We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time in 2 Years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The first time I visited the hotel was 2 years ago and I had the best time of my life.
I decided to return back this summer since the exotic resort at Krabi (Tailand) did not fulfilled my expectations.
I will not repeat again all my positive comments since you can read them on my previous report.
The hotel within 2 years did not change at all but it became even better…
This hotel is a true diamond! Fist class service, luxury and modern rooms, delicious food, fantastic beach, helpful personnel!

Thank you Domes of Elounda…!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnie_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 997 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Summary: Could do so much better - has a lot promise which it fails to deliver

First of all the good
The view from everywhere – the main hotel and room was excellent
Room space - excellent in a 1 room suite (except balcony see below)
Staff service – not excellent but sufficient though patchy
Effect of the holiday – Relaxing, peace & quiet (most of the time)

The Bad - General & Environs
Domes references both on its website and in its lobby upon the Conde Naste Traveller award but the standard of the stay in September fell far short of what one would expect.
Sanitary problem - historically smelly drains have been a problem in the Mediterranean but it has been successfully fixed in most places but this is not yet the case at Domes
The rooms are spread across the hill in small blocks with interconnecting paths – which are mostly well lit. However not all steps are illuminated, these inconsistencies caught us both unawares, causing us to nearly fall in the same place on two different occasions (sober)
As part of welcoming (or part of the post booking process) guests could be asked what times they would like their hot tub to be on - some folks like to sleep late or go to bed early – at the motor pump is noisy outside the bedroom.
Guests relations staff shouldn't sit around on Facebook in the main lobby during the evening (which was observed) but should go and chat with guests. Maybe sit with guests post-meal offering drink for chat & feedback. So that hotel can seek to attain continuous improvement - standard is certainly no longer commensurate with Conde Naste Traveller award
In lieu of old fashioned in room manual (which was missed), a late arrival pack should be offered for those who want to retire immediately on late arrival or don't want to be disturbed and just want a quiet holiday. Rather than having to then meet up with a member of staff on another day to find out what’s where etc.
The spa sent a consultation letter – but it presumed that men want sports massage and ladies don't. The letter did not highlight range, flexibility and value (but on enquiry flexibility and value did seem to missing)
Given how much of the world is becoming smoke-free - a dedicated smoking area would keep all happy, especially as bar sells cigars. The open plan bar area with two separate verandas is all pro-smoking – so on a breezy evening, a smoker can fumigate the whole area. On one occasion it was observed that in the space of 30 minutes, 12 people entered bar and left straight away because one person was smoking a cigar
Hotel paperwork does not give consistent or accurate information with regards to bar/restaurant opening times. This confusion is reflected when speaking with staff who also gave inaccurate information upon occasion (e.g. Oh yes the beach bar is serving food [at 6pm] when in fact only served daytime snacks earlier in the day)

The Bad - The Room & Marketing Spin
Shower needs deep cleaned (many months of old limescale all around)
Bathroom floor grouting looking dirty – a steam nozzle cleaning would easily refresh
Replace or discard bathrobes which very tired, ripped & course (good for exfoliation). Such robes are not becoming a hotel of this standard. Also do not presume that all guests are less than 1.7m or less than 70kgs - many men are easily 1.8m or taller
Very intermittent wifi in rooms
Copper sink has peeling cling film over entire inner surface that is akin to peeling skin - looks unpleasant and is probably easy place for dirt to build up up. This has obvious hygiene issues
Some rooms have verandas, others have fully open balconies whilst other have balconies with closed ends (which desperately need ceiling fan as impossible to have air movement)
Balcony furniture is inadequate - 1x chair is only wide enough for children. Table is wrong height for dining.
The balcony which measured 4.2m by 2m had the hot tub – which meant the remaining space was only 2.3m by 2m which felt very crampt and was not big enough for anything else especially for in room dining.
The bed really needed to be replaced – on the “telephone side” the Bed/mattress was tired/collapsing but was still “freshish” on other side

The Bad - Children
Previously Domes portrayed itself as an exclusive destination, whilst not being child unfriendly - it appeared to cater to couples primarily. However in the last year, perhaps in light of the economy and trying to compete with neighbouring larger establishments - this is now a child friendly hotel, as demonstrated by children running around main restaurant at 9pm. Another evening a family arrived at 915pm with children of 3 & 5 years. Or a couple bringing their baby in a buggy into the bar (live DJ, noisy and smokey atmosphere) at 2240. Not wishing to criticise their parenting skills, the issue was that such events impacted upon those wishing to a child free evening and hope to achieve one at a later hour.
The dining situation could easily be resolved by opening the restaurant from 1800 and making an age restriction of 16+ for after 2000. Is the target demographic really child loving or does the targeted market merely contain some parents. The vaunted separate “adults only area” is academic when it is a 3m wide strip along the edge of dining area of 15x20m – separated by a rope which still has children running through. The other hotel restaurants have no separation at all.
Domes is an expensive, luxury resort which risks compromising its proposition by trying to cater to too many markets in an non-thought out approach. It begins to look like a small version of Porto Elounda just up the road
There is a childs pool next to the main pool - yet parents are allowed to put their nappied toddlers in the main pool.

The Bad - Dining
Having tried all dining experiences offered by Domes - we could see no evidence to their claimed "dedication to Haute Cuisine". At best, it is basic but adequate and at worst, school dinners are superior. Whilst the hotel may host "annual Festival de la Gastronomie" there is no evidence that this may have benefitted the menu or standard of cooking for the rest of the year (unless it was truly abysmal before). It is worth noting that we writers have been described as epicurists & gastronomes – not being ones to complain but normally seek out the best and praise.
The menus as a way of catering to the multinational clientele had 4 way translations (Greek, English, French, German). But these translations were inconsistent. For example:
“Pecan Pie (ENG), Gâteau au Noix (FR)” but turned to be nut sponge
“Grilled Veal Fillet (ENG), Filet au bœuf au gril (FR)” but turned out to be mystery meat (Veal is Veau in French)

In summary - would we return? Unlikely, the same or better quality can be found elsewhere at a fraction of the cost. There was nothing unique about Domes of Elounda in comparison with our global experience.

Room Tip: Book carefully as some rooms have oblique views, others are overlooked, whilst others have great fea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SimonBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domesofelounda, Guest Relations Manager at Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It saddens me to read that your Domes of Elounda experience with us did not meet your expectations and for this I sincerely apologize.

Domes of Elounda is built on a hillside looking out to spectacular sea views and Spinalonga Island. It welcomes couples as well as families, who as a matter of course spend their vacations in luxury and in high spirits. Fine dining and high quality amenities is our standard and we do pride ourselves in our friendly and efficient service. You will be happy to know that we at Domes of Elounda indeed take all feedback seriously and take the necessary measurements to rectify any misfortune based on candid and objective remarks.

For instance we already took the following measures and ascertain:
-a stronger WiFi connection within the suites,
more detailed consultation letters and designated areas within the resort for easier navigation,
-a partnership with HYTRA, a Michelin awarded restaurant for a unique culinary experience, only for adults,
-integration of pergolas and natural fences to reinforce privacy between the suites,
-this season there will also be a beach manager at disposal to pamper our guests; making sure that our guests are enjoying themselves wherever they are!

In fact, we would love to welcome you again as our guests in the future and experience Domes of Elounda at its best; perhaps changing your perspective about our resort.

In the meantime, if you wish, you may contact us in person to discuss the issues thoroughly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon. Everything was great. The management couldn't have been more accommodating. Got an upgrade upon arrival. Couldn't have asked for more. Walk to Plaka but take a cab to Elounda.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdp91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domesofelounda, Guest Relations Manager at Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Guest,

I am delighted that we took part in this lovely occasion and made it memorable. Domes of Elounda and our team look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps for the celebration of your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Amazing hotel with lovely staff, beautiful views and good food. Full of happy memories - I miss the Domes of Elounda

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domesofelounda, Guest Relations Manager at Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Guest,

What a lovely review!! I am really pleased that you have enjoyed your Domes of Elounda experience and that our team has contributed in making it fantastic.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Wow! We spent the whole week feeling like the luckiest couple staying here. For the price (approximately £1400 for the week, half board) we could not believe it. We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived til we left. We were upgraded to suite 102 which was huge with an amazing bathroom including jacuzzi bath, four poster bed, living room, enormous balcony. Our favourite bit was the jacuzzi on the balcony and even when it was raining we could still use it.

Food was incredible - great selection and loads of it! We must've eaten 4 desserts each some nights! 1910 restaurant was beautiful.

The hotel lobby and bar were stunning. Free wifi in the bar and we could actually get this in our room.

There seemed to be golf buggies to ferry ppl around if they wanted it, although we really didn't have need for this. The beach wasn't far away.

Loved the location of this hotel and it's an easy short walk into plans which we did 3 times (about 10 mins).

Get a speedboat to Spinalonga- well worth it.

Yes there were a lot of a kids around and the balconies are a little overlooked but there is no real problem. Drinks aren't much more expensive than the local tavernas.

Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domesofelounda, Guest Relations Manager at Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure I read your review! We are all delighted that your honeymoon was amazing as it should have been and that everything was as you had wished for and even better! I will ensure that everyone who played a part during your big days sees your very kind words.

Look forward to “spoiling” you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week in October, end of the season and it had that end of season feeling about it.

The negatives are there seems to be a timer on the hot water as I could not get any before then no matter how many times I complained to reception and them promising to send someone straight away no one came. The villa offers no privacy could be seen from our hot tub and see others. The buffet food was not very good for a hotel of this calibre, especially for children. If the hotel was at full capacity no way was there enough sun loungers and the beach left slot to be desired. The food and drinks were way overpriced.

We have stayed in 5 star hotels in New York, London, Paris actually we only stay in 5 star hotels and this was by far the worst.

There were some positives, the children's club was superb as was the staff. The views of Spinalonga was excellent but as another comment said it takes more than a good view to make a hotel.

We will certainly not be returning, not good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank pantonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domesofelounda, Guest Relations Manager at Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.

On the same note, we are very disappointed that we failed to offer you the true Domes of Elounda experience. The resort is in an excellent location, with outstanding views, blending with its surroundings. There are different accommodation options and we do have specific accommodation alternatives that grant seclusion and can be offered, if such a desire is expressed.

Despite the unfortunate circumstances that you are referring to, we are glad to know that you were content about some aspects of the resort and we would love to welcome you again as our guests and make sure that then all aspects will be as imagined.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This wonderful hotel was our home for a week, and it really felt like a "home" as all of the staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was prepared fresh in front of you - whether it be a selection of sushi or steaks off the grill. The private beach was uncrowded and relaxing. The spa was delightful, and I can honestly say that I had one of the best massages ever there. Our villa, with a private hot tub on the terrace was roomy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smurf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domesofelounda, Guest Relations Manager at Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I will definitely share it with the team.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future and guarantee ultimate relaxation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
2.9 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
3.4 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
449 reviews
2.6 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
720 reviews
3.0 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection

Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#1 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#4 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £144 - £575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection is set on the most privileged hill and offers luxurious accommodation with spa bath overlooking the island of Spinalonga and its Venetian castle. It has a spa and 5 restaurants serving haute cuisine dishes, a sandy beach and many swimming pools. Each of the air-conditioned suites is uniquely decorated and has easy access to the private sandy beach. They include a spacious living room with wooden floors and a satellite LCD TV. Some suites also have a private pool or open-air hot tub. This year, the new Domes Luxury Residences, along with the stunning Domes Ultraluxe Villas, come with the 'Haute Living Selection', essentially creating an exclusive haute-luxury villa boutique experience, within the already impressive resort of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection. The spa of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection includes an interior seawater pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. It also offers rejuvenating therapies, such as facial and massage treatments. The 5 restaurants offer casual beachside settings or elegant dining rooms with panoramic sea views. Guests can taste progressive Greek cuisine, seafood and Cretan dishes. An Asian restaurant is also possible. The hotel is very conveniently located. The village of Elounda is 2.5 km away. Part of the Elounda myth, is the Venetian Castle on the Island of Spinalonga, the setting for Victoria Hislop's bestselling novel "The Island". The lively seaside town of Agios Nikolaos is within 12 km of Domes of Elounda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Destinology, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domes Of Elounda All Suites And Villas Spa Hotel Elounda
Domes Elounda Hotel
Domes Elounda Resort
Domes Of Elounda, Autograph Collection Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing