We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

After a 14 night stay in this wonderful coastal resort,and the excellent apartments run by a very welcoming family,fantastic staff lynn and pete who are only to happy to be at your service,we are looking forward to our next stay in this relaxing and scenic part of crete.
thank you all for making our stay a pleasure and memorable experience,
see all you people next time round,all the best Glynn and Beryl

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bezmolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just got home from 6 nights at the Elounda Sunrise . Had a great holiday . Rooms are very clean and quite spacious. Location is definitely a plus point, it's right next to the sea, far enough away from the noise and hustle and bustle of the town, but also a pleasant walk along the seafront into town. Lovely relaxing bar, staff very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. A big thank you to Yannis, Dimos,Pete,Lynn and especially Soula who was so kind when I first arrived and could not get not my room due to a mix up with flights and airport pickup.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skingmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We've just had ten wonderful days in the Sunrise apartments. Our only regret is that we had only booked ten rather than fourteen nights! We had a studio, room 23, and although the room was small the view from the balcony was perfect. We had fabulous views over the harbour towards Spinalonga. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. There was always plenty of room by the pool and if you preferred the beach was a two minute walk. The setting is perfect. You can walk along the seafront, only 10mins, to the lovely harbour and on route you pass loads of restaurants and bars. We never had a bad meal in Elounda and found the whole resort excellent value for money, very friendly and very relaxing. However, if you don't want to stroll into Elounda then the food and drinks from the Sunrise bar was also excellent and super value. All of the staff at the Sunrise are friendly, helpful and will ensure that you have a lovely holiday. Can't recommend this place enough. Thanks to all at the Sunrise for making us feel so welcome and for looking after us so well. I'm sure we will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor in the front block have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186424Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just spent 8 days in this value for money hotel in an idyllic location. Our air conditioned room was comfortable and we had great views from our spacious balcony which enjoyed sunshine all day. The staff were all friendly and willing to go above and beyond to make sure you enjoyed your stay. The pool was small but great for cooling off. If you wanted to swim there were a couple of small beach areas within minutes walk from the hotel with plenty of sun loungers.

Also a short walk away was the town centre with plenty of supermarkets, shops (fur????) and a variety of bars, family restaurants and cafes.

Lynne and Soulah were always there with a friendly hello and smile looking after the bar/restaurant area.

The kitchen facilities were basic in the apartments so if you were planning to self cater you might find it rather limiting - but I was there for a holiday - not to cook!

Free WiFi was a bonus and Yannis and Dimos were helpful when looking for places to go, things to do - and even offered lifts, if needed, to pick up points when leaving for the airport.

For a small fee you could extend your check out time if you had a late flight - unfortunately for us there were no rooms available for us to make use of this facility. A testament to how popular this family run hotel is!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesPat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just got home from 11 nights at the Elounda Sunrise . Had sn excellent holiday . Rooms are very clean . Location is also a plus point . Just near enough for a short walk to the town.
Bar facilities are first class and the food served is brilliant.
A special thanks to Yannis, Dimos,Pete,Lynn, Soula and all the rest of the staff and fellow residents for making our stay fantastic. We will be back .
Best wishes Andy , Lisa and Katie from Hull

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShortyHFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We've just returned from 2 weeks at the Sunrise Apartments. We found Sunrise hugely welcoming and accomodating, with a very friendly relaxed atmosphere overall. This is down to the great staff who all went way out of their way to make us and noisy kids feel at home. A special mention to Lynn for her patience and good humour in entertaining our two year old!

This is set in a beautiful and convenient location, lovely place to enjoy a drink and watch the sea, an easy walk to restaurants and the main square, or to the small beach a few meters away. We were a party of 2 adults and 2 kids, and stayed in room13 (1 bed Apt) which, after having seen some of the views from other rooms/apts wasn't the best, but this is our only negative. Based on what we paid for the holiday it was still great value for money. Perhaps a few more cooking utensils or toaster would improve the ability to self cater, but this is a small point. Cleanliness of our room and the pool was great, as was having wifi.

We booked via On the Beach, our booking was for Alykes Apts (2doors down) but were accommodated here. We've since read trip advisor and seen that this has happened to other holidaymakers. We were personally very glad, and have no doubt we were better catered for as a family at Sunrise. Just be aware that bookings with OTB may not be what they seem.

Elounda was a great location for a family holiday and the Sunrise was a perfect, relaxing base for this. You will receive perfect hospitality both here and in the many tavernas/cafes/restaurants (which we'll also review!)
We ventured out and about for a few days and would recommend a trip to Plaka to chill out, the boat to spinalonga, a trip over the hill to Kolokitha beach (early to avoid Malia traffic!) but would avoid the Happy train purely based on cost! Sunrise was always a welcome sight and perfect place to finish the day off with a cold drink by the sea.

We haven't reviewed before but wanted to thoroughly recommend it, we will be back, thank you!

P.S. top tip, we used a local taxi transfer from the airport which was half the cost and a lot quicker than the coach offered by On the beach.

Room Tip: Lots of excellent rooms with sea views, go for 33 for a studio, 17 for a family but avoid room 13 wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWakefields2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Did not live up to expectations based on write up and descriptions. Cramped and airless rooms, with pillows that smelt of smoke, small pool and unwelcoming bar were only slightly improved by the shoreline location. Also impossible to find and took several trips up and down the main road before we found the sharp hairpin turn needed to find the place. But at least we were on the 9am boat to Spinalonga. Won't be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robvilladerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#12 of 35 in Elounda
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
723 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Sunrise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Sunrise Apartments

Address: Akti Oloundos, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Elounda
#15 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £28 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elounda Sunrise Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Sunrise apartments are ready to host each visitor and provide them with an unforgettable experience. The neat, friendly atmosphere, the clean and beautiful environment, the friendly personnel will do everything to make your stay a memorable one. The complex includes a restaurant for breakfast and dinner, next to the swimming-pool with a fantastic view of the Gulf of Elounda. In the central bar there is satellite television, a swimming-pool with a swimming area for children, a place for gathering, wireless Internet connection. If you want to take your laptop from home, you are more then welcome to use our wireless connection. All the rooms have private heating and air conditioning, telephone, safe, mini-bar, satellite television, bathroom and balcony with great sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elounda Sunrise Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Sunrise Apartments Hotel Elounda
Sunrise Apartments Hotel Elounda
Elounda Sunrise Apartments Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing