We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peace tranquility and superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“peace tranquility and superb hotel”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel is superb if you want peace, quiet, and sensational views. We had a sea view room and it was fantastic, the hotel is hilly so it is not ideal for people with mobility issues.

The food was exceptional in comparison to what you get elsewhere. The staff are attentive and really try to ensure that you get what you want.

Coupled with no children it is a paradise of calm & tranquillity. We shall be back

Room Tip: book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeffreykrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    531
    148
    27
    19
See reviews for
107
1,508
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just returned from a fabulous week at the Aquila Elounda Village, and can't praise the hotel enough. All the staff were really lovely, the hotel was excellent, and the food was delicious.
We loved the coastal walk to Plaka, which was the only way to stop the weight piling on after the hotels fabulous food. A lovely hotel in a very quiet position. Would have no hesitation to recommend this hotel to anyone. Thankyou to all the staff in resort.

Room Tip: We had room 655 which had lovely views, not interrupted by trees, and a lovely balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We first visited early May this year and were so impressed with the hotel overall have recently returned from our second AI stay. Sometimes it's a mistake to re-visit but we didn't find this the case. We were given a fantastic room - 470 - top level with no neighbours, the most beautiful view over the bay from the balcony and pleasantly decorated. The bathroom was 'open plan' with the exception of the loo which is behind a door. A huge rain shower, double sink and a bath too. The day we arrived the weather broke and we experienced 4 days of gale force winds which was a challenge for the hotel and staff but they carried off a continued high level of service and quality of food provided throughout this time, all with a smile. we continued to eat at the Mirabello each evening despite the gales gusting through the open sides of the restaurant. Our British spirit rose to the fore and we enjoyed every windswept moment! Yes, the beach and beds and parasols were washed away, it was a little chilly so the jeans and fleeces were deployed for a few days but we visited Ag Nik and walked into Elounda another day. On the negative, we would say that in the period between our first and second visits, the hotel have engaged a young entertainment team and we found that whilst the daytime quizzes in the beach bar etc were acceptable, the majority of the evening entertainment was brash and loud and on one evening which was billed as a karaoke night, it was more like a fifth rate holiday camp and not a five star hotel -it was hideous! The hotel would be advised to look into this as several people we spoke to felt the same way. Disappointing. Nevertheless, the hotel and the quality of the restaurant food is fantastic and we would still highly recommend and AI visit.

Room Tip: Top level 470 was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Got to agree with review by Tina T. I stayed at the Aquila between 3rd and 10th of October. When we arrived the winds were very strong for the first 3 days, but we enjoyed getting to know the hotel on the first day, our room 660 was a sea-view bungalow (have stayed in 4* sea-view rooms which were much better), sleep quality was good. bathroom had a mini bath with a shower. The food was very good with an excellent choice, didn't use the Mirabello (weather). but the other two restaurants were good. We were fully inclusive and very disappointed with with the local wines and limited choice of drinks, this was made up by the hard working staff in the Lobby bar. We loved Elounda, lovely walk to Plaka via the sea front. We had to wait for the sea to calm before visiting Spinalonga, well worth the wait. St Nicholas is very nice, plenty to do.
But I've got to say we were disappointed with the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It is said that to judge the quality of any establishment you should examine the washrooms. By this measure the Aquila is one of the finest hotels in that throughout our stay the toilets by the beach bar were spotless. I wish the same could be said for our room, the floor of which was not washed so our feet were always grubby - very irritating. Much of our stay was splendid but the hotel does not match 5* expectations. The sea view is worth the upgrade and the food in the Mirabello was delicious, the setting divine and the restaurant staff excellent. If you like a drink go AI as the bar prices are steep and the house wine is OK. By contrast the food in the rest of the hotel was dull and the staff less welcoming. Breakfast was good but spoiled by horrible eggs - please cook eggs to order for those of us willing to wait. The pool and beach areas were very good, quiet and clean and the sea was crystal clear and full of fish. We were made to feel special on arrival as Mythica guests but that was it, and on departure everybody had to lug their own cases down the steps to the coach. The bar area was comfortable and the waitressess very good but to prevent a paying guest from taking a drink up to their room is bizarre. The live music in the evenings was better than most. Elounda is worth a visit and the boat trip out to Spinalonga great fun for 10Eur. Suggest don't walk as the road is dull and a taxi only 7Eur. Finally a word about Thomson, we have use them several times recently and the planes are new and on time, the crew friendly, the transfers are efficient and the reps available if you need them. Very good, but please stop the hard sell of extras as it demeans the staff, and don't call a hotel 5* when it isn't. Aquila is a decent hotel with one super restaurant and great view !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DandGHertford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was our visit back to Crete after many years and our stay at the elounda village made us wonder why we had stayed away so long. The major plus about this hotel is the staff who in all areas are helpful, friendly and seem to want to make your stay an enjoyable one. Of particular note are the staff in the Mirabello restaurant at lunchtime and the head barman in the main bar in the evening. Having said that the staff were good wherever you were. The hotel is on a steep hillside so be prepared for plenty of steps. Pools and beach facilities were excellent with plenty of sunbeds.
We were on an all inclusive package which I would certainly recommend. Drinks were branded though this was only one brand per spirit ie Beefeater for gin, you paid extra for Bombay Sapphire. There was plenty of choice of food in the a la carte restaurants though some dishes did incur a premium if you were all inclusive. Food in the main buffet restaurant was of a high quality with dishes constantly being replaced by fresh hot ones as they ran down. The choice at breakfast and dinner was truly amazing and the service quality extremely high.
The only poor meal we had was the asian night which was held in the taverna at the hotel. Both my wife and I love asian food but the food in the asian buffet was fairly bland and in most cases luke warm if not cold (not helped by the fact there were no burners under the dishes). Luckily one of the waiters did find me some chilli sauce but overall this meal was not at the same quality as all the other meals we had. We did visit the taverna again for the "greek night" which was fantastic with good hot food and excellent local entertainment.
Our room was in one of the bungalows overlooking the bay. The views were fantastic and room cleanliness was exceptional. I'm being picky now but I think the bathrooms, though spotless, could do with being upgraded to current modern standards.
Overall this was a fantastic break in a great hotel with exceptional staff. The positives far outweigh any negatives which at the end of the day were minor and did not detract from a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank csjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham england
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in an upgraded room, all inclusive. The food is very good and the staff are very attentive, Downside - ladies don't wear high heels as this hotel is built on the side of a hill LOTS of steep steps not for the feint hearted especially in the dark. Would still go again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
3.1 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.6 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
1.9 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
3.8 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
61.9 mi away
Sensimar Royal Blue Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila

Property: Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#3 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#14 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TUI SENSIMAR Elounda Village Resort & SPA by Aquila is an exclusive couples and adults only Hotel, for those who seek privacy as long as luxury, set amongst beautiful gardens and magnificent view of the Mirabello bay. A heavenly paradise overlooking the pristine Mirabello bay, the Elounda Village resort, offers romantic getaways and superb accommodation suitable for couples in a genuinely stone built style. Elegant bungalows, suites and maisonettes mostly facing the glistening blue waters of the bay provide a complete seclusion and exclusivity. The resort is located on the eastern coastline of the island, 3km from the fishing village of Elounda, 7km from the cosmopolitan town of Agios Nikolaos and 65km from Heraklion city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Hotel Elounda
Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa By Aquila Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing