We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for its category!”
Review of Hotel Irene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Irene
Ranked #66 of 108 Hotels in Chania Town
Chania Town, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for its category!”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The hotel is based really close to the old center of Chania, next to the sea!
The service is very friendly and helpful, the rooms very spacey and clean!
I really didn't expect it to be so good for a 2 stars hotel! The rooms are airconditioned, and the hotel has a wireless internet conection!
This hotel is a really pleasant surprise! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyjohnnickname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    39
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
10
56
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in July and found the hotel to be quite well placed just off Ye main drag and the rooms to be clean with everything you need. The wifi didn't work in your rooms only downstairs. But for the amount we paid which was around £10 a night- it was amazing! Would recommend if you want somewhere with no frills on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKL-happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Hotel Irene provides basic, clean facilities with excellent customer service. We received valuable assistance from the multi lingual Vera. We were provided with excellent advice with things to do and places to see.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elissajw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We found this hotel on Travelrepublic and after looking at the reviews we decided to book here.
when we first got there we were met by our receptionist who spoke good english!we found our rooms to be clean and in good order, our breakfast consisted of meat,chesse,bread and my favourite of honey and greek yogurt and not forgetting the boiled eggs!! oh and tea and coffee on request! when bits ran out they were topped up at regular intervals!! the hotel is about 10mins walk to the harbour! one review said it was 20mins walk from the airport to the hotel???? please don't try this as it's 20 - 30 mins taxi ride!!
if your looking for a great little friendly hotel then stay here in hotel irene!!
we will be back.
The Raynors.

Room Tip: if you ask for a high room they will do thier best to get it for you!!!! we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taxi2raynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We checked out this hotel from the internet at a time when almost everything in Chania had been sold out. We told them we wanted a nice quiet room with a balcony where we could see the ocean. When we arrived they had saved us the best room they had and were incredibly nice. They were so happy to see us! We became at once a part of their little family.
The hotel is only average in accomodation - not the largest rooms, but it is clean and the rooms come with refrigerators, air-conditioning and hot water.
The location was perfect for us - the only hotel exactly half-way between the beach at Chania and the town. We only had a 10 minute walk to the beach and the same to dinner each night.
The main attraction was how nice they were. It was impossible to not feel at home there. It also came with a little breakfast, complete with cookies! Charming.
If you want an upscale hotel in the middle of the action, or something trendy, then you should check out an alternative for more money, but if you just want to have a clean quiet hotel where you are a valued guest greeted by a smile each time you enter or leave the hotel, it doesn't get much friendlier.

Room Tip: Just call or send an e-mail and tell then what you want. The people who work there are people, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffersnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The hotel is cheap, clean, near the beautiful port. The personnel is friendly. The breakfast is limited in choice but good. The rooms are small but clean and with ac and bathroom. It's no luxury hotel but it's perfect for budget holidays in charming Crete.Recommended for young people or people without too many pretensions.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volturno73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

A simple B&B type of hotel, was quite reasonable pricing 35Eur per Double room with breakfast. Generally clean and good location. One bad thing was there was no one at the reception during the night.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eastrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Candia
Hotel Candia
#59 of 108 in Chania Town
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#64 of 108 in Chania Town
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Frini Hotel
Frini Hotel
#50 of 108 in Chania Town
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Theofilos City Hotel
Theofilos City Hotel
#71 of 108 in Chania Town
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Danaos Hotel
Danaos Hotel
#43 of 108 in Chania Town
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#37 of 108 in Chania Town
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Irene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irene

Property: Hotel Irene
Address: 9 Misael Apostolidou, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 108 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Irene 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Irene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Irene Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing