We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent taverna”
Review of Vachus Taverna

Vachus Taverna
Ranked #10 of 117 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family taverna.Fotis,eleni and fotini in kitchen-Dimitris,nikos and sotiris in serve.29 Years taverna.Kopiaste to serve our home made food.OPA!!!!!!
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent taverna”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Our favorite place during our 2 week stay. Simple Greek food cooked to perfection. Great service too. The Lamb is highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Br00kes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    65
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We visit Elounda every couple of years and Vachus is a firm favourite. We usually go for an extended lunch due to its close proximity to the beach and the welcome is always warm and friendly. The food is authentic and always first class.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjonec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best food & hospitality in Elounda!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Visited Elounda and decided to try Vachus again. Very pleased to report that the food is as good as ever and Dimitris and the rest of the family look after you like one of their own!
Can there really be better food or service in Elounda?
We recommend the Zucchini, Halloumi, Beetroot and Big White Beans meze (with a pitta) to start with. All of the fish dishes are great as a main with a Greek Salad. The house wine is very good, you don't need anything more.
We can't recommend strongly enough that you try this taverna, we are sure you won't be disappointed, and you will probably find like us that you return again and again and again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark and Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great traditional Cretan food, and good value. Well worth a visit if you're looking for an affordable dinner option with nice food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PLR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“sophisticated greek cuisine”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

this is really nice tavern that has been around for many years and it shows in the quality of the food with the Greek specialities exuding a quality that you wont find elsewhere

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vachus Taverna also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Vachus Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing