We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Splanzia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Splanzia
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“lovely hotel friendly staff”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

lovely hotel friendly and the best home made breakfast ever this hotel is in the city center of the old town of Chania close to everything it is the hotel for all season warm on winter cool on summer with big room who make u feel more comfortable i use to stay at this hotel every time when i visit chania the only think is that the hotel has only 8 room so you have to book it earlier

Room Tip: the room on the back side they have view of the garden who is full of trees soo nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KONSTANTINOS_CRETE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    45
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
175
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed in Crete for a week in October and sadly we only stayed for two nights at this hotel (13 and 14 October). The owners were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Chania old town and just a few minutes walk from the harbour and market. The breakfast was absolutely blummin brilliant and a fantastic way to start the day. If we'd stayed longer we'd have made full use of the owners knowledge of Chania and the surrounding area. If your coming to Crete base yourself in Chania, base yourself in the Splanzia!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeththegrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We chose this hotel after reading the great reviews - and we were delighted with our decision. We spent 10 days at the hotel as part of our honeymoon and enjoyed every minute. The location is fantastic, minutes away from the old harbour, market and interesting backstreets of Chania. Our room was on the top floor and we were fortunate to have a door leading to a delightful sun terrace (that other guests could also use) which was a lovely sun trap at the end of the day. For us the best thing about Hotel Splanzia are the owners and their kind, helpful and friendly manner. The brothers gave us lots of good tips on exploring the area, finding a car parking space (which can be tricky!) and assisting with car rental negotiations. We read a lot about the breakfast on this site and every morning looked forward to the homemade fresh feast we were prepared by the owners! We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and Chania for a holiday - going in late September / early October meant we beat some of the crowds but still enjoyed fantastic weather. Five out of five!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_and_Amy_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The reviews are correct; this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Everyone agrees on this hotel : wonderful staff and location, big quiet rooms and one of the best breakfast I have ever enjoyed. It changes from day to day - suddenly a pineapple kind of yogurth appears or small homemade cheese pies - but it is always first class : very thick yogurth, fresh orange juice, homemade jams, tasteful bread, some cake and a choice of salty plate (scrambled eggs, hot sandwich... with tomates, peppers, chesse, name it and it will be done).
Did I mention there is also a terrace with sofas and a hamac ? and that, on the side of the turkish quarter, you can walk around at night in small streets and quiet plazas ?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soupalailycrouton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Great location a few minutes from the Venetian harbor, but the rooms are average at best. The complimentary breakfast was a great start to the day, and the front desk very helpful.

Room Tip: Streetside rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sberan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The location of the hotel is great since it is located in the old town. However there are many disadvantages: (1) very noicy both from inside and outside the hotel (2) not very clean since have found a cockroach in the bathroom (3) quite expensive if you consider that we have paid €110 per room per night without any facilities provided

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chr74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 109 in Chania Town
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#13 of 109 in Chania Town
359 reviews
4.9 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 109 in Chania Town
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#16 of 109 in Chania Town
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 109 in Chania Town
834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 109 in Chania Town
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splanzia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splanzia

Property: Hotel Splanzia
Address: 20 Daskalogianni Str, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chania Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splanzia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quiet maze of back streets behind Chania’s harbor, next to the Kastelli area, Splanzia Boutique Hotel offers contemporary hospitality with respect to local tradition and history.This charming boutique hotel, positioned in an authentic Venetian building with neo-classical furnishings, provides individually styled rooms fitted with air condition, satellite TV and internet connection.Original Cretan hospitality is reflected in the fresh homemade breakfast, based on local produce, served in the private courtyard at the back of the hotel.Within just a few minutes’ walk from the harbor, and close to the Municipal market, Splanzia Boutique Hotel makes for the perfect base for Chania’s visitor. There are numerous restaurants and a car park nearby.A couple of minutes in the other direction takes the visitor into the heart of Chania’s shopping district, the leather market and the central bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Splanzia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splanzia Hotel Chania
Hotel Splanzia Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing