We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for a relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giorgi's Blue Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I think everything has been said, really - I totally agree with the positive reviews that precede this one. The rooms, housekeeping, pool, breakfast, bar area and staff are all excellent, and location was within walking distance to two supermarkets and the lovely Kalathas beach. The highlight has to be the direct access to the beautiful Mediterranean cove and the semi-private decks on the way down.

So I will focus on location, as this is where we disagree with some other reviews. Many have said a car is needed. This may be the case if you want to tour the area or have children who need a bit more action that couples do. However, we didn't have a car (or children!), and we certainly didn't miss out. It was easy to get a taxi into Chania for 12 Euros each way - which we did three times during our 10-day stay - but most evenings we took the 15 minute walk into Kalathas for dinner. One taverna was right on the beach with an excellent, authentic Greek menu - fairly ordinary in terms of atmosphere but with friendly, efficient service and excellent value at around 30 Euros for 2 (including a litre of the excellent local wine). The second is just before you get to the beach, raised from the road, with the unpromising title of "Fish and Chops and Chips". At first sight the menu seemed a bit limited but once we knew the system we ignored it - the staff bring an excellent choice of fresh fish to the table for you to choose - including some local wild species, which makes a change from the usual farmed bass/bream you tend to get in Greece. They also bring a selection of meze/salads to select from - delicious! Total price was excellent value - even with the relatively expensive fish - at around 45 Euro for 2 - again including wine. It is also a little more atmospheric, with a nice view over the beach. There is, in addition, a hotel restaurant right opposite to this; we didn't try it, but it looked nice. For those prepared for the fairly straightforward walk there is plenty to do locally for those, like us, who don't want to be burdened with a car while on holiday and just want to soak up the local environment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    30
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
120
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Everything was great! From friendly staff, great service to an excellent breakfast every morning. The rooms are modern and clean. The private beach area is also great if you want to stay and chill at the place for a day. Overall, i highly recommend this place for family and young travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baseskija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My family and I visited Giorgi's in June 2014 and absolutely loved it. We had a great sized room for 3 people with an ocean out of every window. The private beach entrance was one of our favorite things there. We thought of it as our own private beach. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Whenever we had a question they were able to provide maps, directions, and the best places to go. All in all a great little place just 20 minutes outside Chania and 3 minutes away from an amazing beach with sand and waves. Couldn't have asked for a better hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Everything written is true...the place and the people are amazing. George and Maria are extremely experienced in running a tight ship...it is the personal touch that makes their place stand out. It's all true what others have written. A great place to come back to after a day's sightseeing. Kalathas is well sited for exploring the area and so tranquil. We truly loved everything about the Blue Apartments....even the daily fly past!
Try the cocktails and we're going to miss the fresh orange juice for breakfast

We had apt 15 with no sea view, but we loved it...we had 2 balconies...it was peaceful.
Yes, you need a car but exploring the local restaurants added to our holiday. Within a 5 - 10 min drive we had excellent meals at Bahar (completely different menu from the standard Greek fare), Irene's, Ramblers (for incredible steak) Bourtrakis( the most amazing value 12 euro set meal)
Take George's recommendations for restaurants and beaches. I doubt we would have found Malathi beach without him....beautiful sandy cove with all the amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank italophile2salisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay, attentive staff. We were treated like family. One thing missing is food. They serve breakfast but after that you have to order in or drive to get a meal. If they utilized their kitchen for at least dinner I would have given them 5 stars.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chuck m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

wonderful place, with private beach, swimming pool, and the kindness of the staff is amazing. Great breakfast and cocktails for the evening.
Very pacefull. Some planes of the NATO early in the morning, reminding "Topgun" !
Thank you ….

Room Tip: Attention aux enfants petits, l'accès à la piscine n'est pas sécurisé
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pierre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We were two families. Amazing beach really alone just for us. Swimming pool and great pool furnitures. Big rooms and lovely kitchen. Warm treatment by the employees. Good breakfast. This is the place for a real vacation.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
8.6 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
4.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
4.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
61.2 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
25.5 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giorgi's Blue Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giorgi's Blue Apartments

Property: Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Address: | Kalathas - Akrotiri, Chania Town, Crete 73 100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#13 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Giorgi's Blue Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giorgi's Blue Apartments is a small complex of 19 furnished apartments with 1 or 2 bedrooms, fully equipped.Ideally located right on the sea (30 m), only 12 min. by car from the town centre (Chania) and 10 Km from the local airport.Perfect location for quiet vacation in a warm and friendly atmosphere - best location to explore West Crete.Unforgettable sunsets by the pool bar... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Giorgi's Blue Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giorgi's Blue Apartments Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing