We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They treat their guests as if they are the only ones there!”
Review of Hotel Splanzia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Splanzia
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“They treat their guests as if they are the only ones there!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We booked Hotel Splanzia after reading others reviews and we are glad we did. It is family run and The brothers Yiannis and Nikos are the most delightful,lovely,helpful and pleasant proprietors. This hotel is homely, has a really nice happy energy about it. The breakfast is absolutely amazing and made especially for you. They also serve the best bread in the whole entire world. The location is great, away from the excessively tourist area but within 5 minutes walk to the main area in the harbour and only a 1o minute walk from the bus station. We loved our stay in Chania and our stay at Hotel Splanzia certainly contributed to it.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    45
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
175
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights in May. The hotels position is good - in the old town, not far from anything, but easy to get to. Room was smallish but very clean and we shared a balcony with the room next door, which was nice for people watching on the street outside. Splanzias main claim to fame is its amazing breakfasts. Weather permitting breakfast is served in the outside courtyard, which is very pleasant. The first day we thought after cereal, cheese & spinach pastries, yogurt, honey and fresh crusty bread, that we had finished, only to be asked if we wanted bacon & egg or omellete? After that, were more sweet pastries. There were different goodies cooked up each morning - and it really got to be a bit much by the end of the week! I am still trying to work the kilos off.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynchmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This little family-run hotel is perfectly located - within walking distance to the harbor, restaurants and museums. The rooms are comfortable - spacious, air conditioning and very firm beds. The breakfasts are becoming famous! Eggs, home-made sweet and savory pastries, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice and great coffee. We didn't need to eat until dinner! The two brothers are always at your service - friendly and helpful. (And I saw the mama working hard in the kitchen, always with a smile!) Only two possible down-sides: if you have a car, parking is tricky (they will help you, however), and if you like to read in bed, there are no bed lamps (seems like an easy fix). We would return! Thank you Hotel Splanzia!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bahardesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piacenza, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this nice hotel for a weekend. It is located on the center of the very beautiful "old town". Our room was nice, clean with a direct access to the internal garden where we had fantastic breakfasts! You feel like home and the guys gave us the right suggestions for places to visit and restaurants in Chania. Higly raccomended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glc1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

It is a very nice hotel situated in the centre of Chania and very close to the Venetian harboor. We apriciated particularly the welcoming attitude of the staff, a terrace very close to our room, the garden and a full-time internet connection. We loved to have breakfast in the hotel, where we tested my different fresh dishes of the Cretan cusine, and a special home-made jam. I would suggest it to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This hotel was delightful. Huge room: giant 4-poster canopy bed and a side day bed, table with chairs, vanity, full length mirror, tv, air conditioning, windows overlooking the garden, and plenty of space to walk around. Breakfast in the garden was huge, extremely delicious, and included in the price. The staff were friendly and helpful. It's located very near the bus station (to get to the beaches) and within walking distance of tons of restaurants on the harbor. I would absolutely recommend this hotel for just about anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We had the pleasure of spending 3 nights recently at the Splanzia. Excellent breakfast, rooms were comfortable. The courtyard was lovely. The owners were helpful and friendly. I can't say enough about the Splanzia. If you go to Chania, don't consider staying anywhere else. You'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardNiedringhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 109 in Chania Town
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#13 of 109 in Chania Town
359 reviews
4.9 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 109 in Chania Town
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#16 of 109 in Chania Town
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 109 in Chania Town
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 109 in Chania Town
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splanzia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splanzia

Property: Hotel Splanzia
Address: 20 Daskalogianni Str, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chania Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splanzia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quiet maze of back streets behind Chania’s harbor, next to the Kastelli area, Splanzia Boutique Hotel offers contemporary hospitality with respect to local tradition and history.This charming boutique hotel, positioned in an authentic Venetian building with neo-classical furnishings, provides individually styled rooms fitted with air condition, satellite TV and internet connection.Original Cretan hospitality is reflected in the fresh homemade breakfast, based on local produce, served in the private courtyard at the back of the hotel.Within just a few minutes’ walk from the harbor, and close to the Municipal market, Splanzia Boutique Hotel makes for the perfect base for Chania’s visitor. There are numerous restaurants and a car park nearby.A couple of minutes in the other direction takes the visitor into the heart of Chania’s shopping district, the leather market and the central bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Splanzia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splanzia Hotel Chania
Hotel Splanzia Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing