We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, Bit Out Of The Way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
caerphilly, south wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Bit Out Of The Way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at the Aquilla for 2 weeks at the beginning of September.

We had a lovely sea view " bungalow" with our own swimming pool. I would recommend this type of room if the budget allows.

We could not fault the genuine room at all and it was kept in perfect condition at all times by the lovely cleaner called Maria.

The food is lovely and is cooked to a high standard, however we felt that it would get a bit repetitive at times. We would advise to go into Elounda itself for a meal as we did this a couple of times if only to get a good Greek meal. The village itself is very pretty and has a numerous range of restaurants and bars.

The supermarket on the square in Elounda has a large range of necessities and the best ( and most reasonable ) variety of beverages. At this point we have to say the YES the drinks in the hotel ARE very expensive i.e 9.50 euros for a cocktail an 5.00 euros for a mythos. We were buying a decent bottle of wine from the supermarket at 2.85 euros, the cheapest bottle of wine that we could see on the menu in the hotel was around 19 euros!! Because of the cost of the drinks the hotel does lack atmosphere in the evening as most people retire to their rooms most likely to drink whatever they have bought from the supermarket up the road!!

I would not really recommend this hotel for families with children who like lots to do as there is not a lot of facilities on offer at the hotel and the entertainment only stretches to the occasional folklore evening and that is only offered twice a week.


We hired a car and went out and about as this seems to be the easiest way to get around the island, please take a trip to "AK NIK " this is a lovely area to explore and is lovely to sit by the bottomless lake having a bite to eat in one of the restaurant. Also Plaka is an idyllic spot and easy to get across to Spinalonga Island it is so close you could almost touch it and is very sad to think of all the people who were sent there with family so close.

Overall we enjoyed Crete very much, We would more than likely return to the hotel but would have the same standard of room. The holiday did everything a holiday should, we felt very relaxed and at home there. The fact that the hotel is a bit out of the way and the drinks are unreasonably expensive would be the only real negatives.

Give it a go you will have a lovely welcome and a pleasant stay. Yammas!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfanCaerphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    501
    138
    27
    19
See reviews for
102
1,401
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

The best one can say about this hotel is that the public rooms are very good. We booked a superior sea view with balcony - the bedhead was stained, as was the cover on the setee: bath towels were small, off-white and not fluffy; bed was as hard as a rock;bathplug had to be propped open to let water out.

The main courses in the buffet restaurant were bland and unimaginative. You have to finish eating by 9.30pm otherwise the buffet is cleared away and tables relaid for breakfast. Lingering over a good meal is not possible at this hotel.

The 'Beach' was a small, scruffy patch of uninviting sand and the only snack the beach bar served was a cheese toastie. Sunbeds were the collapsable type you would normally find for hire on public beaches and were spread on rocky surfaces near the sea. At the pool closest to the main hotel there were no sunbeds although we were told we could fetch one ourselves from elsewhere but that no sun umbrellas were available.

I would rate this "holiday camp" mentality. If you are used to 5* luxury, you won't find it here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merryjay60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

Just got back from Aquila Elounda Village. (read reviews for Elounda Village and Aquila Elounda Village as it is a same thing).
We did go on Trip Advisor before we booked our holidays so we did know about the ridiculous drinks prices and the quite remote location ,but if it wasn't for these two, everybody would recomend it to thair friends.
Booked a taxi transfer from the airport (very good idea if a bit costly as it is 75km away) and arrived at the hotel within a hour.
The location is remote....30-40min walk to Elounda, about 15-20 to the closest mini market.
The hotel does have a shuttle busses to Elounda and Aghios Nicolaos but they take for ever so on our second day we took a taxi and went to A.Nicolaos and rented a car. (suzuki jeep Jimny £27 p/d). It was the best idea of them all as we used the car every day since.

The hotel is beautifull, tranquill, romantic and very well kept. Staff were excelent and the food.......just amazing. If you were to eat there for a month you would not have the same thing twice and the fresh OJ in the morning....the best!!!!
The "beech" at the hotel is good, not much in a way of snorkeling can be done there, but its very well kept and looked after.
We only visited the loby bar once, that was the first day of our arrival and after paying £6 for a shandy we never went back.

I would recommend this hotel to a friend if it wasn't for the location and the ridiculous drinks prices.

If we were to go back to Crete again it would most definitely be to the west coast as Hania (Chania) was the best place we have visited and we have been to all the big cities.

Where ever you go and where ever you stay, im sure you are going to love Crete.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinatokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

We have just spent a wonderful two weeks at Elounda Village. Having read the comments on this site before going, we knew what to expect as far as the cost of drinks etc and the apparent lack of atmosphere in the bar in the evening because of it. We also realised that it was a 40 minute walk into Elounda. We are very glad that we picked this hotel because of the location as we wanted a place to unwind for two weeks and relax and that is what we had. We got over the drinks problem like everyone else and bought supplies in Elounda.

Our room was very large and we booked a standard room (which ended up a garden room without balcony) We did notice though that some of the other rooms were obviously smaller by the size of the patio doors. The room was very pleasant and nice to sit outside of in the early evening.

The food was excellent and there was a great variety (and for someone who does not eat meat, there was a very good selection of fish and vegetarian choices). We did eat out twice in Elounda and Aghios Nikolaos but that was just for a change.

We hired a car for a few days so that we were not just spending time at the hotel and wanted to see some of the island (lots of places of interest - Knossos, Spinalonga, Sitia, Lassithi Plateau, lots of lovely white villages - as well as walking/bus into Elounda.

The beach area and pool areas were very good and we never had a problem with finding a sunbed whatever time of the day.

All in all a great holiday, no complaints apart from the drinks price. A 5 star perhaps not, but definitely a 4 star.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

the Hotel itself was very clean and very polite staff but relaxing but would'nt call it 5*considering the cost of the holiday .

The rooms are roomy and clean leading to a balcony with a table and 2 chairs, clean towels when ever you want them and sheets the maids are very good and efficient.

Not much entertainment in the evening there was a folklore evening and cuban which was the highlight of the week.

The food was catered for all but the desserts were similar every evening, the food is cooked to high standard being a chef i would be the first to complain but some food was the same each evening,The waiter and waitresses very polite and friendly.

Not suitable for children as there is nothing to do or young people looking for nightlife and not suitable for people with walking difficulties

Drinks are very expensive aswell as the food, the shop on site as minimul supplies and expensive if your able to walk and make it up the hill from the hotel to the road there is a mini market about 10 to 15 mins which is half the price, about 1 hour or just over if you walk into Elounda but there is a bus which picks up from the hotel and a taxi cost about 7.50 euro back . If you like exploring and walking this is not for you. Plenty of sun loungers

There is internet but cost 7euro for an hour on a card but you have to use the card at once

it may look posh and lovely but did not give me the wow factor to return, ideal if you want a quiet relaxing holiday,

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxilady2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

THE RESORT itself is well presented and beautiful with gorgeous views of the sea. The infinity pool is lovely however if you are seeking a white sandy beach this is not the place for you. The beach is man made and not at all attractive. The sun loungers by both the pool and the beach are uncomfortable and falling apart and not what you would expect from a 5 star resort. There is no beach service and at times it was extremely difficult to find any free sun loungers.

The resort also lacks any type of atmosphere and when on the resort you do not in any way feel as if you are in Greece.

THE LOCATION as mentioned in all the previous reviews is too remote and the area surrounding the resort is desolate. A taxi to Elounda is 7 Euros and to AgNik is 12 Euros. There is also a bus service that runs 4 times a day on weekdays and costs 1.40 euros.

THE ROOMS are on the small side and if you have stayed in any other 5 star resorts you will find them even smaller. They are well decorated but be warned that if you have a bunglow with a garden view you will not have a proper balcony.

THE SERVICE does not even come close to a 5 star standard and more than anything else this is what lets them down. No one at the resort makes sure you are well looked after and comfortable and some of the waitresses at the restaurants looked fed up and like they did not want to be there. The cleanliness of the rooms also leaves a lot to be desired. On one occasion we realised the glassed in our room were dirty and we called reception for some clean glasses. Two hours later they sent a maid with a sponge to clean our glasses instead of sending new ones which we found strange.

However the service outside the resort is excellent and everyone is extremely friendly.

THE FOOD in the resort for a buffet is actually very good however you can not eat there every night and I would recommend trying some of the restaurants in Elounda, Plaka and AgNik where we did not have one bad meal. I should give a special mention to Ostiria in Plaka and Ergopasio in Elounda where the food was excellent. In the resort there are only two restaurants and not there as advertised. The food in the Mirabello was fantastic and you should definately go there for lunch or dinner. If you are half board you can trade in the buffet for a 12 Euro voucher at the Mirabello. Also I should reaffirm that the drinks prices are unbelievably expensive which does make you hesitate at ordering more than one drink.

Try and get out of the resort and see the surrounding villages. Take a trip to Spinalonga and then go to Plaka for lunch. Go to AgNik for lunch or dinner and if you can go to Chrissi Island. The best time we had in Crete was when we were not on the resort. We would not go back to this resort and would not recommend it to anyone as there are much better 5 star resorts out there. At best Elounda Village is a four star resort in a poor location with average service, small rooms and no sign that you are in Crete. When you are there you feel as if you need to escape as there is no atmosphere.

Small tip for the resort if you read this. You really should ban people from sunbathing topless as is lowers the quality of your resort!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TA_MemberLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

We read all the reviews before our holiday and realising the long walk into Elounda we decided to hire a car to pick up at the airport, this car paid for itself by not relying on taxis, being able to shop in the village and explore the surrounding villages.

Please do not go to Elounda Village expecting five star accommodation as you would get in Egypt or other parts of the world but accept that this is five star for Greece. The staff provide the highest level of service with genuine smiles and will go out of their to ensure that you have the best holiday. We were fortunate to be upgraded on arrival to a suite overlooking the pool and sea, this suite was excellent and far exceeded our expectations.

The restaurant in the evening is good quality but if you like a change and want to eat in the village, we would recommend that you ask for a voucher at the reception to have lunch in the a la carte restaurant and then eat out at night. When you go for lunch in the a la carte restaurant ask to have the set menu of the day which is 3 courses, fantastic quality and will not cost you a penny (other than 4 euros for a bottle of water). This is a lovely way to spend an hour at lunchtime and to escape the midday heat.

If you hire a car and want to explore the east of the Island without spending hours in the car we can recommend a trip to Plaka, boat trip to Spinalonga finishing off with lunch in Plaka. Also a trip over the mountains to the south coast is worth a trip to the gorgeous village of Mirtos - a real find with small beach and one long line of beach front tavernas serving fresh fish.

Finally our reasons for visiting Elounda Village in the future would have to be the wonderful location on the beach, beautiful views out to sea, attentive staff and service and the total peace and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northernbelle08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
1.9 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.0 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.7 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
3.5 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
61.9 mi away
Sensimar Royal Blue Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila

Property: Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#4 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#14 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquila Elounda Village ELOUNDA in Elounda, an exclusive couples and adults only Hotel, for those who seek privacy as long as luxury, set amongst beautiful gardens and magnificent view of the Mirabello bay. A heavenly paradise overlooking the pristine Mirabello bay, the Elounda Village resort, offers romantic getaways and superb accommodation suitable for couples in a genuinely stone built style. Elegant bungalows, suites and maisonettes mostly facing the glistening blue waters of the bay provide a complete seclusion and exclusivity. The resort is located on the eastern coastline of the island, 3km from the fishing village of Elounda, 7km from the cosmopolitan town of Agios Nikolaos and 65km from Heraklion city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Hotel Elounda
Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa By Aquila Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing