We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frida Apartments
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Ionas Boutique Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Samaria Hotel(Chania Town)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kriti Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arkadi Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belmondo(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Yakinthos Hotel(Agii Apostoli)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Greco Hotel(Chania Town)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
180
98
24
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
98
24
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslower poolbbq nightexcept sundaysuperior familyair con worked perfectlyminute walkpools are greatneeded airnearest supermarketold townshallow endapartment was greatbrilliant place to staytable chairscooking facilitieshired a cargreek night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here for a week in late May on a great deal with Travel Supermarket. Flights from & to Stansted were at very civilized times and Frida apartments were about 30 mins from Chania airport. We booked half board which was an excellent choice - could not fault the food all week, all the staff are delightful, helpful and extremely obliging. A great variety of evening meals were served during the week (we were asked on arrival if we had any allergies or dislikes) and could not fault the quality, quantity and presentation. The barbeque on our last night was great fun!
Our room although relatively basic was absolutely fine - spotlessly clean and adequate for our requirements. After all, why go to Crete if you're planning to spend a lot of time in your hotel room? The bed was comfy, and although we were near the bar restaurant area were not disturbed at any time, ensuring good quality sleep. The location is good too - easy walking distance in to Chania town and yet quiet and peaceful. Frida has a lovely swimming pools and great views. I think this would appeal to all apart from die-hard party goers and teen holiday makers. We loved it!

Room Tip: Lots of steps up to some of the rooms would make access difficult for some, but there are lower rooms which would be suitable. Staff are so helpful I am sure they would be more than willing to accommodate your particular requirements.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billericayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

A little out of the town which means a longish walk into Chania centre, or a five minute taxi drive. But being elevated, the Frida catches some nice cooling breezes and great views. Lovely apartments and welcoming staff. Added benefit that each apartment has small kitchenette (and I mean really small!) which was enough to store cold drinks and make simple meals. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladodo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here last week for 7 nights and were very impressed. Our superior sea view apartment was excellent - obviously newly renovated - and was cleaned by the maids everyday. It was great value for money; spacious and with free air conditioning which was essential considering the heat. The hotel is situated 25 mins by foot away from the harbour in chania and we tended to walk into town on the evening and then get the bus home for only €1.10. There is a bus stop right near the hotel which is useful. Joanna was extremely friendly and welcoming upon our arrival and throughout our stay - in the process recommending some wonderful restaurants which we tried and loved. Despite the hotel being fully booked, the pool never felt busy since there are two at frida. Never had a problem getting a sunbed and often felt like you had the whole pool to yourself when going for a swim! The pool bar serves cocktails at a reduced rate during happy hour which we attended every night. We also tried the food which was delicious - generous portions. Overall, we will definitely be returning to Chania in the future and staying at Frida apartments!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holclarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I always try to be very fair in my reviews, taking everything into account and especially the value factor ie what you have received for the price paid. Frida is an interesting point. It is quite reasonable priced ( we paid just over £500 for a two week stay room only basis) and has obviously been upgraded and extended over the years. The rooms are fine and there is not much difference between the standard and superior ones. The difference is the views. While we stayed three couples complained about the views they had ( basically none ) and were immediately put into better rooms with a view. Try to avoid the rooms on the roadside for this reason. Also the rooms overlooking, and next to ,the lower pool might not be everyone's cup of tea : especially if you want a quiter time without pool users being in your face. The upper rooms are much better in this respect especially on the upper floors.
The food is fine , with a limited and unchanging menu and would get monotanous after a weeks stay. They really must try harder in this respect. Also, as other reviewers have pointed out, the dining area has no atmosphere with the proviso the view is nice, and we did not appreciate one of the nights we dined there that the waitress was told to water the plants as the restaurant was not busy ! Everywhere we dined in Chania we were always given free gratis a lovely small pudding and a small bottle of raki to drink. At the hotel you are presented with a very small piece of fruit and a shot glass of rake. Not a big point but it was indicative of the way the hotel is run on very tight lines. Another point was having to pay a rent for beach towels ..not seen that in Crete before.

The rooms were cleaned each day except Sunday when not even the toilet bin was emptied...which upset a few people from a hygiene perspective.
Your room was yours on the day of departure until noon when you are charged an extra 20 euro for four hours....even if you have stayed two weeks and the room was not re let. Again indicative of a certain meaness in a small family hotel where you expect more than a national chain might offer in this respect.
One main issue is the steps and slopes that are part of the hotel. If you are not good on steps or fairly steep slopes then be aware. There are steps everywhere and a steep slope upto the hotel. The steps down to the the lower pool only have one handrail and that is bad. One guest fell here when we were there but fortunately was not hurt except for bruises. The main pool is very deep .over six feet with no shallow end ad all. The lower pool is better with a sloping shallow end.be wary if you have non swimming children.
The owners children were pleasant and the staff very nice and hard working...especially Maria who was marvellous and rather put upon.

Frida is out of the town near industrial buildings ( some empty and derelict) and a largish stadium. The centre of town is about a 30 minute walk at a saunter pace. The walk along the seaside is best. The bus stop is down the hill and just over 1e into town. Taxi 5e either way. One or two ok restaurants on nearby beach front but best are in town. try Ataki.

The beach is over some hilly dunes to the front of the hotel. There is a short cut down to Nea Hora along side of stadium and over beachside footbridge .


Lastly cats and kittens were resident...we liked them but some may not

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre or sauna ..just ignore rating above I ticked in error.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

I chose our stay at Frida from Tripadvisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. A little tricky to find but when we arrived we were met by a stunning view of the sea from the pool. We chose a superior sea view apartment which was a great choice for us.
No kettle in the room so you may want to take your own. Saucepan, frying pan, cutlery and crockery adequate.
Excellent hair dryer in the bath room. Safe hire for 10 euros for the week. Fantastic free air con in the bedroom.
Food from the snack bar was good and portions large. The local beer is served in ice cold glasses- delicious!
The place was kept clean and all the staff were friendly.
My only slight negative was probably not the distance from the harbour (30 minute walk) but more the route (either a busy hot main road or dirt track down to sea front-which isn't good in heels!) but that isn't Frida's fault and taxis were easy and relatively cheap.
Car hire and trips available through reception.
If we go back to this resort we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rorycat161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews