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Lovely, quiet wee place with extremely helpful staff. Our apartment's decor was very rustic and basic but nice and clean. We had asked for a quiet room and were given one (room 11) just yards from the bar/restaurant and overlooking a childrens' play area..... Hmmm..... Fortunately no kids materialised and the music/conversation from the bar was negligible, but it could easily become your worst nightmare during high season I would imagine. The food served on the premises was top-notch - a cut above your usual on-site snack bar. It was also great being able to gaze out over the sea and towards Chania town. I would definitely come and stay here again as all the staff were lovely and genuinely wanted to help in any way they could.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesmayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Had a great holiday at Frida's. Very clean apartments, very friendly staff and ideally starting point for a relaxation holiday. We walked every day to the beach nearby which is about 10 to 15 minutes and there are some very nice restaurants and coffee bars to enjoy too. all in all a very good holiday, and would absolutely recommend this if you like a nice clean quiet place.

Room Tip: ask for a double bed, we had two single beds and put them together. the cleaners were so friendly to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Extremely clean friendly well kept Hotel/apartments with 2 small pools with sea views in a slightly elevated position 5 minutes walk from the main road West of Chania. Chania is the nicest town in Crete, and it is about 20 minutes walk or a 5 Euro taxi ride away. The apartments are small but facing the sea view, even ours on the ground floor, with TV, aircon and wifi.
There is beach 10 minutes walk in front on the hotel with shower but no umbrellas or beds, uncommercialised, where
it is worth snorkelling. Buses pass every half hour, and the excursions to the Samarian Gorge and Elephonisi were 24 Euros which we took and were good value. (ISamarian Gorge is a spectacular 10 mile walk,;hot so take swimming costume for beach at the end of it! Only open May to Oct.)

Room Tip: Slightly hard single beds in our room and all others maybe??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliechoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Everyone working at Fridas do their best to make it comfortable for their guest. The place has a very good atmosphere and it is easy to enjoy life there. Beautiful view from the restaurant where they serve good breakfast and where you also can get both lunch and dinner. Two nice pool areas, nice room, 30 minutes walk to Chania old town - we will surely come back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingunn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

A wonderful stay at Frida's.
Our apartment opened out directly to sea view. Wi fi connection was excellent, air con worked well and breakfast was good. The hotel staff were all very friendly, made you feel at home and the premises are clean. The beach is just a 10 minute walk away and is clean and quiet!
You can walk to Chania city for 15-20 min or take a taxi for €5 or even bus for €1 one way
A perfect choice if you are looking for a break...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bfly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
2.1 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#20 of 111 in Chania Town
402 reviews
1.0 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
567 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#9 of 111 in Chania Town
659 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
355 reviews
5.4 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#17 of 111 in Chania Town
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frida Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frida Apartments

Address: Marinou Antypa, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: £46 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frida Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frida Apartments consists of 3 independent buildings with a total of 28 apartments. Situated in the suburbs of the town of Chania (just 1,5 km from the city centre). Frida is built on a hill in a gorgeous location next to the countryside with a view to the Cretan sea and the city of Chania. The place is ideal for a drive to the attractive beach of Agioi Apostoli/Agia Marina (10 minutes by bus) or a visit to the picturesque Venetian Harbour of Chania (1,5 km). Alternatively, you can walk to the lovely beach of Nea Chora, which is only 600 meters away from Frida. A bus stop with a regular bus service to Chania is only 300 meters away.Among the facilities at “Frida Apartments” you will find our 2 swimming pools for endless dives with a view to Cretan sea, you will relax at “Frida” snack bar drinking your coffee / refreshment and you will taste our famous “Cretan traditional” breakfast in our morning buffet. Additionally, you can enjoy the marvelous views and sunrise from the balcony of your apartment while you “surf” at the internet through our free wi-fi network.At Frida you will meet a friendly atmosphere and experience the well-known Cretan hospitality as it is run on a family base from people who will always be willing to satisfy your needs. Frida Apartments is an ideal choice for those seeking quiet and relaxing holidays in a place not far away from the city of Chania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Frida Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frida Apartments Hotel Chania Town
Frida Apartments Chania
Frida Apartments Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing