We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
Review of Frida Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frida Apartments
Ranked #4 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have just got back from a very relaxing stay at this family run hotel. We were there from 16th to 20th August. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to please. We had a studio which was basic but roomy and clean and looked out onto pretty gardens. Sheets were changed every day except Sunday.
We looked forward to breakfast every morning, which was excellent and varied a little each time.
The pool was beautiful with views out over the sea, in fact there were two, but we were more than happy with the bar pool.
It was lovely to return to this oasis at the end of a hot day.
The barbecue was a lot of fun too. Another plus was that we were told on arrival that we could drink the water, this was so useful as it saved us having to spend Euros on bottled water and lugging it back from the shops. A big Thank You to all the staff who made or stay so agreeable, and we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank accountforit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We've just spent six days at Frida in the Family Studio accommodation. I was a bit worried at the thought of the four of us, including a teen and a pre-teen, being cooped up in one room but was pleased to find that we actually had two rooms. The studio was fairly basic but comfortable and well maintained and the air conditioning was a godsend. We also liked the fact we could have our breakfast outside on the patio. We did pay extra to have breakfast in the bar a couple of days and that was a very good spread with plenty of choice.

Despite the apartments all apparently being full, the pools were lovely and quiet and there was always plenty of space on the sun beds. My daughter spent many a happy hour on her lilo. The views from the pool were great too.

It is a fair walk into Chania, it usually took us a good half an hour but it was very pleasant walking by the sea. Definitely don't take the road route, it may be quicker but it's hot, dusty and noisy. A taxi ride back to the apartments was only 5 euros so well worth it.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at Frida. It's not luxurious but it's good value, comfortable and most of the staff are friendly. And don't miss the BBQ. It was great fun, especially when fuelled with a few glasses of retsina!

On balance

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank BecDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our first impression of this hotel was not bad even though it is bit out of town in a desolate area and the rooms were on the very small side. We booked our stay through booking.com which refused to post our experience so we would like to warn all future visitors to Frida. On the third day of our week long stay we came back early (we tended to stay out all day traveling in Crete) to pick our son from scuba diving at around 1.30 pm. Our rooms had not been cleaned as yet (the cleaning was actually pretty bad) ---the cleaning staff asked us to wait to enter so they could clean. We agreed since the pool was right next to our rooms. My husband left his wallet on the dresser and I my watch and rings and earrings since we did not want to take it to the pool. On hindsight we should have put them in the safe but did not expect to be robbed inside our room. Our "apartment," a suite of two rooms, was No. 1, visible from the pool and right next to the reception. My husband saw the cleaning staff leave and made his way back to the rooms while the family was enjoying the pool. When he entered our room, he noticed something odd, the side door, which is right in front of the reception, had been left open. He shut it and locked it and noticed that my rings, including my diamond solitaire engagement ring, watch and earrings missing. He noticed his wallet and opened it and found 300 euros and 200 dollars missing. Luckily they did not take the wallet with the credit cards and his driving license! He called us and we went to the reception to complain and the man there said he would call the police. The manager (the sleazy and suspicious son) then appeared and told him not to do that, arguing that we were mistaken and must have misplaced the jewels and money somewhere else! His attitude astounded us! After much argument he agreed to take us to the police station where he gave a statement and had us wait outside. I did not trust him and insisted on speaking to the police officer who took my statement. Its not clear that the officer understood me completely as his English was not the best. Since then we have complained to the tourist police, the mayor of Chania, the tourist dept of Chania but do not expect anything to happen. This family owned business is not only mean and cheap but highly suspicious. Even the daughter who had been most helpful earlier closed ranks after the robbery.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Psilaker, Διευθυντής at Frida Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am again very sorry for the incident that took place here during your stay.
However, once more I have to express my great suprise that this could have happened at miday (around 14:00) at a room next to the reception with the receptionist in place at the moment when your (so called) "great heist" took place!.
But even if this is the case, we did our best here to find a solution for you and even took you to the police department and stayed with you for 2 hours there! I am really suprised about your comments and your attitude from that time and I really do not know what more you would expect me to do!
Once more I have to express my deepest sorrow.
The history of "Frida" and our guests' comments that we have been receiving for the last 25 years is our answer to your "bitter" review!
Kind regards,
Frida Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here for a week in late May on a great deal with Travel Supermarket. Flights from & to Stansted were at very civilized times and Frida apartments were about 30 mins from Chania airport. We booked half board which was an excellent choice - could not fault the food all week, all the staff are delightful, helpful and extremely obliging. A great variety of evening meals were served during the week (we were asked on arrival if we had any allergies or dislikes) and could not fault the quality, quantity and presentation. The barbeque on our last night was great fun!
Our room although relatively basic was absolutely fine - spotlessly clean and adequate for our requirements. After all, why go to Crete if you're planning to spend a lot of time in your hotel room? The bed was comfy, and although we were near the bar restaurant area were not disturbed at any time, ensuring good quality sleep. The location is good too - easy walking distance in to Chania town and yet quiet and peaceful. Frida has a lovely swimming pools and great views. I think this would appeal to all apart from die-hard party goers and teen holiday makers. We loved it!

Room Tip: Lots of steps up to some of the rooms would make access difficult for some, but there are lower room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billericayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

A little out of the town which means a longish walk into Chania centre, or a five minute taxi drive. But being elevated, the Frida catches some nice cooling breezes and great views. Lovely apartments and welcoming staff. Added benefit that each apartment has small kitchenette (and I mean really small!) which was enough to store cold drinks and make simple meals. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladodo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here last week for 7 nights and were very impressed. Our superior sea view apartment was excellent - obviously newly renovated - and was cleaned by the maids everyday. It was great value for money; spacious and with free air conditioning which was essential considering the heat. The hotel is situated 25 mins by foot away from the harbour in chania and we tended to walk into town on the evening and then get the bus home for only €1.10. There is a bus stop right near the hotel which is useful. Joanna was extremely friendly and welcoming upon our arrival and throughout our stay - in the process recommending some wonderful restaurants which we tried and loved. Despite the hotel being fully booked, the pool never felt busy since there are two at frida. Never had a problem getting a sunbed and often felt like you had the whole pool to yourself when going for a swim! The pool bar serves cocktails at a reduced rate during happy hour which we attended every night. We also tried the food which was delicious - generous portions. Overall, we will definitely be returning to Chania in the future and staying at Frida apartments!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holclarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I always try to be very fair in my reviews, taking everything into account and especially the value factor ie what you have received for the price paid. Frida is an interesting point. It is quite reasonable priced ( we paid just over £500 for a two week stay room only basis) and has obviously been upgraded and extended over the years. The rooms are fine and there is not much difference between the standard and superior ones. The difference is the views. While we stayed three couples complained about the views they had ( basically none ) and were immediately put into better rooms with a view. Try to avoid the rooms on the roadside for this reason. Also the rooms overlooking, and next to ,the lower pool might not be everyone's cup of tea : especially if you want a quiter time without pool users being in your face. The upper rooms are much better in this respect especially on the upper floors.
The food is fine , with a limited and unchanging menu and would get monotanous after a weeks stay. They really must try harder in this respect. Also, as other reviewers have pointed out, the dining area has no atmosphere with the proviso the view is nice, and we did not appreciate one of the nights we dined there that the waitress was told to water the plants as the restaurant was not busy ! Everywhere we dined in Chania we were always given free gratis a lovely small pudding and a small bottle of raki to drink. At the hotel you are presented with a very small piece of fruit and a shot glass of rake. Not a big point but it was indicative of the way the hotel is run on very tight lines. Another point was having to pay a rent for beach towels ..not seen that in Crete before.

The rooms were cleaned each day except Sunday when not even the toilet bin was emptied...which upset a few people from a hygiene perspective.
Your room was yours on the day of departure until noon when you are charged an extra 20 euro for four hours....even if you have stayed two weeks and the room was not re let. Again indicative of a certain meaness in a small family hotel where you expect more than a national chain might offer in this respect.
One main issue is the steps and slopes that are part of the hotel. If you are not good on steps or fairly steep slopes then be aware. There are steps everywhere and a steep slope upto the hotel. The steps down to the the lower pool only have one handrail and that is bad. One guest fell here when we were there but fortunately was not hurt except for bruises. The main pool is very deep .over six feet with no shallow end ad all. The lower pool is better with a sloping shallow end.be wary if you have non swimming children.
The owners children were pleasant and the staff very nice and hard working...especially Maria who was marvellous and rather put upon.

Frida is out of the town near industrial buildings ( some empty and derelict) and a largish stadium. The centre of town is about a 30 minute walk at a saunter pace. The walk along the seaside is best. The bus stop is down the hill and just over 1e into town. Taxi 5e either way. One or two ok restaurants on nearby beach front but best are in town. try Ataki.

The beach is over some hilly dunes to the front of the hotel. There is a short cut down to Nea Hora along side of stadium and over beachside footbridge .


Lastly cats and kittens were resident...we liked them but some may not

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre or sauna ..just ignore rating above I ticked in error.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
2.1 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
403 reviews
3.1 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#9 of 111 in Chania Town
670 reviews
12.5 mi away
Spilia Village Hotel
Spilia Village Hotel
#20 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
572 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frida Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frida Apartments

Address: Marinou Antypa, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: £43 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frida Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frida Apartments consists of 3 independent buildings with a total of 28 apartments. Situated in the suburbs of the town of Chania (just 1,5 km from the city centre). Frida is built on a hill in a gorgeous location next to the countryside with a view to the Cretan sea and the city of Chania. The place is ideal for a drive to the attractive beach of Agioi Apostoli/Agia Marina (10 minutes by bus) or a visit to the picturesque Venetian Harbour of Chania (1,5 km). Alternatively, you can walk to the lovely beach of Nea Chora, which is only 600 meters away from Frida. A bus stop with a regular bus service to Chania is only 300 meters away.Among the facilities at “Frida Apartments” you will find our 2 swimming pools for endless dives with a view to Cretan sea, you will relax at “Frida” snack bar drinking your coffee / refreshment and you will taste our famous “Cretan traditional” breakfast in our morning buffet. Additionally, you can enjoy the marvelous views and sunrise from the balcony of your apartment while you “surf” at the internet through our free wi-fi network.At Frida you will meet a friendly atmosphere and experience the well-known Cretan hospitality as it is run on a family base from people who will always be willing to satisfy your needs. Frida Apartments is an ideal choice for those seeking quiet and relaxing holidays in a place not far away from the city of Chania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Frida Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frida Apartments Hotel Chania Town
Frida Apartments Chania
Frida Apartments Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing