We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ionas Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is located in the perfect location - in Old Town but right on the edge of the touristy section. It is tucked away in a back alley, surrounded by restaurants that thrive at night with locals. The hotel only has 9 suites which gives an element of personality

I stayed in one of the larger rooms with a soaker tub. The hotel is immaculate and is decorated very nicely. The terrace on the second floor is a perfect place to relax in the sun. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was a nice spread of European breakfast items.

Although slightly higher priced than other options, I highly recommend if you are looking for a small, quieter hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quinn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

It has been my second stay in this extraordinarlly lovely and nostalgic chic hotel.The owners and staff are very friendly and very very assisting to resolve the problems of tourists. They have added new lovely pictures and a very nice drawing of the original old houses which forms the modern hotel of our day. Wifi is operative 24 hrs/daily and they are also doing theri best to make the small street look lovely with local flower pots of different sizes and small tables and chairs in the road in front of the hotel. ı hope Iwill be able to find an available room for my next visit to Chania.

Room Tip: Corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alico53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We made a last minute reservation at Ionas, and couldn't have been happier. It's a bit hard to find, but my husband did his homework and pretty much drove there with no problem. We had a rental car and the son of the proprietor went in the car with my husband to find parking. That was very much appreciated. The location is fantastic to explore old town. The house has been restored beautifully and we had a beautiful room. It was quite large by European standards. The hosts are helpful and hospitable. We only wish we had stayed there longer.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate. This is a gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Fantastic. Stayed there at the end of October 2013. The location is perfect at the fringe of the old town and on top of a lovely square. The old ottoman house has been restored with care, and the rooms are aesthetically beautiful, very spacious and enjoy all modern amenities. Breakfast is a little poor as they don't have permit to use a stove in a historic building, but overall the hotel offers excellent value for money and we highly recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the old town of Chania

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sotromos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Not all hotels in Chania have such a charming location right in the old town. Ionas Hotel is a small gem. Modern style, comfortable and friendly staff. Despite the age of the structure, it has been stylishly renovated including an elevator and a pretty garden terrace on one of the upper floors. Our double room was spacious and attractive. The included breakfast was delicious with a variety of local specialities and basic favorites. Several excellent restaurants share the courtyard and the harbor is an easy 5 minute walk. My ONLY complaint is that the bathroom has no shelf space... no where to put stuff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank capindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

we had the luck to choose this hotel for a two-night stay in the wonderful city of Chania. It is situated in a quied alley in the center of Chania (east old city), near the old harbor. The exterior is extremelly well renovated and retains the architecture of the old buildings, although it looks brand new. The interior is friendly and cosy. Everything is (or at least seems) brand new and is chosen with great taste. The minor details are so well taken care of!!!
The lobby on the ground flour is small but warm. There is an elevator (quite unusual for a small hotel in Crete) to the upper rooms. Our room was on the 1st floor and was extremelly clean and tidy. We asked for a double bed and our request was quickly met with.
The matress was fantastic and so were the towels (soft and thick), which gave us a sense of luxury. The room also had mini bar, TV, a bottle of water, as well as access to free WiFi.
The night was very quiet and we enjoyed our sleep on both nights.
The breakfast was quite ample. I especially liked the raisins and olives which belong to the cretan style breakfast. I think it was a nice move that they chose to offer these, next to the classic cheese-ham-marmelade menu. When the weather is good, one can take his breakfast outside on a small terrace next to the hotel, which isalso very charming.
The girl in charge was extremely friendly and helpful and the owner of the place a very classy and interesting person.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psixitaxidiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here for one night before flying home to the UK and wished we could have stayed longer. This boutique hotel has prime position in the old town very close to the ports with good selection of restaurants.The hotel is custom built to a high standard with wonderful taste in decoration. Beds and cleanliness were excellent along with total quietness overnight. Special thanks to Georgie who looked after us so well. Hope to go back to Chania for a city break in the future and would not hesitate to use this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are of good standard and have large comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#28 of 111 in Chania Town
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#46 of 111 in Chania Town
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splanzia
Hotel Splanzia
#15 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionas Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionas Boutique Hotel

Address: Kallinikou Sparpaki & Sorvolou, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £48 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ionas Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique hotel with 9 guest rooms,Ionas Boutique Hotel is a carefully restored historical home, centrally located in a charming neighborhoodof the Venetian Port of Chania.Situated in the most quiet, authentic sectionof town, with many ofthe city's monumentsand museums within walking distance, Ionas Boutique Hotel is also served by numerous local markets, cafes, and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ionas Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ionas Hotel Chania
Ionas Boutique Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing