We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent is the word” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“excellent is the word”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at the Aquila Elounda last September. I would like to start my review by pointing out a few facts that I found out about the hotel and the area in general. The entrance and the reception area is truly majestic bringing in mind the ancient Minoan era. The architecture of the reception resembles the Knossos palace. The views to the sea are just breathtaking. The roof of the lobby bar is actually the copy of the inside of an ancient vessel turned upwards.
The Elounda area and specifically the gulf of elounda or gulf of mirabello is home to five of the top hotels in Greece. This is one of them. However this one is absolutely top value for money.
Dutch television crew was filming in the hotel and the director said to us that from all the gulf of Mirabello the best views are to be found from this hotel due to its orientation. Mirabello means beautiful view. Mira – Bello. Spinalonga island, home of the best selling book “the island” is very close to the hotel. A must see.
The hotel itself is bright and airy and very clean. The rooms are big and well appointed, nicely furnished, and most have fantastic sea-views. Big part of the hotel has sharing pools and a few private ones. The hotel pool itself is an infinity pool with dramatic views.
The food in the restaurants is really good and staff is very professional and friendly. There are three restaurants and a beach club – bar. The mirabello restaurant (that’s how I know the meaning) is the No.1 a la carte restaurant. The symposium is the other one and it resembles a Greek Plataea with the little church.
The beach area is actually small but there is plenty of sun beds in the pier.
The water sports area offers jet skiing, wakeboarding, water skiing and inflatable rings (if you're feeling brave). The sea is bustling with fish activity and it is a must to go snorkelling.
The hotel also has a very nice spa. As the hotel is a couples only hotel, you and your friend can experience spa therapies simultaneously. Or individually, if you prefer so.
Overall this is a very nice hotel, on a luxurious location directly in a sheltered bay, with a small beach and the warm crystal waters of the med to swim in and play about on.
To conclude, If you are like the reviewer that writes that “it’s ok if you get a good deal but won’t pay the full price”, do yourself a favour and go somewhere else as this hotel is a true bargain for those who can appreciate a top hotel.
To put a little icing on the cake, Maria Shriver with her older children (yes that’s Arnie’s Schwarzenegger’s wife) was swimming next to us at Elounda, as she took a vacation following the closing of the Special Olympics that were held in Athens.

Room Tip: Best room in the house is 407.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank coastalux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    501
    138
    27
    19
See reviews for
102
1,401
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

The room and views were lovely and probably the best bit to be honest.

The food was pretty mediocre and we ended up trading in our evening buffet for lunch at the restaurant and eating in Elounda every night. The pool was tiny and overcrowded early in the morning. The sunloungers by the (very small) beach and sea were very crowded and you had to get down very early in order to get one - not sure if there are enough for the number of people staying in the property.

LOTS of steps!! OK if fit and healthy but pretty knackering in the heat of the sun if you want to go back up to your room. However, it wouldn't have as amazing views if it weren't built into the hillside - and burning off the calories allows for extra ice-cream!

Overall we had a lovely stay and got a very good last minute deal so can't complain for the price. However, I'm not sure I would have been very happy had we paid full price...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Keen_Bean_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

At first view, this is fabulous hotel with a gorgeous entrance, well manicured reception and delightful views of swimming pools (for the view, not to be used as we later discovered).

It started well; we had a lovely spacious sea view room with all modern comforts. However the first night proved challenging with the disturbance of the next door hotel hosting a party at full volume. The hotel staff tried their hardest to get this sorted but alas it did not work.

The restaurant was self-service, which after a day became repetitive as it would be in any international hotel around the world. Only the inside seating allowed for non-smokers, which meant we had to sit inside for most of our stay since I was pregnant then and could not cope with even the slightest bit of smoke.

The car park is located at the bottom of the hill, which again proved very challenging every time we wanted to come and go. Walking uphill while pregnant (or not for that matter!) under a baking sun is far from ideal!

It feels like the strategy of the hotel is to drive people to the pool area where a cheap pool felt at best claustrophobic, with very crowded uncomfortable sun beds around. It was an oppressive experience and we therefore decided to go to one of the public beaches in the local town to escape from the crowd. The man-made area by the sea, at the hotel, was not more welcoming, with very little – if any – shade.

Overall, sadly we would not recommend this hotel and will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank corinne3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

My husband and I visited this hotel in September. Our room was in the main hotel which had a huge balcony shared with 3 other room but still managed to be private. We paid extra to be able to have 3 meals, 1 each in the Mirabello & Symposium plus the 'Greek evening'. Well worth the money. The Mirabello is very romantic with fantastic views & food. I was apprehensive about the 'Greek evening' having been on one elsewhere before. But this was something different with the restaurant manager giving a very informative talk and sampling of Greek wines first before a great meal and dancing. There was always plenty of choices in the main restaurant. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Had a wonderful treatment for couples in the spa. We walked into Elounda a few times as we needed the exercise after the fantastic food! Great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AnndHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

My wife and I spent a week here earlier this year. We had a very comfortable sea view room with a balcony set up on the hill. The white buildings and deep blue sea looked exactly like Greece is meant to.

As the hotel is situated 3km out of Elounda, we opted for half-board. It was the first time we had ever stayed somewhere on that basis, and we were a little concerned because I am quite a fussy eater. We needn't have worried. Every night was different, and the huge range of options meant there was always something I absolutely loved. And there was an amazing fresh orange juice machine at breakfast!

The lunch restaurant has lovely views out to sea and the waiting staff seemed particularly friendly. We spent our time down by the sea, where there are plenty of sun loungers and you can do a lap around the jetty to cool off. There is also a dive centre which we didn't use but seemed pretty popular.

We walked into Elounda once, and took the ferry across to Spinalonga, but it was very hot and the walk back nearly killed us! The walk is not dangerous but I wouldn't recommend it if you either have children or are not in peak physical condition!

All in all, a lovely hotel with friendly staff in a beautiful Mediterranean setting.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank seetheworld5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

My friend and I stayed at this hotel in September, in one of the standard bungalows. Very comfortable, with huge balcony, but bathroom rather on the small side.
Everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel, huge choice from the buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Mirabello a la carte restaurant, wonderful food in an exceptional location, definitely recommend the Lobster Evening. Greek Evening in the Symposium restaurant was fun too. Hotel Staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Special mention for lovely Reina in the Hotel Shop, apart from very reasonable prices for a 5 star hotel shop, she was so helpful and knowledgable about the local area too.
Thanks also to the kind lady from the Admin office who stopped her car and came to our rescue with a timely lift, on a day we got caught out by the Taxi Driver's Strike.! We will most certainly be returning in 2012 for another stay, hopefully longer this time!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank shelaghpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Just returned from an "end of season" 7 day break at Elounda village. My wife and myself had a wonderfully relaxing stay in what is a beautifully designed and maintained hotel. Sea view appartment with balcony - very stylish and comfortable king size bed. Staff were fantastic - couldn't have been more courteous and ready to help. (receptionists. "bell-boys" and restaurant staff alike... I can scarely remember carrying a suitcase at any point during the stay! We were half board, and the range and quality of food, both at breakfast and evening dinner was extraordinarily good. Mulitiple courses and a terrific variety of meat, vegetarian and seafood dishes every night. Everything was immaculately presented, and any "tired" hot dishes quickly replaced with fresh food. The wine waitresses were charming. Can't really fault the place. Its true that wine is pricey, but that helps maintain the exclusivity of the place. (The guests were mainly German but a good proportion of French and British too. Oh - the Satellite TV channels favoured the Germans too much. We will certainly consider going back in a year or two.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ShredBathEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
1.9 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.0 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.7 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
3.5 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
61.9 mi away
Sensimar Royal Blue Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila

Property: Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#4 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#14 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquila Elounda Village ELOUNDA in Elounda, an exclusive couples and adults only Hotel, for those who seek privacy as long as luxury, set amongst beautiful gardens and magnificent view of the Mirabello bay. A heavenly paradise overlooking the pristine Mirabello bay, the Elounda Village resort, offers romantic getaways and superb accommodation suitable for couples in a genuinely stone built style. Elegant bungalows, suites and maisonettes mostly facing the glistening blue waters of the bay provide a complete seclusion and exclusivity. The resort is located on the eastern coastline of the island, 3km from the fishing village of Elounda, 7km from the cosmopolitan town of Agios Nikolaos and 65km from Heraklion city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Hotel Elounda
Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa By Aquila Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing