We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Church of Agios Nikolaos
from US$44.86
More Info
from US$33.36
More Info
from US$51.76
More Info
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
66
77
23
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
77
23
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews greek orthodox light a candle quiet atmosphere old town worth a visit minaret icons prayer beliefs worship history turks goblet holy landmark intriguing architecture
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Refurbishing a mosque, to a beautiful orthodox small church, is a good touch. Don't miss the small gorgeous catholic hidden inside the building on the opposite side of the main street.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank jolB9500HN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Beautiful interior with stained glass, marble tiles, pillars, etc. No pews, some chairs for the elderly...light a candle and say a prayer.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Basil48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

This was one of the places we visited in Chania Town. Not being of Greek Orthodox faith, we found it interesting to see the many icons, statues, pictures, goblets, etc. displayed. The quiet atmosphere inside was appreciated as we sat in the wooden seats and listened to our tour guide who told us a little about the history of the church and the beliefs of its members. We found it to be a worthwhile visit.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank ALB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Sitting in the square, drinking coffee and with time to spare, we ventured into this Church. You are immediately struck by an atmosphere of reverence, peace and calm. The icons, statues,pictures, painted walls, old seats, golden goblets, silver candle holders and many more items show the church off to its best, It is easy to respect other beliefs when you enter and feel the peace and tranquility..
If you only want to get a little shade, then step into this quite wonder, you will not be disapointed.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Pathfinder803274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Nothing really special to mention about, the average Orthodox church you can find in most Greek towns. What is a bit more special is that we had there a most welcome cool place during an unusually hot September day.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Zsolt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews