We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, perfect location, but really for younger families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just spent two wonderful weekends in the Domes of Elounda in Crete. The good points, perfect location in between Plaka and Elounda two lovely villages with gorgeous restaurants and shops (especially Plaka - visit Captain Nikolas) and in Elounda (Oila restaurant). Beach in the Domes is lovely, view stunning, water sports super (thank you Alex). Staff in Domes couldn't do enough, thank you Maggie. Accommodation perfect. The only thing you should be aware of is that it is perfect for young children so lots of families, beach gets very crowded, resembles a creche after a while. We went B&B so enjoyed local restaurants - would recommend this as the restaurant while ideal for breakfast does not lend itself to evening dining. There are two other restaurants, pool and beach. Beach restaurant has BBQ once a week, seriously expensive and not worth it.

Room Tip: we stayed in suite 411, with private pool - perfect - and stunning views, however a bit up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Orlagh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I brought our three-year-old daughter there in mid-April 2014, but I never got around to posting a review until now. We booked this place because we wanted to be sure that all three of us would enjoy the time away, regardless of the weather. We got a really good deal because it was off-season.

There were so many nice things about the place that I don't know where to begin. The first thing I noticed, and what stood out above all, was the great service. While our luggage was delivered to our suite, we were given delicious Greek sparkling wine. The outdoor jacuzzi was pre-warmed and waiting for us when we arrived at our suite. The toiletries were from Korres(!!), a Greek natural products brand of which I am a huge fan. The staff were extremely attentive and drove us in a golf cart all around the resort.

The indoor heated pool was open to children in the morning only, which was a good way to separate the children from the guests wanting a peaceful spa experience. The staff were very patient and kind, providing numerous towels for soaking wet kids. There is a nursery with plenty of activities where small children can be left for most of the day while weary parents relax. On the day it rained, our daughter thoroughly enjoyed herself at the nursery painting eggs and doing other crafts, while we went from outdoor jacuzzi to indoor jacuzzi enjoying the same delicious sparkling wine we had when we first arrived. For days with better weather, there are beach toys available for children.

For chilly days, the beach restaurant has outdoor heaters and blankets. I selected a fish that they subsequently cooked and served us while we kept snug under the blankets. The buffet dinners at the main dining hall were also delicious and food was fresh. One evening we had the delightful experience of dining amidst the beautiful melodies of a grand piano.

Overall, this was a really great experience and I'm sure we will be coming back again, especially if we want to be sure that our enjoyment will not depend on the weather.

Room Tip: try it during off-season for a great bargain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sun_baby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very nice place, great beach - perfect for children, very nice friendly staff, very average food in restaurants. But the most important thing in my opinion its seriously overpriced for what it is.
And don't go to what they call a new part of resort - on the other side of the hill. They started to put people over there, but its still a building site (in was June 2014).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for our Honeymoon at the end of June for a week. Upon arrival we were welcomed from our taxi and our luggage was taken to our room. We recieved a lovely glass of sparkling wine and were given a much needed cold towel.

We had an intro to the hotel and were taken by buggy to our room which was beautiful and spacious. It was kept clean, though the hot tub could definately have done with being emptied and re-filled as there was quite a lot of sand in the bottom of it. We did get a bottle of water left in the room on a couple of occasions but not every day for some reason?

I can not praise the food at this hotel enough, there was nothing that I didnt think tasted amazing - Asian night was especially good. The onnly negative thing would be that although you get juice, sparkling water or sparkling wine with breakfast you do not get anything with your evening meal and a bottle of water is €4. I do think it should be complimentary with your dinner.

The hotel was full but I didn't feel it at all, we never had to wait to be served and there were always plenty of loungers by the pool and on the beach.

The staff here are amazing and can not do enough for you. Its so refreshing to see staff that clearly enjoy their jobs and are genuinely friendly and welcoming.

We would definately return, but maybe dine in nearby Plaka or Elounda a few times (we didnt have dinner out this time as the food is so good at the hotel and we were half board)

Room Tip: As others say, ask for one further up. Ours was quite low down and the hot tub was not as private as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a marvellous resort hotel, with amazing views and excellent service. The resort is set on quite a slope, so you either get quite a lot of exercise up and down the hillside, or rely up the readily available chauffeured buggies. The views of the bay and Spinalonga are wonderful.
The only issue we have with had was with the meals. The main restaurant (Tholos) is a buffet service, which is wonderful for breakfast, but less inspiring for evening dining. Also the Anthos restaurant is a wonderful location with excellent service, but the food is average and massively over-priced. Our starters were fine, but both our main course fish dishes were served with the same over-cooked, stodgy risotto; neither of us could finish this. The deserts were boring and not worth close to 42 Euros price. Thankfully there are many better restaurants available in Elounda, particularly the Kalypso.Take our advice do stay at this wonderful resort, but eat out as the food is much better elsewhere.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view, but the more of a climb (unless you rely upon the free buggie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JNT015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at Domes for one week at the beginning of June 2014.

It is an attractive hotel with beautiful views over to the island of Spinalonga. The staff are fantastic - really friendly and helpful but not at all overbearing.

Room.
The rooms are very pleasant - we had a one bed suite with separate living room to accommodate our 3 year old. It had a lovely balcony with hot tub. For us this worked very well - both the living room and bedroom have separate lockable access to the balcony and to the bathroom, so we could move about in the evening without waking the small person. The only concern I had was that the access door could be opened from the inside (no removable key just a slide lock) so we did have issues with our child escaping on occasion. For that reason I was glad we had not chosen the pool option.

Food.
We stayed bed and breakfast. The breakfast was excellent with a great variety of items. If you want freshly squeezed orange juice you just need to ask. For lunch we tried topos, the beach bar and the pool bar. By far the best of these was the pool bar (surprising as it does not look much) - great salads and sandwiches (the steak sandwich was epic). For dinner we tried topos, the buffet (which is where you eat if you are half board) and the themed greek bbq night in topos. The dinner in topos was nice but worked out very expensive, particularly because my partner ordered lobster which turned out to be £80 (way more expensive than we have paid at top end restaurants in Devon). The buffet I was not impressed with. the food was very average and, as we weren't half board, cost 90 euros plus drinks for 2 of us and a 3 year old. The bbq night in topos was 130 euros with no drinks included - the setting is lovely but again the food was very average (standard bbq fare) and I don't think it was good value for money. All in all if we went back we would go B & B again and probably have lunch at the pool bar and go out for dinner in the local village, Placa, which is a short walk away or 7 euros in a taxi. Placa is absolutely gorgeous - picture postcard, with some lovely little bars and restaurants. We had a great meal in the little restaurant right in the middle of the village (called something like the Olive Grove) and a fabulous meal in a restaurant called Thalassa on the front. These were very reasonably priced (59 euros and 78 euros respectively - the latter including pre-dinner drinks and two flasks of wine) and in the case of Thalassa quite superb food (but beware - massive portions!!) - have the parmesan and sundried tomato salad with a portion of calamari (this would probably feed two, it is huge)!
Kids
The kids club was great for our three year old - it did seem more geared towards younger ones, but then we did go outside school holiday times so there were only a few school age kids there. The beach is great for kids as it is very narrow and on a safe lagoon - you can sit on a sunlounger and be right next to where the kids are playing. The staff are all very geared up to dealing with kids. We booked babysitting for two evenings which I was quite nervous about as I have not done that before - it turned out to be ladies from the kids club so our daughter was delighted and very happy to be left as she knew them, which made me feel much more confident about it. The good thing about this resort is that there are designated 'non-kid' areas - both in the restaurant and on the beach - meaning that you could come here without kids and not be subjected to constant noise etc.

Overall we really enjoyed our holiday here - it was very relaxing and we may well return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TigerFeet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights to celebrate our wedding in Elounda on June 14th, having previously stayed at the superb Elounda Heights Studios. The Domes is everything you'd expect from a 5-star. Attentive staff dealing with your every possible need, well manicured grounds and polished marble floors and an immaculate beach covered with pine and olive trees.

Upon arrival and after hearing of our wedding, we were upgraded to the Royal Suite, a 3 bedroomed, 4 bathroomed villa at the top of the hotel which, in all honesty, was far too big for our needs but a really nice touch nevertheless. We particularly enjoyed having our own private pool and outdoor hot tub which was beautiful to use at night under the stars.

Service clearly is the number 1 priority here and everyday you are asked if everything is ok, if there's anything they can do for you etc. There's always a passing golf buggy to hand should you not wish to walk back to your room and all the staff always shout a cheery 'Good Morning' or 'Good Evening' as you pass.

The food, on the whole, was very nice. We ate twice in the restaurant in the evenings and have no complaints. Breakfast was delicious although by day 4 got a little repetitive. Champagne and freshly squeezed juice every morning was very enjoyable.

So why not give it 5 stars? Well, put simply, for us this hotel is not the real Crete. It is a self contained complex which actually could be anywhere and despite all its efforts, lacks the charm of this beautiful Greek island. We ended up going back into Elounda and nearby Plaka several times during our short stay as we missed the real Cretan hospitality that we had experienced in abundance prior to our wedding. After dark, the hotel lacks atmosphere as the bars and restaurants are mostly empty, guests assumingly put off by the expensive drinks prices. There were also quite a few young children here which, for us, somewhat spoilt the luxurious and tranquil surroundings.

So, did we enjoy our stay? On the whole yes. The upgrade to the Royal Suite in particular was a very kind gesture and something we will never experience again. Will we return? Probably not. As nice as the hotel is, this just isn't the real Crete. We like places that feel Greek. Shame really but I don't think there's anything they can do to change this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manc_Ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
2.9 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
3.0 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
3.4 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
1.9 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
457 reviews
2.6 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection

Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#4 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £125 - £634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection is set on the most privileged hill and offers luxurious accommodation with spa bath overlooking the island of Spinalonga and its Venetian castle. It has a spa and 5 restaurants serving haute cuisine dishes, a sandy beach and many swimming pools. Each of the air-conditioned suites is uniquely decorated and has easy access to the private sandy beach. They include a spacious living room with wooden floors and a satellite LCD TV. Some suites also have a private pool or open-air hot tub. This year, the new Domes Luxury Residences, along with the stunning Domes Ultraluxe Villas, come with the 'Haute Living Selection', essentially creating an exclusive haute-luxury villa boutique experience, within the already impressive resort of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection. The spa of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection includes an interior seawater pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. It also offers rejuvenating therapies, such as facial and massage treatments. The 5 restaurants offer casual beachside settings or elegant dining rooms with panoramic sea views. Guests can taste progressive Greek cuisine, seafood and Cretan dishes. An Asian restaurant is also possible. The hotel is very conveniently located. The village of Elounda is 2.5 km away. Part of the Elounda myth, is the Venetian Castle on the Island of Spinalonga, the setting for Victoria Hislop's bestselling novel "The Island". The lively seaside town of Agios Nikolaos is within 12 km of Domes of Elounda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, MrandMrsSmith, Destinology, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domes Of Elounda All Suites And Villas Spa Hotel Elounda
Domes Elounda Hotel
Domes Elounda Resort
Domes Of Elounda, Autograph Collection Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing