We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday, hope to return one day.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chania Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Studios Katsikoulakis
Ranked #77 of 107 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday, hope to return one day.”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Arrived at the Katsikoulakis appartments in August, what a wonderful reception. We had booked our holiday through Olympic Holidays,the coach transfer took us through the resorts of agh. Marina and Platanias which just seemed to merg into one awful built up resort, no character at all. Then we arrived at our appartments, thank goodness it is a world away from what the coach had just driven through. Peace, quiet and rural. The wounderful appartments cool terrace/bar was our first port of call, for lunch a cool beer and Greek salad and a wounderful view of the beach and sea. Our holiday had begun!. The Raki and sweets are a nice touch too!! Thankyoux
There are two tiny shops a short 10 min walk from the back of the apparments up the track. But we only went to the one (turn left at the top of the track) where we got bread and melon,(the used melon skin we would give to the goats,Yum! ,the other shop (turn right) seemed to be always closed, but as we hired a car (a must) we got our main shopping from the supermarket on the way to Kolymbari.
Our appartment was clean, basic utensils and a small oven with two main hobs and one smaller for making Greek coffee. Our balcony overlooked farmed land but with views overlooking the sea and the peninsula towards Kolymbari. The shower was something to adapt to, as its more like a wet room with toilet but this did not bother us, this is Greece after all!
Most days we had the pool to ourselves, wonderfully peaceful.
There are a few restaurants locally, if you walk up the track to the main road, but the one we went to most was if you turned left from the aprtmnt and walked along the beach ,at the end is a Taverna right on the beach. Wonderful meals were had here. At night though we drove along the back roads
to get there as at night it would be too far to walk and too dark, about 10 mins in car.
A car is a must, there is so much to see, we did not get to see all that West Crete had to offer in the
two weeks that we were here.
The Samaria Gorge was fantastic with a wonderful taverna . Great views.
The beach at Falasarna is sandy and good for small children.
We took a trip to the Koutsamatados ravine and stopped off at the cave of Ayia Sofia just pass the tunnel cutting through the ravine. We enjoyed the visit to the cave, you follow lit candles to walk around back of the cave, and the taverna on the way down the track has wonderful views.
My favorite cove was at Ravdouha Beach on the West side of the peninsula from Kolymbari,
stopping off at the lovely little church of Ayia Marnina. Turn left at the bottom to the Waves On The Rock Taverna, this will take you to the most lovely cove and even better taverna to eat.
We did also take a trip for our 13 year old daughter to the Limnoupolis Water Park. Once we found it (opposite the go kart) in the middle of nowhere. Great fun and not that busy and this was on the Saturday.
If you like Horse riding Zefrios near Nteres (Deres) is in a wonderful position, it is signposted and about 15 mins from Travonitis.
There were loads of other places we visited including the 3000 year old olive tree at Vouves!
All in all we had a lovely holiday .
I would also like to say a thank you to our Olympic rep, who was local and therefore could give us a lot of info about the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

just back from a week at the Studios Katsikoulakis. nice and quiet and great for people looking for a peaceful break. but it`s not a place i would go back to . mainly because i like a nice beach and the beach here is pretty awfull. all stone/pebble/gravel , no sand . we went for a walk on the first day as we had read that there was a sandy beach 10 mins walk away . after 45 mins walking we gave up. i was also surprised by the amount of litter on the beach. not too bad by Studios Katsikoulakis though. to get to the best beaches you need to take the bus to agia marina which has a nice beach but very busy. buses are $1.60 each way and there are 3 an hour . but they seem to turn up when they feel like it and dont all ways stop . the other negative comment about Studios Katsikoulakis is the air con . it cost $4 per day and i thought that was cheap . i found out why on the first night. it`s rubbish. no real cooling of the room , just a big fan really. we had to rearrange the room to put the beds right under the A/C as it was at one end and the beds at the other. we reported it to the owner and he came to look at it but it didn`t get any better. so if you are happy to sit by the pool and dont mind about the A/C (dont know if it was just our room) then it would be a great place. there are a few tavernas in the area and a great bar called IRINOULA DREAMS . went there most night after eating and found it to be a great place to chill out. dont want to sound too negative as we had a great time and the people are so friendly , just lacked a beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timbo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

A great place for a relaxing holiday. Based on a small site with only a handfull of appartments feeling like you are in the middle of nowhere, but with good amenities close by, easily discovered once you've got your bearings. Small supermarket 10 minutes walk away on the side of the main road and a selection of tavernas on the main road 10 minutes away or by taking a right turn onto the beach and walking about 15 minutes along (great sunset walk!). Bus route stops right at the top of the access road for Chania (30 mins) and Kolymbviari (5 mins and also a good place to eat right by the waters edge). Busses dirt cheap, every 30 mins and more like luxury coaches, but erratic arrival times and staff!

We've been twice and not used the pool once as the beach is on your doorstep. It's a stony beach so swimming shoes are needed, but on a calm day the water is crystal clear and warm and most importantly, this strip of the beach is deserted most of the time.

The pool area is great for food though and we had lunch there every day. The family that run the place are so attentive and friendly, but also know when to leave you to it! Would recommend the BBQ they sometimes put on, but if you are vegetarian, tell them when you book!

All in all, our second visit here and our 5th visit to this little area in Crete and hope to go back someday soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We have just had a week of peace and quite here - bliss. Most of the time we were the only ones around the pool, another couple were there occasionally. The apartment is basic but spotless, the family are lovely. The only noise to keep you awake are the crickets. Within 10 minutes walk there are nice taverners all serving good Greek food. We would love to return next September.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeverleySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We wanted to have relaxed holidays in the sun and visit cultural sites on Crete. We were tempted to stay in the eastern side of the island (because of Knossos, mainly) but as a friend told us that part of the island is way too busy and overexploited.
Therefore, we decided to fly to Chania instead, and look for a nice little hotel in that part of the island. Things could not have been better. The hotel was only 40 min away from the airport. There are like 10 rooms only, and many times we had the swimming pool for ourselves. The rooms were very very clean; we had a small kitchenette and a fridge. We had lunch some days in the room; there is a table in the balcony. The hotel is run by lovely family. They serve some food during the day but my impression is that the swimming pool bar closed quite early (around 20). But there are good places to have dinner around, and very very cheap. We especially liked a restaurant called Καφε ΠΑΛΙΡΡOIA ( Cafe Palirroia) , just before the main road. It is one of the nicest restaurants I have ever been and they have very fresh fish and very professional owners. It is not expensive at all. It is normal in the area to have free dessert and shots at the end of the meal (but provide a tip!). The Katsikoulakis apartments are in the sea side and the main road is just 3 minutes up road. There you can take buses to Chania, Kolimbari, Elafonissi (the nicest beach ever!)and Falassarna. There you can also find some small shops and a rent a car. We rented a car from Antillia Rent a Car (£110 for 3 days), where an Englishman kindly recommended us the best road to drive to. It is a very rocky island and a small engine car would have problems to go up the hill).
The beach in front of the apartments is a pebbles beach, but you can buy swimming shoes in Kolimbari (for less than £5). To sum up, Katsikoulakis apartments are perfect if you are looking for quiet holidays, enjoying the sun and visiting the real Crete.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hyrah1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

If you want a typical Cretan laid back Holiday, these Apartments are for you.
We are two families with young children who met in Lesvos last year who wanted a family, chilling Holiday and thats what we got.
Transfere time from Chania Airport is about 45 mins. We arrived early evening and it was hot hot hot about 30 degrees. We were welcomed by a lovely Lady Dimitra who showed us to our Apartment. Which was very clean and well equipped. There was a jug of Raki (a local drink) and a bowl of sweets awaiting us. A few minutes later Dimitra came back with a plate of homemade chocolate cake which went down a treat, what a welcome.
Air con and safe deposit box was extra 140 euros for both of them for the 2 weeks.
The pool was very inviting and very clean with loads of sunbeds and umberellas around. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselfs. Apart from the weekends when the locals tended to use it. The patio area is a lovely shaded area were you can cool off, have a drink or a snack. It was only added earlier this year and has a big BBQ which we sampled a few times.
The beach is a few minutes walk in front of the apartments and quite deserted. It is very pebbley and the sea quite rough ok for a paddle.
The Apartments are surrounded by fields of crops. To the right there is a minor road that leads up to the main road were there is a supmarket either side and the bus stop. Its a good 10 minute walk and the supermarkets are very basic, The one on the right sells cigarettes, one on the left doen't but sells fruit, veg ect. No bakery though and no souvenire shops.
There is only a small selection of Tavernas to eat in within walking distance. Michelas to the left of apartments was very good and a couple on the main road. After your meal you always get fresh fruit especialy melon and a shot of Raki which you down in one. Very strong but after a while you get used to it.
Kriti on the main road had an Internet Cafe attached. Which was good for getting sport results on, 50 cents for 15 mins as no one had Sky Sports.
The Village to the left of Kamisiana is Kolymbari with a quaint little harbour. Us girls in a taxi 8 euros and the men walked along the beach which took about 30 mins. This was a liitle more lively a few tourist shops, but had the worst meal ever 38 euros for a seafood platter for 2 and it was all frozen.
To the right of the apartments we went to Platanias on the bus which is a main street crammed with tourist shops, tavernas and cafe bars it was stifeling especialy with the heat and the amount of people reminded us of Blackpool (sorry Blackpoolians) with men selling enormous balloons. Only good thing there was a tobacco shop. Only one this side of Crete.
Past Platanias is Chania a lovely town with lots of nice shops and a big lovely Harbour. Shops here are shut between 2 and 6 pm, We had a fab meal off one of the backstreets one of the best of the holiday. It was an old open air soap factory but cannot remember the name it is in the Crete Tourist Directory. But trying to shop in 40 degrees took some doing. I would reccomend you take a map with the Bus Station on as both times we visited Chania we couln't find the Bus Station to come home every side street looks the same. Also Ladies you wont want to use the toilets there. You stand in a cubicle and wee on the floor. Strange so we didn't bother. Gents was ok though.
All in all we had a great Holiday very relaxing with very friendly locals. Were else can you go were Farmers share their produce with you when you pass by, We have had some great big melons given to us straight from the fields.

  • Liked — The Friendly owners three Generations.
  • Disliked — Having to come home to Rainy England. Also a Supermarket a bit nearer to the appartments.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

On arrival at Katsikoulakis our immediate reaction was 'wow', the accommodation , the location, and the family especially. Set in a tranquil area amidst green fields and overlooking the beach which ok is not the best of beaches, but that is more than made up by the spotless rooms and pool area. The pool bar offers a variety of snacks and drinks, and the family are more than willing to oblige with any request for something not on the menu. There is a small shop just a few minutes walk away for the basics, and a number of taverna/restaurants for very good and reasonably priced food. Choose these studios/apartments if you want a peaceful relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings with a lovely family to look after you. We shall certainly be returning next June.
Derek & Mavis, Wolverhampton.

  • Liked — The Location and the friendliness of the family
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WolverhamptonHerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#16 of 108 in Chania Town
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios
#9 of 108 in Chania Town
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zannis Hotel
Zannis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Perivolia
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexandros Studios
Alexandros Studios
#3 of 3 in Kalamaki
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#19 of 108 in Chania Town
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios Katsikoulakis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios Katsikoulakis

Property: Studios Katsikoulakis
Address: Kamisiana, Kolimbari, Chania Town, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Studios Katsikoulakis Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing