We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trully relaxing”
Review of Hotel Orestis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Orestis
Ranked #19 of 103 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Trully relaxing”
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed in Orestis hotel for 5 days and we very much enjoyed it. The strong points of this little appartment - hotel are 1) The setting: A small cretan village still not spoiled by turism in the middle of valleys full of olive groves with really good traditional restaurants 2) The owner: Mr. Platon is not the typical hotel owner but rather a hobbyist who enjoys his retirement years running this little hotel. Very informative, very helpful. 3) The rooms: we stayed in the upper rooms which make full use of their average size offering views on both sides (One side the pool and the Psiloritis Mt, the other side the olive groves and a small portion of the Cretan Sea), Simple but functional rooms.

The weak points could be. 1) The location which requires owning or renting a car in order to get to the action as the village is small and quite detached (even the shops there have only the very basic) 2) The pool which gathers a considerable amount of drowned insects (bees and hornets included). I assume that it was filtered in the night or something or maybe i am wrong. Not such a big deal anyway.

I would definitely recommend the place to people who want to relax and enjoy great food and isolation

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superhomem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virum
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2010

This was our second stay at the Hotel Orestis - which once again surprised me very positively. If you are not interested in the typical uniform hotel chains or the noisy and touristic hotels next to the beach – then you should for sure consider Hotel Orestis. It is perfect for the couple or small family that wish to have a relaxing stay at the charming city and/or use the Hotel as a base for seeing Crete by car. Each apartment has 3 small terraces so you will always be able to find shadow in the hot Crete summer – and with a very nice view too – some over the ocean.

The hotel owner is very service minded and gives the Hotel a special atmosphere. But also the city with the two restaurants seems very original crete - and at the two groceries you won’t find much plastic and souvenirs.

The hotel is well taken care of – 6 years ago on our first visit the hotel was newly painted with new furniture – this is still the case today in the summer of 2010.

A large part of our family has been visiting Orestis – and they have all returned with the wish to go back to Stalos and stay at Orestis.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KibyVirum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaerloese
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Hotel Orestis is a very nice place for recreation, and it is situated very good for walking tours and tours with car.
The small 12 apartment hotel is build around a very nice pool.
It is very well run by Platon and Maria, and they make sure that you have a nice stay at Orestis.
The small nice apartments have a balcony towards west with view over beautiful landscape and sunsets.
A balcony towards east gives you morning sun and look over the pool to the nice old building.
A lot of flowers finish the very good impression of the place.
The situation in the small village P. Stalos (250 inhabitants) 2-3 km form the coast road and the sea makes it a very quiet place. Most of the sounds you hear comes form the activities in the village.
The Minimarket opposite the hotel can supply you with most of the food you need,
and if you want to eat dinner out of the hotel there are 3 good tavern’s in the village.
We have enjoyed to stay at Orestis 3 times and will surely come back to the peaceful nice place.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogensVaerloese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2009

The location combines a quiet village setting with a closeness to the sea. You can walk to the beach, although for some at the hottest time of year, a car is preferable as the walk can take up to 35 minutes and longer depending on route taken. There are superb walks from the village. Depending on what time of year, will dictate how much walking you will want to do.

If you want to stay at Orestis, poolside is perfect and there are excellent restaurants in the village. There are also two small shops. Staying by the pool at Orestis is an easy option and a very restful one!

The apartments with their balconies offer sufficient room to use Orestis as either a base to other locations or to just stay onsite.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RABN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kastrup
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

This is a very small hotel with only 12 appartments. situated in the small village Ano Stalos outside Chania. About 3km from the coast in the mountains with a fantastic wiev over olive plantations and mountains.
The hotel is run by Platon and Maria, and a small staff, and gives a very good and personal service.
The roomes are on 3 floors with 3 balconys that give you a chance to find one with shadow from the sun..... or as much sun as you want. Very nice.
The appartments are small but well designed. If you want there is what you need for making breakfast or dinner.
Nice and clean swimming pool.
We really appreciated the peace and quiet in this place. And the fact that it seems that the other residents also enjoyed the peace. Very difficult to find.... but somehow it worked here.
There is a very small minimarket in the town, wich seems to be open always. (Actually a new one has opened since we were here last time) Very freindly service.
Also some very good restaurants within 100 meters the hotel. Meroviglio with good traditional greek food at great prices.
I would recommend renting a car.... but i did speak with a couple of the other guests who didn't mind the walk up and down to the coast and the beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeIvMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
2.6 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
541 reviews
2.7 mi away
SunCity Hotel Studios
SunCity Hotel Studios
#29 of 109 in Chania Town
192 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 109 in Chania Town
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
634 reviews
8.8 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#16 of 109 in Chania Town
266 reviews
2.3 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orestis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orestis

Property: Hotel Orestis
Address: Ano Stalos, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Orestis 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the hillside in the peaceful village of Upper Stalos and built in the grounds of the Agha's Manor House (today Villa Orestis) dating back many years back to the Turkish Occupation of Crete, this small group of twelve apartments enjoy fantastic views of the sea and Crete’s White Mountains.Just 200 meters from the Village Square and similar distance from three of the best local taverns in the Chania area, you can simultaneously enjoy the charm of rural village life, coupled with the advantage comfortable accommodation and a lovely swimming pool.Also the distance from the sandy beach is only 1800 meters and the village has a good bus service to the town of Chania, which is only 9 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Orestis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orestis Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing