We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just outside of town, quiet place, nice view from the pool and breakfast room.”
Review of Frida Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frida Apartments
Ranked #4 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013

First some negatives: Rooms are slightly run down, door didn't close very well, the bathroom is too small, the beds are low quality. The fridge is making an unpleasant noise which is not the best for the night!

Some positives: very nice people, room size is quite ok, the pool and the area around (trees, garden) is very relaxing. Best of all is the breakfast! Good selection of quality food and coffee, do not miss Mrs. Maria's warm milk creme and other delicacies she makes each morning! Great service!

Tip: the town center is walking distance away. If you wake up early one morning before everyone else is out, wear your sport shoes and jog or walk to the center, it is a great experience to see the sun rising and the whole town slowly waking up.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank zuiveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

We travelled to Hania 09/2011 so it was the end of the season. The staff was just great, very friendly! The hotel building was very nice and cozy. Room was all ok, nothing to complain. Food was very good at the tiny restaurant. The only thing wasn´t that nice was the location, but if you didn´t mind walking just 5 minutes or more to get to the bus, that´s fine. We walked to the beach where was a street with few restaurants; there we met local people having fun and that was very good experience for us! And as it was the end of the season, there were lots of locals out in the nights as well :) I suggest to rent a car and drive to the Elafonisi, check out google and you know why ;)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

A very god hotel/apartment God greak breakfast Returent make god food. Have 2 god svimmingpools. You can easy go to a very god beach in Nea Chora, where there are god cheap Tavernas. If you want more I only take about 20 minutes to go to town center.I have been there more than 10 times

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john47OdenseDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We spent 7 days here at the end of October---and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were excellent and although the rooms are not luxurious they are comfortable and very clean. Towels were made available for the poolside. This is a family run business and they care about their guests needs. Breakfast was good each day and was available either inside or outside on the terrace.. Good value all round--we would certainly visit again. 25 minutes easy walk to the Old Town in Chania.....or 5/6 Euos by taxi. Decent local bus service is close by too.

Room Tip: We had 34--adjacent to the lower pool area. Nice setting and quiet in October!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This was a truly lovely and outstanding place to stay. The staff were beyond helpful and truly interested in making your stay in Crete as perfect as possible. Yohanna (forgive the spelling!) Is a total legend, she made our holiday just so great, with all her tips and advice, nothing was too much trouble and she was always smiling! The bar staff were just lovely people, they made you very welcome and the food was top class.

The maids were just great too, my partner made them coffee and gave them choc each day we were about and they were great fun and it was fantastic to have so much fun. Thank you to them! I think they were called Vwhyella (spelt wrong of course!) and Viosis?? They made the apartment spik and span and were always friendly and nice.

The laundry service is well worth taking advantage of, it was our godsend, we went home with no dirty laundry, wonderful!

Only downside was the very small area to cook in. A kettle in the room would have been good for others (we took our own travel kettle, which was much needed). A second work surface would have also been useful as there was not much room. We stayed for 2 weeks and I cooked several times, which was at times a little challenging due to the space.

The air-con was great, we went in October so we only used it sometimes. We used the fur blankets in the wardrobes and my only conern was i wasnt sure if they were washed between visitors. One thing i would recommend is the mosquito plug ins, I got bitten to bits at night until the hotel kindly lent us one and the bitting stopped.

The pictures you see match the hotel and it was just a perfect place to stay!

Thank you to all the staff at Frida who were legends!!

Room Tip: We paid extra for a seaview, but to be honest it wasnt really worth it as most rooms had a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gillybum22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Just returned from a wonderful stay at Frida Apartments.

The atmosphere is friendly and relaxing, the grounds, restaurant (serving absolutely delicious food and wonderful house wines), and pool areas are gorgeous. The views from this hilltop hotel are lovely, and while simply appointed, the apartments are large and very clean. This is one hotel where the pictures and video on the web site are accurate.

The staff is welcoming and really go the distance to make your stay not only enjoyable but memorable. I recieved personalized assistance - on a relaxed and first-name basis - with tours, day trips, and car service - and any requests with regard to amenities, extra towels, soap etc., were fulfilled expediently.

The easy walk to the Old Town of Chania is a pleasant 20 minutes or so through quiet neighborhoods and along the sea. This distance from the old town is a benefit as you will find the immediate area surrounding the hotel is peaceful and quiet.

Frida Apartments is the type of idyllic place one hates to leave. It is also the sort of place that will bring you back to Crete again!

Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I spent a week there with my boyfriend at the end of September and we had a wonderful stay. The staff were always helpful and friendly, and our apartment was great. The hotel has a lovely view of the sea and Chania town itself, as it is set up on the hill a little, and it's just a short walk from the beach (which is nice for swimming and has a lovely restaurant right next to the sand).

I'd suggest staying here if you would like to be away from the main bustle of the town, as it is a little way out of the centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
2.1 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
403 reviews
3.1 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#9 of 111 in Chania Town
674 reviews
12.5 mi away
Spilia Village Hotel
Spilia Village Hotel
#19 of 111 in Chania Town
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
892 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frida Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frida Apartments

Address: Marinou Antypa, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: £42 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frida Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frida Apartments consists of 3 independent buildings with a total of 28 apartments. Situated in the suburbs of the town of Chania (just 1,5 km from the city centre). Frida is built on a hill in a gorgeous location next to the countryside with a view to the Cretan sea and the city of Chania. The place is ideal for a drive to the attractive beach of Agioi Apostoli/Agia Marina (10 minutes by bus) or a visit to the picturesque Venetian Harbour of Chania (1,5 km). Alternatively, you can walk to the lovely beach of Nea Chora, which is only 600 meters away from Frida. A bus stop with a regular bus service to Chania is only 300 meters away.Among the facilities at “Frida Apartments” you will find our 2 swimming pools for endless dives with a view to Cretan sea, you will relax at “Frida” snack bar drinking your coffee / refreshment and you will taste our famous “Cretan traditional” breakfast in our morning buffet. Additionally, you can enjoy the marvelous views and sunrise from the balcony of your apartment while you “surf” at the internet through our free wi-fi network.At Frida you will meet a friendly atmosphere and experience the well-known Cretan hospitality as it is run on a family base from people who will always be willing to satisfy your needs. Frida Apartments is an ideal choice for those seeking quiet and relaxing holidays in a place not far away from the city of Chania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Frida Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frida Apartments Hotel Chania Town
Frida Apartments Chania
Frida Apartments Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing