We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit to Orestis Appartments at Pano Stalos”
Review of Hotel Orestis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Orestis
Ranked #22 of 107 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another visit to Orestis Appartments at Pano Stalos”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This was, I think, our 5th vist to Platon & Maria's lovely appartments in 7 years, the first being in 2005. Harry Miller has said it all so my comments will be brief. We feel very relaxed in Pano Stalos, conversations with Platon over a coffee are wideranging, informative and generally wonderful. Platon & Maria always treat us very well. It was delightful to see them again. The beach is within easy reach, the three local tavernas are very good and the lovely Venetian town of Chania is not too far away...... Perfection. There is no doubt that we will be back

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisElston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is the fourth time that my wife and I have stayed at Orestis Apartments since 2001. For the last three visits we have stayed for a month. The apartments are perfect for couples and there is a further couch/bed for another adult or two smaller children. The apartments are modern, open plan with a small kitchen and washing area as you enter. The shower and toilet are also on this level. You then ascend a few steps to the living area and through to a small balcony with magnificent views of the northern coastline (down the hill on which the village is situated and about two km distant) and the surrounding hills. This balcony, with a small table and comfortable chairs is best in the morning as it is shaded from the sun by the building. Moving back through the living area you come to a set of eight wooden steps (through which you can see), leading to the sleeping area. There is a very comfortable king size double bed with lights built in to the headboard and a small built-in table on each side. Cupboard space is more than adequate and there is also a small safe for any valuables. Another large sliding door leads on to the second balcony, again with wonderful views towards Chania, 10 km distant. This is the afternoon and evening balcony as the sun has now passed to the other side of the building. It also overlooks the swimming pool and sunbathing area. There always seems to be a pleasant breeze in the evening and it is lovely just to sit and gaze across the valley to the distant hills whilst enjoying a cool drink from the fridge. There is air-conditioning which is invaluable at night time and always ensures a comfortable nights' sleep with no bother from mosquitoes. These are cool, elegant apartments with stylish but simple decor and marble floors throughout. All decoration and fittings are of a high standard and are spotlessly maintained through daily cleaning by the maid. The swimming pool is star shaped with plenty of sun loungers and shady spots to sit and read or play games. The office and kitchen at the front of the complex provides drinks and will be occupied for some part of the day by Platon Rodolakis, the owner, who deserves a paragraph all to himself.
Platon is a teacher of mathematics in Chania, where his home is. (The apartments are in the grounds of what was his family home and were built about 13 years ago to a design by his brother, who is an architect). He always announces his presence by playing music over the poolside speakers. His choice is eclectic - ranging through classical, jazz, Greek folk, 60s pop or a myriad of other genres. His ear is good and only once in all the years i have holidayed here have I had to implore him to change his selection. He is a great host, speaks very good English and French and if you wish to talk about any subject he is an absolute fountain of knowledge, wisdom and humour. I admit to having become very good friends with him and his wife Maria and their children. Platon is unflappable and capable of making any arrangement or sorting any difficulties. When it comes to car or motorcycle hire he arranges this and, uniquely in my experience, foregoes the usual commission, which he asks to be passed on to you to reduce the price further. He is the perfect host and facilitator.
The village of Pano Stalos has a population of around 500 very friendly people and contains everything you will need within a maximum of five minutes' walk. There is a small mini market, a bar, a lovely Greek Orthodox church and three restaurants. The best of these is at the top of the village and is called Matigis. We eat there most nights and have become accustomed to simply eating what the owner, Antonis, recommends. This is a proper Greek family restaurant, much frequented by local people and the food is simple but delicious. Many of the vegetables are grown by Antonis in his large garden at the rear of the taverna. Home made tsatziki, salad, bread and wine quickly arrive and the arrival of the main dish, cooked over the charcoal grill, is always worth waiting for. Highly recommended - in fact, I considered not writing about it in case it becomes too well known and Antonis is tempted to increase his very reasonable prices. One word of warning; at the end of the meal a selection of fruit arrives - melon, grapes, cherries or cake and ice cream, always accompanied by a small, chilled bottle of raki - the local home-brewed spirit drink. If you are wise, share one bottle. If you are reckless, share two. And if you are out of your mind (as you will be), share three. Yamas! See you next year if you come in August.
Harry Miller

Room Tip: We always stay in apartment seven on the first floor. This is the corner apartment (there are six on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank harrymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Orestis Hotel is a beautiful place to stay with very clean, well-maintained apartments with excellent views over sea and countryside. There is a lovely swimming pool at the hotel and the seaside is also quite near. Tavernas in the village of Pano Stalos serve superb food and have a more authentic feel than some of those on the seafront. Platon is a wonderful host and we have got to know him well as we have stayed here many times both in the apartments and in the old house when staying there with a larger family group. This place is thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: All apartments have views from both sides of the building but nos.6 to 12 have best views as higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samnewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The Orestis hotel was a great place for our quiet get away. It is a few minutes drive away from the hustle and bussle of the port area. This hotel has a beautiful courtyard in the front, with lots of blooming flowers and trees. It is in a quiet neighborhood which makes it a great place to relax. The pool area is also very beautiful with flowers and tress all around.

Platon (the owner) and his wife keep everything very clean and tidy. He is a very kind man and will help you in any way he can. The Orestis is within walking distance to three small taverns, that offer all of the local dishes cooked to perfection.

We would definitely recommend the Orestis Hotel for a quiet get away!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanGrandForks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slagelse, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2011

If you are looking for a small hotel with fantastic view to the white mountains, the sea and olivetrees, you should visit Hotel Orestis in the small village Pano Stalos.
The owner, Platon, is very friendly and service minded and always gives you a personal service and makes you feel at home.
The hotel has a small garden and a lovely swimmingpool. The rooms are always keept clean by Marietta,who, like Platon, always finds time for a chat.
In Pano Stalos you will find some of the best restaurants in Creete, with real authentic greek food.
In the village you will also find a small supermarket, which can provide you with the basic supplies.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruthfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronninglund, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Coming to Hotel Orestis is like coming home. A quiet place to relaxe. With view to the white mountains, the sea and olivetrees. The people in Pano Stalos are very friendly. And in Pano Stalos you find the best restaurant in all Crete. It is called Merovigli and is situated almost opposite Hotel Orestis.
We have stayed at Hotel Orestis about 8 times. In appartments or in the villa. And we have never been disappointed.
Orestis is the place you return to time after time.
Meeting Platon, Maria, Orestis and Marietta is like meeting old friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisbethVistisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed in Orestis hotel for 5 days and we very much enjoyed it. The strong points of this little appartment - hotel are 1) The setting: A small cretan village still not spoiled by turism in the middle of valleys full of olive groves with really good traditional restaurants 2) The owner: Mr. Platon is not the typical hotel owner but rather a hobbyist who enjoys his retirement years running this little hotel. Very informative, very helpful. 3) The rooms: we stayed in the upper rooms which make full use of their average size offering views on both sides (One side the pool and the Psiloritis Mt, the other side the olive groves and a small portion of the Cretan Sea), Simple but functional rooms.

The weak points could be. 1) The location which requires owning or renting a car in order to get to the action as the village is small and quite detached (even the shops there have only the very basic) 2) The pool which gathers a considerable amount of drowned insects (bees and hornets included). I assume that it was filtered in the night or something or maybe i am wrong. Not such a big deal anyway.

I would definitely recommend the place to people who want to relax and enjoy great food and isolation

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superhomem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
SunCity Hotel Studios
SunCity Hotel Studios
#29 of 108 in Chania Town
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diana Rooms
Diana Rooms
#58 of 107 in Chania Town
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inea Hotel
Inea Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agii Apostoli
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harismari Cozy Hotel
Harismari Cozy Hotel
#13 of 139 in Chania Town
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexandros Studios
Alexandros Studios
#3 of 3 in Kalamaki
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orestis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orestis

Property: Hotel Orestis
Address: Ano Stalos, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Orestis 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the hillside in the peaceful village of Upper Stalos and built in the grounds of the Agha's Manor House (today Villa Orestis) dating back many years back to the Turkish Occupation of Crete, this small group of twelve apartments enjoy fantastic views of the sea and Crete’s White Mountains.Just 200 meters from the Village Square and similar distance from three of the best local taverns in the Chania area, you can simultaneously enjoy the charm of rural village life, coupled with the advantage comfortable accommodation and a lovely swimming pool.Also the distance from the sandy beach is only 1800 meters and the village has a good bus service to the town of Chania, which is only 9 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Orestis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orestis Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing