We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT AN AMAZING STAY”
Review of Hotel Splanzia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Splanzia
Ranked #16 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I have stayed with my wife for 4 nights at Splanzia Hotel, Crete and i was really impressed with the hospitality of the family that runs the hotel. Nikos and Yiannis , the two guys that run the hotel , and their parents as well, had explained to us everything we wanted about Crete. They were very polite, pleasant and friendly making us feeling very nice.
Staying at Splanzia was a unique experience. The hotel serves the most delicious , fresh and amazing breakfast i have ever tasted. Travelling in many countries I realized that the breakfast at Splanzia is the best, not only for the quantity but for the quality as well. Breakfast is served and made on order every morning so everything is fresh and delicious. Crepes at Splanzia are the best I have ever eaten. The local specialties that are catered are excellent.
Rooms at Splanzia are very big and clean with all the comforts for a 4 star hotel.
The hotel is in an excellent location within a walking distance from the harbor. Walking for 2-3 minutes from the hotel you can find anything you want such as shops, cafes, restaurants etc.
I recommend this lovely family run hotel to everybody who want to visit Chania .
Yianni and Niko thank you very much for everything.

Room Tip: Both rooms either facing the road or the yard are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank ChaniaAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 August 2012

First of all let me just say that Nikos, Yiannis and their mom are AMAZING!!!! The friendliest Greeks i've met (and I'm Greek!). The hotel is a family run small hotel and if you dont book fast enough you will miss out on the best experience of your life. Very clean hotel, very good location within walking distance to the old port where the action is. We had rented a car and never used the parking lot across the street as there is plenty of free parking around the hotel area. The breakfast is catered to you and made on order every morning. The breakfast includes local delicacies and the best Greek yoghurt EVER!!!!!! and honey and local specialties..... Oh this hotel is just amazing! JUST BOOK IT and LOOK NO FURTHER!!!

Room Tip: pack light, there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The Splanzia boutique hotel is a great place to stay.
It is situated in the less crowded (if there is such) part of Chania old city, easily accessible by car (with a charged parking lot just opposite if you don't mind adding another 10€ a day) and a few walking minutes from the harbor.
It has the most exquisite breakfast, every day something new and tasty, the best frappe we had in Crete, served in a shaded patio in the middle of the hotel.
The staff is very nice and attentive to guest needs.
All in all, a great place to stay.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Avri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We booked Hotel Splanzia after reading others reviews and we are glad we did. It is family run and The brothers Yiannis and Nikos are the most delightful,lovely,helpful and pleasant proprietors. This hotel is homely, has a really nice happy energy about it. The breakfast is absolutely amazing and made especially for you. They also serve the best bread in the whole entire world. The location is great, away from the excessively tourist area but within 5 minutes walk to the main area in the harbour and only a 1o minute walk from the bus station. We loved our stay in Chania and our stay at Hotel Splanzia certainly contributed to it.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights in May. The hotels position is good - in the old town, not far from anything, but easy to get to. Room was smallish but very clean and we shared a balcony with the room next door, which was nice for people watching on the street outside. Splanzias main claim to fame is its amazing breakfasts. Weather permitting breakfast is served in the outside courtyard, which is very pleasant. The first day we thought after cereal, cheese & spinach pastries, yogurt, honey and fresh crusty bread, that we had finished, only to be asked if we wanted bacon & egg or omellete? After that, were more sweet pastries. There were different goodies cooked up each morning - and it really got to be a bit much by the end of the week! I am still trying to work the kilos off.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynchmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This little family-run hotel is perfectly located - within walking distance to the harbor, restaurants and museums. The rooms are comfortable - spacious, air conditioning and very firm beds. The breakfasts are becoming famous! Eggs, home-made sweet and savory pastries, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice and great coffee. We didn't need to eat until dinner! The two brothers are always at your service - friendly and helpful. (And I saw the mama working hard in the kitchen, always with a smile!) Only two possible down-sides: if you have a car, parking is tricky (they will help you, however), and if you like to read in bed, there are no bed lamps (seems like an easy fix). We would return! Thank you Hotel Splanzia!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bahardesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splanzia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splanzia

Address: 20 Daskalogianni Str, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chania Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#12 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £76 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splanzia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quiet maze of back streets behind Chania’s harbor, next to the Kastelli area, Splanzia Boutique Hotel offers contemporary hospitality with respect to local tradition and history.This charming boutique hotel, positioned in an authentic Venetian building with neo-classical furnishings, provides individually styled rooms fitted with air condition, satellite TV and internet connection.Original Cretan hospitality is reflected in the fresh homemade breakfast, based on local produce, served in the private courtyard at the back of the hotel.Within just a few minutes’ walk from the harbor, and close to the Municipal market, Splanzia Boutique Hotel makes for the perfect base for Chania’s visitor. There are numerous restaurants and a car park nearby.A couple of minutes in the other direction takes the visitor into the heart of Chania’s shopping district, the leather market and the central bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Splanzia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splanzia Hotel Chania
Hotel Splanzia Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing