We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, with some caveats”
Review of Hotel Orestis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Orestis
Ranked #18 of 102 Chania Town B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful, with some caveats”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We booked Hotel Orestis based on the high TripAdvisor rating, but I think these glowing reviews create impossibly high expectations, and for us, at least, led to some disappointment. I think if we had seen a couple of more balanced reviews, we would have known what to expect and avoided this initial disappointment -- so I am going to try to provide such a review.

Here's what's absolutely true:

* Kind, hospitable staff who go out of the way to help you out - can't emphasize this enough, we felt so welcomed and taken care of by Platon and the rest!
* Simple but modern and well-equipped apartments, with 2 terraces each
* Beautiful, inviting common area and pool
* Great value for the money

Here's what disappointed us:
* The hotel is located in a village 2km from the nearest beach and the main road. The taxis are a ripoff, the buses are infrequent, so if you don't have a car, it's very difficult to get anywhere. And there's not really much to do in the village - it's pretty small and functional, not the type of place one can explore even for a few hours. Renting a car is a must...and having to drive everywhere takes away from relaxation time.
* The views are pretty, but I wouldn't call them fantastic or incredible - we had better views in our hotels in Napflio, Mystras, and Delphi. The "sea view" means that you get a little corner of the sea visible beyond the hills.

That said, we enjoyed our stay once we had adjusted our expectations (and rented a car)!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KaterinaSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Small apartment complex in a small village, two kilometers from the busy coast and a half hour drive from the airport of Chania. A stone's throw from three good authentic taverns and a shop for groceries. Each apartment has several terraces, on the poolside and overlooking the mountains and the sea. There's always shade, which we needed at the sometimes high temperatures. The Greek hospitality was great and made ​​our holiday complete. Arranging car rental, advising on excursions, restaurants and beaches... nothing was too much for Plato and Costas. We were here for 10 days and certainly will be back! This is an excellent base for rest seekers who want to explore the western part of Crete.

Room Tip: Highest apartments have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We also came across Orestis on Trip Advisor. We were looking for accommodation for myself, husband, 3 year old and my parents as were wanted to explore some of the area involved in the Battle of Crete which my grandfather had been involved in and Orestis was ideally located for this. All I can say is what a find! It was beautiful - we had 2 apartments which were side by side but so easy to feel like we were all together as we had a common landing. Going in June meant it was not busy so the times we were in the pool, we had it to ourselves (my daughter's swimming came on a lot in those few days), and the views from the apartments were fantastic. We had hired a car which made life very easy for the tripping around we wanted to do, but we ate at all of the three local tavernas which were within 5 mins walk of the hotel. Platon and his staff were very welcoming and friendly and I cannot recommend Orestis highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We have been staying at Hotel Orestis for over 10 years and are addicted! We come back every year because it is quite simply heaven on earth! It is quiet and peaceful with gorgeous views of the olive groves and the sea. We have stayed in the apartments and the villa and both are equally equipped for everything you might need. The pool is clean with loungers and umbrellas - perfect for relaxing. There are three excellent tavernas in this friendly and traditional village that serve authentic Greek food of a very high quality. Platon and Maria are fantastic hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble, going out of their way to make sure that your holiday is special.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We came across Orestis quite by chance on Trip Advisor and we're so glad we did. Both the apartments and the village location are lovely, hospitable, peaceful and incredibly welcoming. Being set on a hillside, the views to the hills and coast on one side, and to the mountains and Chania on the other, are an absolute treat; quite idyllic. The garden and pool areas are excellent and maintained to a high standard, with the apartments themselves being spotlessly clean. Platon, the owner, could not be more welcoming or helpful and very much adds to the pleasure of staying at Orestis ! Many guests return there year on year, and we can absolutly understand why - and fully intend doing likewise !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Orestis is situated in the village of Ano Stalos, a short drive from the sea. From the hotel, views exist of both sea and mountains. The views are spectacular both at day and night. The hotel has a set of apartments in a tranquil pool and garden setting. Each apartment has two separate balconies facing both sea and countryside. Accommodation also exists in the house onsite (dating back to the Turkish period) and this is where Orestis combines both a historic and modern setting. You can use Orestis as a base to the beach, visits to other parts of Crete, or do nothing but lie by its pool with an occasional swim, or a combination of two or more of these activities. If you are energetic, the beach is within walking distance. Alternatively, do as we did, and hire a car for part of the stay and walk and use taxis for the remainder. The choice is there because everything you want is within reach. Chania can be easily accessed by car, or alternatively, use of bus is easy. Platon who owns Orestis, will give you all the necessary advice ahead of any planned trip and an exchange of emails in advance will finalise any personal plans needed to make the holiday a great stay. We find Orestis a 'home from home' and recommend it to anyone who wants a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RABN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed three days at Hotel Orestis in September 2012. The first impression when we arrived is that, while it is so close to Hania and the very touristic coast line, the village where it's situated, Ano Stalos, is a quite traditional place where you can still see locals sitting in front of their homes and talking to the neighbours.
The second positive thing was the very warm and helpful welcome of his owner Platon, a very nice man with a prodigious memory!! He gave us some recommendations about places to go and to eat in the Hania area. We followed them and didn't regret : )
Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: All rooms in the modern part of the hotel have views to the mountain and to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcrsrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
2.6 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
541 reviews
2.7 mi away
SunCity Hotel Studios
SunCity Hotel Studios
#29 of 109 in Chania Town
191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 109 in Chania Town
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
633 reviews
8.8 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#16 of 109 in Chania Town
266 reviews
2.3 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orestis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orestis

Property: Hotel Orestis
Address: Ano Stalos, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Orestis 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the hillside in the peaceful village of Upper Stalos and built in the grounds of the Agha's Manor House (today Villa Orestis) dating back many years back to the Turkish Occupation of Crete, this small group of twelve apartments enjoy fantastic views of the sea and Crete’s White Mountains.Just 200 meters from the Village Square and similar distance from three of the best local taverns in the Chania area, you can simultaneously enjoy the charm of rural village life, coupled with the advantage comfortable accommodation and a lovely swimming pool.Also the distance from the sandy beach is only 1800 meters and the village has a good bus service to the town of Chania, which is only 9 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Orestis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orestis Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing