We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful, friendly staff and a great breakfast!”
Review of Hotel Splanzia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Splanzia
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Helpful, friendly staff and a great breakfast!”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This is a fantastic hotel, especially for the price. The rooms are large, the bathrooms are modern and the location is excellent. One of the best things about this hotel is the guys who sit at the front desk; they were extraordinarily helpful, pleasant and friendly. We were welcomed to Chania by a big thunderstorm and a 4.7 earthquake. The hotel seems fairly solidly constructed, since I didn't even notice until my California-born husband lackadaisically pointed out that we were having an earthquake. The room seemed like there was a fair amount of street noise when we arrived, but it was very quiet at night. It was pouring rain when we went to dinner, so we went to the Well of the Turk, which was recommended in our guidebook and is right around the corner... BUT the food was expensive and not very good, so it would probably be better to ignore the guidebook and stick with the suggestions provided by the guys at the front desk. The breakfast is out of this world -- we were so full that we didn't eat lunch until about 4 PM. We had just been in Santorini, and in Santorini the breakfast alone would have cost as much as we paid for our entire stay in this hotel. Of note, driving into Chania during rush hour is challenging and we did have a little trouble finding parking, although the guy at the front desk went out of his way to help us and it all worked out. The only (extremely minor) issue is that the room was kind of dark; reading lights would be helpful next to the bed. Overall, a great hotel in a gorgeous city; highly recommended.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank skyvoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    45
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
172
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We got to Chania very early in the morning. They did the best they can to try and give us a room as soon as possible. We were able to check into our room by noon. The room was very large and clean. It was a little too dim in the room, but maybe some people like it that way. Sadly, we did not wake up early enough to try out the amazing breakfast we've read about in the reviews.

The hotel was conveniently located and walking distance to town. We only stayed here for a night but was pleased with the service and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_anna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Our stay at the Hotel Splanzia was wonderful. The room was spacious, lovely, and quiet; the staff was friendly and helpful; and the breakfast was one of the best breakfasts I've had anywhere (and I'm a well-traveled 70 years old). It's also a short walk from the beautiful Venetian Harbor.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValleyProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Stayed @ Splanzia for a night with my husband and baby. Located in the heart of Chania town and close to the fort and sea. There is one main guy whos at the desk and who also served us an awesome breakfast. He was very helpful and even helped us carry 2 big suitcases up 2 flights of stairs. (no lifts !) the rooms are done in a old fashioned style...some may like it but my husband didnt like it. No attached restaurants if you choose to order in room but lot of places to eat outside. For the money spent, this place is really good ! There is a nice small courtyard too...n the breakfast was an elaborate affair ! Its seems to be a small hotel from outside but rooms are spacious enough for a family also.
Definitely a thumbs up !!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pluexim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2011

My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at the hotel Splanzia last year. We had underestimated the July heat in Crete so taking a lazy breakfast in the cool and very cute court yard was just the ticket - as other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast is a real highlight . The brothers who own the hotel are extremely helpful. The stylish Splanzia hotel is an excellent base for exploring the surrounding region. There are also some v nice places to eat in the charming streets in the area opposite the hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C333Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elounda,Crete
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

This quiet room was exactly what we wanted - a large comfortable four-poster double bed -plenty of wardrobe space -satelite TV , a fridge and a beautiful view of the pretty courtyard.
The room was warm and the water was always hot. This small hotel is very charming and is situated in Chania old town and very close to the Venetian harbour. We enjoyed excellent breakfasts and would like to add that the staff are very friendly and helpful. We easily found parking space nearby.
The only improvement I can think of is to put up shower curtains.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet-manos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branxton, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Excellent staff- get the balance of friendliness, privacy and helpfulness just perfect ! Fantastic location near great restaurants with 'no touts', beautiful rooms and courtyards. Spotlessly clean. Best breakfasts on the whole trip! Great base to explore western Crete. I'd absolutely love to go back and stay at the Splanzia!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenmoments50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Halepa Hotel
Halepa Hotel
#23 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splanzia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splanzia

Property: Hotel Splanzia
Address: 20 Daskalogianni Str, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chania Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splanzia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quiet maze of back streets behind Chania’s harbor, next to the Kastelli area, Splanzia Boutique Hotel offers contemporary hospitality with respect to local tradition and history.This charming boutique hotel, positioned in an authentic Venetian building with neo-classical furnishings, provides individually styled rooms fitted with air condition, satellite TV and internet connection.Original Cretan hospitality is reflected in the fresh homemade breakfast, based on local produce, served in the private courtyard at the back of the hotel.Within just a few minutes’ walk from the harbor, and close to the Municipal market, Splanzia Boutique Hotel makes for the perfect base for Chania’s visitor. There are numerous restaurants and a car park nearby.A couple of minutes in the other direction takes the visitor into the heart of Chania’s shopping district, the leather market and the central bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Splanzia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splanzia Hotel Chania
Hotel Splanzia Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing