We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Ranked #16 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Giorgi's Blue Apartments are the perfect place to relax. The views are amazing. The pool is huge and almost empty most of the time we were there (May half term). The hotel is very clean, very well maintained and the staff make you feel so welcome. There are a few sunbeds on the rocks which make you feel like you are the only people there. The free wi-fi was useful. You need a car, but the staff help you to order fantastic take-away food if you don't feel like going out. Excellent value, I would return any time! Diving off the rocks before breakfast is a must.

Not really suitable if you are elderly or have difficulty walking. There are lots of steps, which can be a challenge after all the mojitos at the very useful bar.

We drove to Elafonisi beach. Took about 2 hours over mountain roads. Take your travel sickness pills but worth the drive.

There are lots of restaurants in Chania. The ones away from the harbour are better and not so over run with cats and dogs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 322HolidayMaker322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Great base for a relaxing holiday especially if you like swimming - in the sea off the rocks or in the fabulous swimming pool. Apartments are of a high standard, fellow guests are an interesting and eclectic bunch and the staff endlessly helpful and charming. A car is a must. Keep track of your bar bill as it's easy to rack up and must be paid in cash. We found the incessant music around the pool a bit intrusive - I would have preferred some occasional peace and quiet - but not a big issue. Overall, a great place for exploring this part of Crete - don't miss Stavros beach with its lovely warm lagoon of a sea just 10 minutes away.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DorsetDoubter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The bedroom was large and very comfortable and the bathroom new and expensively done up.
Very large pool with plenty of loungers and large top quality sun-umbrellas. Surprisingly good. You need a car as it is a 20 minute drive to Chania and a 5 minute drive to Stavros beaches (although there is a local beach about a 7 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We fell in love with this place right away. When we arrived we were welcomed with a warm smile, there is an atmosphere which immediately made us feel at home. George is a warm and helpfull person and does everything to make your stay pleasant. He even taught us how to do the sirtaki.... Maria, Maria and Nely are lovely ladies and always have a smile on their face.

Giorgi's Blue Apartments is located on the rocks above the sea with a fantastic view. The complex is beautiful and well taken care off with everywhere flowers and plants. There is no sandy beach in front of the hotel but by going down some stairs you can swim in the clear blue sea.
A beautiful terrace with the bar and swimmingpool and where you can have your breakfast while enjoying the view. In the evening the bar is a nice place to enjoy a drink. If you like mojitos you must ask the blond Maria to make you one, she made the best mojito we have ever had. The apartments are nice, comfortable and clean and have good beds.

If you don't want to go out for dinner or you don't feel like cooking, there are a couple of restaurants which deliver nice food to your apartment for free. You can ask the ladies to order for you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desire65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic trip to Giorgi's blue apartments. It is a great place if you want to relax by a superb pool, swim in the ocean in a private cove and visit the surrounding areas in Chania and the Samaria Gorge ( great hike of 14km through some beautiful scenery). The service is faultless - Giorgi and Maria are very professional and friendly - always there when you need advice of places to visit/eat. The rooms are lovely and clean and refurbished to a high standard. We were really sad to leave and are already planning when we can visit again. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing break in a beautiful location with friendly, happy people. Thanks Giorgi!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

These apartments are attractively set out and are situated in a lovely spot on the coast - a good 20 minutes out of Chania - which is just what we wanted - but be aware that it would be hard to be here without a car if you want to get out and about easily.
Recently refurbished, the mini-apartment was smart, light, funky (purple glass table!) and well-equipped. There was a comfortable chaise-longue to sit on by the balcony (which had a fantastic view.) The bed was good. It was a really nice place to be.
The pool area was delightful - just look at the photos - and, nearby, there is a charming cove with steps into the sea if you prefer bathing in the clear (cold in May!) sea water.
Breakfast is good - freshly pressed orange juice, greek yogurt and a selection of crusty breads (better if there was fruit, but this seems to be rarer in Crete than in other places we have been) and it was a real pleasure to sit and eat this in the morning sun, overlooking the ocean.
The only thing - and I suppose there will be people who don't see this as a a problem - but there was music playing round the pool (pointing towards our apartment) for much of the day. I quite liked the music, but didn't want to be serenaded over breakfast nor distracted by Bob Marley whilst reading. Judging by the age profile and novel-reading going on at the hotel when we were there, I would be surprised if I was the only person who was of my opinion?
Finally, a mention for the staff - all seemed to be effortlessly helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Much better view facing the pool / sea. Not so good on the other side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

These apartments have been renovated to a high standard. They are very clean throughout and the cleaners do a great job. They are very well equipped although we never did find the iron. We weren’t really looking that hard!
The pool and the view are lovely, and the ability to access the clear sea a few mtrs away is great. There are enough sun beds, so no one has to run around putting towels down.
The parking in the road is adequate and we never had to walk more than 20 mtrs from the car.
Breakfast is great and of a good standard. My only wish would be to get a fresh egg that isn’t hard boiled.
The staff are all amazing, and do all they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The choice of music around the pool and bar is very well chosen and rarely too loud.

My points to be aware of are:-

Make sure you book a room facing the sea which is preferably on one level. Some apartments at the front, which have both a double and a single bedroom, are on 4 separate floors. The bathroom is on a separate floor to the bedrooms. They unfortunately also have no sitting room. The balcony is narrow and only gives a limited sea view because of the trees and the angle to the sea.
If you are the sort of person that is annoyed by aircraft noise then this is not the place for you as it is in line with the runway. However, if you are interested in planes, watching the passenger planes and particularly the fighter jets going over is quite an experience not to be missed.
I would say a car is essential to get the most from the location.
Pool towels can be rented on site.
There are limited restaurants locally. By far the best a little further away was on the beach at Stavros run by a brilliant French lady Malika. It is fairly difficult to find the first time, but well worth it as the food is superb. We also found some very atmospheric courtyard type restaurants in Old Town Chania.
In conclusion these apartments are certainly very popular, and it is easy to see why. Hence they seem to be booked quite quickly and were full when we were there.

1  Thank Schleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
6.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
564 reviews
4.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
573 reviews
8.5 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
429 reviews
7.1 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#22 of 111 in Chania Town
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lena Beach Hotel
Lena Beach Hotel
#79 of 111 in Chania Town
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giorgi's Blue Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giorgi's Blue Apartments

Address: | Kalathas - Akrotiri, Chania Town, Crete 73 100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#13 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giorgi's Blue Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giorgi's Blue Apartments is a small complex of 19 furnished apartments with 1 or 2 bedrooms, fully equipped.Ideally located right on the sea (30 m), only 12 min. by car from the town centre (Chania) and 10 Km from the local airport.Perfect location for quiet vacation in a warm and friendly atmosphere - best location to explore West Crete.Unforgettable sunsets by the pool bar... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Giorgi's Blue Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giorgi's Blue Apartments Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing