We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spilia Village Hotel
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in villa Irene, a villa 700 metres from the hotel. It was very spacious with room for 5. On the first floor there are 2 bedrooms, one with a double bed and one with a single bed. In the living room they had converted the couch in a double bed, giving us 5 beds for our family. It had all we needed, including a fully equipped kitchen (with oven, microwave and dishwasher), 2 bathrooms and our own private swimming pool. Unfortunately it was still a bit cold at this time of year (early April).
The breakfast was in the hotel itself. A buffet with everything you need: croissants, eggs, bacon, sausages, cornflakes, coffee, fresh orange juice, ...
If we ever come back to Kreta, we already know where we will stay!!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ziggy1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    79
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
73
81
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Our stay at the Spilia Village Hotel was very enjoyable. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us. Our room, though small, was adequate, quiet and very clean. The surroundings were lovely, meals good, particularly the breakfast buffet. Enjoyed the pool very much. We would easily go back again.

Room Tip: If you get a room that is under another room, it can be very noisy as there is no insulation between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainer4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

The hotel was great very clean and with nice facilities! The place is magic! The staff was very friendly and very helpful! The food was traditional Greek food and it was very tasty. We were a group of 40 young people from different countries and we all were satisfied. I highly recommend it to everybody who wants to spend his holidays in a beautiful island in a more beautiful Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night at the end of our holiday in Crete.
The staff were very pleasant, professional, and helpful.
We ate at the taverna and the food was good. Lunch by the pool was also good and plentiful. The breakfast buffet was fine as there was fresh squeezed orange juice and Greek yoghurt with honey.
On the negative side, our room was rather disappointing. We booked a suite but unfortunately it looked out onto a road and into someone's house so no view. The bathroom shower was configured so that water spilled onto the floor whichever way you tried to move it. The worrying thing was water coming up from the floor drain after the shower resulting in a bathroom which smelled like a swamp and we couldn't leave the window open as it was on the ground floor and looked into the communal walkway. I would not have stayed in this room another night.
Overall, the hotel was good. Not a luxury destination place but fine for a few nights ( in a different room).

Room Tip: Avoid room 127, ask for a room in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010dj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

The hotel is situated in Spilia (about 1,5 km south of the main East-West "highway" along the Northern coast of Crete, close to Kolimbari - sometimes also written Kolimvari or Kolymbari - in the western part of the island), *not* in the town of Chania, but in Chania Province.
Besides its 30 rooms, the hotel also has two "villas" named Villa Irene; we stayed in one of those for one week with a bed and breakfast formula. These villas are located about about 250 m from the hotel itself as the crow flies (since you're no crow, you'll have to use the road, which will triple the journey to the breakfast buffet: 8 minutes walk going down to the hotel, slightly more going back uphill, depending on how much of the usual Cretan buffet you've tucked in). The stone villas have a great view on the valley, a small but quite useful private swimming pool, a kitchen with all mod. cons., including an Illy coffee machine, everything clean, modern, air-conditioned, and efficient (the bathroom could use some hooks, though, to hang pajamas and such). There is free, password-protected WiFi (strong signal, but lost Internet connection a few times). There is one master bedroom (king size bed) and a smaller bedroom with a single bed, both with ample closet space. A mosquito net would have been appreciated, since sleeping with open windows can be such a pleasure in September... The whole villa is cleaned, beds are made, etc. every day.
To put it simply: we greatly enjoyed the relative isolation of the villa, which truly became our home away from home for a week, which explains why we didn't take advantage of the various hotel services, except for the restaurant (see below). Since we had rented a car, distance from Kolimbari's supermarket, restaurants, beaches, the Western coast, etc. was no problem for us.
The hotel staff was extremely friendly and useful and did everything to make our stay enjoyable. As stated earlier, the breakfast buffet is quite conventional in the Cretan way, but with excellent products, including oranges which may look so-so, but which are simply delicious to the European palate, including when freshly pressed for juice.
We had supper three times in the the hotel's own taverna/restaurant (Ta Halara), which offers typical Cretan fare with some local specialties, but few fish dishes (surprising for an island, but one gets used to it); the choice of vegetables is also somewhat limited and many dishes come with a side of French fries if you don't negotiate something else. Still, the food was excellent and service relaxed but efficient.

Room Tip: Try one of the villas for something different and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emile_Grom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

As far the infrastructure, I could say that the hotel was a kind of small town. Apart from the different buildings made with stone, there were all the commodities, as swimming pool, charming spots, big rooms and spacious places outside the buildings, to make our staying a pleasant one.
The owner was really kind with us from the very early beginning till the moment we said "goodbye". Her aim was helping us and making our staying as confortable as possible in every moment.
This couldn't be possible without the help and the good job of the workers. They were amazingly friendly and I only could express my gratitude to all of them, from the chef to the servers and different workers.
I specially like the room I was. I was really lucky because every morning I could see the sun rise lying down on my bed. The best way to start a day!!!
As far the village and the communication with other places, I would like to say that I enjoyed the kindness of the local people and that we visited very beautiful places which was no more than one hour and a half far.
In brief, I spent 10 great days in company of other 40 young people from 6 different countries. I understood that our staying was short of challeging for them but, after the experience there, I just want to congratulate them. It would be a pleasure to go back there! Thank you very much!!

Room Tip: There are two rooms, if I don't remember wrong, where one can see the sun rise from one's be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaza City, Palestinian Territories
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

the hotel reflected the great atmosphere in Greece, I had the best time there
the rooms, the swimming pool and the food, everything was great and awesome.
people there are all kind and welcoming
you wont ever regret being there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
13.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
8.7 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
14.5 mi away
Halepa Hotel
Halepa Hotel
#24 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#18 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
15.5 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#21 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spilia Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spilia Village Hotel

Property: Spilia Village Hotel
Address: Spilia Kolimbari, Chania Town, Crete 730 06, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Spilia Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spilia Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spilia Village Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing