We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax and chill out.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just spent 8 days in this value for money hotel in an idyllic location. Our air conditioned room was comfortable and we had great views from our spacious balcony which enjoyed sunshine all day. The staff were all friendly and willing to go above and beyond to make sure you enjoyed your stay. The pool was small but great for cooling off. If you wanted to swim there were a couple of small beach areas within minutes walk from the hotel with plenty of sun loungers.

Also a short walk away was the town centre with plenty of supermarkets, shops (fur????) and a variety of bars, family restaurants and cafes.

Lynne and Soulah were always there with a friendly hello and smile looking after the bar/restaurant area.

The kitchen facilities were basic in the apartments so if you were planning to self cater you might find it rather limiting - but I was there for a holiday - not to cook!

Free WiFi was a bonus and Yannis and Dimos were helpful when looking for places to go, things to do - and even offered lifts, if needed, to pick up points when leaving for the airport.

For a small fee you could extend your check out time if you had a late flight - unfortunately for us there were no rooms available for us to make use of this facility. A testament to how popular this family run hotel is!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesPat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just got home from 11 nights at the Elounda Sunrise . Had sn excellent holiday . Rooms are very clean . Location is also a plus point . Just near enough for a short walk to the town.
Bar facilities are first class and the food served is brilliant.
A special thanks to Yannis, Dimos,Pete,Lynn, Soula and all the rest of the staff and fellow residents for making our stay fantastic. We will be back .
Best wishes Andy , Lisa and Katie from Hull

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShortyHFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We've just returned from 2 weeks at the Sunrise Apartments. We found Sunrise hugely welcoming and accomodating, with a very friendly relaxed atmosphere overall. This is down to the great staff who all went way out of their way to make us and noisy kids feel at home. A special mention to Lynn for her patience and good humour in entertaining our two year old!

This is set in a beautiful and convenient location, lovely place to enjoy a drink and watch the sea, an easy walk to restaurants and the main square, or to the small beach a few meters away. We were a party of 2 adults and 2 kids, and stayed in room13 (1 bed Apt) which, after having seen some of the views from other rooms/apts wasn't the best, but this is our only negative. Based on what we paid for the holiday it was still great value for money. Perhaps a few more cooking utensils or toaster would improve the ability to self cater, but this is a small point. Cleanliness of our room and the pool was great, as was having wifi.

We booked via On the Beach, our booking was for Alykes Apts (2doors down) but were accommodated here. We've since read trip advisor and seen that this has happened to other holidaymakers. We were personally very glad, and have no doubt we were better catered for as a family at Sunrise. Just be aware that bookings with OTB may not be what they seem.

Elounda was a great location for a family holiday and the Sunrise was a perfect, relaxing base for this. You will receive perfect hospitality both here and in the many tavernas/cafes/restaurants (which we'll also review!)
We ventured out and about for a few days and would recommend a trip to Plaka to chill out, the boat to spinalonga, a trip over the hill to Kolokitha beach (early to avoid Malia traffic!) but would avoid the Happy train purely based on cost! Sunrise was always a welcome sight and perfect place to finish the day off with a cold drink by the sea.

We haven't reviewed before but wanted to thoroughly recommend it, we will be back, thank you!

P.S. top tip, we used a local taxi transfer from the airport which was half the cost and a lot quicker than the coach offered by On the beach.

Room Tip: Lots of excellent rooms with sea views, go for 33 for a studio, 17 for a family but avoid room 13 wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWakefields2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Did not live up to expectations based on write up and descriptions. Cramped and airless rooms, with pillows that smelt of smoke, small pool and unwelcoming bar were only slightly improved by the shoreline location. Also impossible to find and took several trips up and down the main road before we found the sharp hairpin turn needed to find the place. But at least we were on the 9am boat to Spinalonga. Won't be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robvilladerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here for two weeks during July 13 and would recommend to anybody looking for a reasonably priced self catering apartment within walking distance to the wonderful marina of Elounda. The main square of Elounda is only a 5/10 minute walk with lots of traditional Greek Tavernas, seafront restaurants and café/bars along the way. The choice of places to eat good food is second to none!!

The rooms at the Sunrise Apartments are kept clean and facilities adequate for making drinks and breakfast. The pool area and bar provide a relaxing environment to sunbathe and for taking a quick dip for cooling down during the hot summer days. A wide range of tasty snacks are available from the pool bar, we tried a number if these and found them all to be excellent, along with the various choice of drinks and cocktails on offer.

Our only regret is that we did not get chance to properly thank all of the staff before leaving, especially Lynn for providing a brilliant friendly service at the pool bar. This was due to us running late on our last day for the airport transfer which Yanis kindly drove us to the bus stop to ensure we did not miss our coach.

Room Tip: Room 33 has an excellent sea view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oasismaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Myself and my 2-year old daughter stayed here for a wonderful week recently. My Mum and Dad have been going staying here for the past 8 years so I wanted to see why they love it so much. And now I know! Our apartment was spotlessly clean, the view from the balcony was beautiful but most of all the welcome was amazing. The team at Sunrise couldn't have done any more for us.

It's a gentle walk from the apartments to town but if you don't fancy it, there is a bar that serves good food all day right through from breakfast to the evening. There's a small pool that is fab for a quick cooling dip.

All in all a great 'get away from it all' holiday. We'll definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scubafreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Just returned from a two week holiday at these excellent apartments. The sea view across to spinalonga island in the morning when we opened the shutters takes your breath away, we stayed in number 22.The location is right by the sea and a pleasant flat 10 minute walk along the front to the square passing bars and restaurants on the way. Yiannis, Dimos and Lynne are very friendly and look after everyone really well even taking us up to the coach for our return as we were uncertain of pickup place. The apartments are kept spotlessy clean and the bed we had was really comfortable. Greek hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#13 of 35 in Elounda
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
720 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Sunrise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Sunrise Apartments

Address: Akti Oloundos, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Elounda
#15 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £28 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elounda Sunrise Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Sunrise apartments are ready to host each visitor and provide them with an unforgettable experience. The neat, friendly atmosphere, the clean and beautiful environment, the friendly personnel will do everything to make your stay a memorable one. The complex includes a restaurant for breakfast and dinner, next to the swimming-pool with a fantastic view of the Gulf of Elounda. In the central bar there is satellite television, a swimming-pool with a swimming area for children, a place for gathering, wireless Internet connection. If you want to take your laptop from home, you are more then welcome to use our wireless connection. All the rooms have private heating and air conditioning, telephone, safe, mini-bar, satellite television, bathroom and balcony with great sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elounda Sunrise Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Sunrise Apartments Hotel Elounda
Sunrise Apartments Hotel Elounda
Elounda Sunrise Apartments Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing