We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Splanzia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Splanzia
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed for a week and we really loved the hotel, great location, better than some of the bigger hotels as very near the harbour and great restaurants. Nikos and Yannis were the perfect hosts and were always on hand for anything we needed. Breakfasts were fantastic, so big you don't need to eat again for hours! Nice courtyard to have breakfast and nice outside area on the second floor which we spent a lot of time in, highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be good, but maybe better at the back of the hotel as the road was busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is lovely family run hotel, clean, comfortable and stylish. Staff are friendly and welcoming and the breakfast is amazing!! Great location in easy walking distance of everything. Lovely garden area and also a roof terrace.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Nice Hotel,Excellent breakfast and staff ,great location
A wonderful experence family owned and operated you wont be disapointed
Keep your window closed their is a Church close by and bells ring every hour and play a tune at about 730 am,If the window is closed you cant hear it.Very close to the leather market great stuff to buy

Room Tip: They are all good if you call or email direct you will get a better price at least 20% better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCAZMOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

It's all been said before, but this really is a lovely small, family run hotel just a short walk from the waterfront of Chania. The breakfasts are huge and full of variety, you certainly won't need lunch. Our room (23) overlooked the courtyard where breakfast is served and was very quiet at night. There are only 8 rooms in the hotel so you will be sure of friendly service from the two brothers who run the hotel. We will definitely stay here again when we next come to Chania.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allotment_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Hands down our favorite hotel during our Greece vacation. Iannis and Nikos make this place, which has been around for 8 years.

We arrived late, close to midnight, and Iannis was friendly enough to give us an overview of the city even at that time. The hotel itself and the rooms are lovely, surprisingly well decorated by this pair of guys :) The room is huge by European standards, including a King size bed. The shower actually has real shower doors (which we find to be rare in Europe), and they provided welcome wine, plus fruit and drinks which were replaced everyday all free of charge. Amazing!

Breakfast was delightful on their garden patio. If you stay in room 13, which our friends did, you have your own private stairs directly out to the patio. They cook breakfast themselves and offer you an array of food and drinks: cookies, scones, yogurt, fruit, honey, omelets, crepes, hot chocolate, fresh oj, hot chocolate, you name it. Anything you want, and all delicious, served from 8 to 11.

I wish we could've stayed here longer. They upgraded our friends room to the better one (room 13) with direct access to the patio. The location is ideally located in the old town, close to the bus station, shopping, and the harbor. Every restaurant they recommended to us was great. Nikos said if you book directly with them, they can offer a better deal than the other booking sites. If we ever return to Chania, we will definitely stay here again and book directly with them. Don't miss it!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at Splanzia Hotel in late August for two nights. We wish it were more! Everything was amazing. The hotel and rooms are spotless clean, excellent location (couldn´t be more central) the staff amazingly friendly and helpful with everything! Also, can´t praise the breakfast enough...
The rooms, apart from being very clean, are large and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

i can't add much that hasn't been said about this fab hotel. The brothers, Iannis and Nikos, who run the place, were so welcoming. Enough has been said about breakfast but you do have to experience it to believe it! We didn't notice any noise from the street and our room faced directly onto it..the soundproof shutters worked for us. We went on to stay in a '5 star' hotel just outside Chania for the second half of our holiday - they could learn a lot from these guys! And one tip, from a pair of drunken Brits...if , like us, you have too much Raki and find yourself locked out of the front door after midnight, here is a tip...the front door key goes in the lock upside -down and hey presto you are in. If only we had realised that before we called out Nikos to come and rescue us. Oh the shame... Enjoy your stay here, a great place in a lovely resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clareandmike23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#17 of 111 in Chania Town
279 reviews
4.9 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#15 of 111 in Chania Town
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splanzia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splanzia

Address: 20 Daskalogianni Str, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chania Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £71 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splanzia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quiet maze of back streets behind Chania’s harbor, next to the Kastelli area, Splanzia Boutique Hotel offers contemporary hospitality with respect to local tradition and history.This charming boutique hotel, positioned in an authentic Venetian building with neo-classical furnishings, provides individually styled rooms fitted with air condition, satellite TV and internet connection.Original Cretan hospitality is reflected in the fresh homemade breakfast, based on local produce, served in the private courtyard at the back of the hotel.Within just a few minutes’ walk from the harbor, and close to the Municipal market, Splanzia Boutique Hotel makes for the perfect base for Chania’s visitor. There are numerous restaurants and a car park nearby.A couple of minutes in the other direction takes the visitor into the heart of Chania’s shopping district, the leather market and the central bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Splanzia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splanzia Hotel Chania
Hotel Splanzia Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing